索尼A6400传感器评测

DxOMark
Sensor
83

推出A6300后,时隔近三年,索尼终于再度推出其升级产品A6400。它采用了常见的测距式机身,与之前的机型相比,其设计基本上没有变化,而且两者有很多相同的功能,比如OLED电子取景器和支持触控的92.1万点可翻转3英寸后置LCD屏。

同样不变的还有具有2420万有效像素的APS-C画幅Exmor(背光)CMOS传感器。而与之配套的BIONZ X影像处理器,提供了一个稍宽的ISO范围:100-32000,但只能向上扩展到102400, 同时支持高达11张/秒的连续拍摄。

尽管A6400也采用了相同的425点混合自动对焦系统,但它还借鉴了顶级A9的一些高级数据处理能力,而且该机型是第一款采用索尼所说的“基于人工智能的物体识别”技术的相机。这些大多数改进都是面向自动对焦性能,特别是眼睛对焦和对焦追踪,可以使用人工智能方法从颜色、亮度和距离方面帮助识别对象。

而视频拍摄方面,索尼A6400可以以每秒30帧的速度拍摄高分辨率4K(超高清)的视频,使用无像素组合的全像素读取。新款相机的储存是单SD存储卡槽,支持稍慢速的UHS-I规格的存储卡。

主要性能参数:

  • 2420万像素APS—C画幅Exmor CMOS传感器
  • 425点相位检测与对比度检测混合自动对焦系统
  • BIONZ X影像处理器
  • 原生ISO 100-32000(可扩展至 ISO 102400)
  • 连续自动对焦连拍速度高达11fps
  • 支持最高30 fps拍摄4K视频,最高120fps拍摄1080p视频
  • 单SD卡槽(支持UHS-I)

整体性能

索尼A6400 APS-C画幅CMOS传感器的DxOMark总得分为83分,与尼康(Nikon) D7100和三星(Samsung) NX1等稍旧APS-C画幅机型得分相当。 

索尼背照式传感器的整体性能非常优秀,这一点并不意外。 索尼A6400的动态范围(风景)在ISO100下能拿到13.7EV的成绩,而其低光ISO(运动)也有1431 ISO的成绩,这是同类APS-C画幅传感器中最好的。尽管如此,与更大的全画幅35mm和中等尺寸的传感器相比,它的表现仍然欠佳,排在第55位。 

A6400传感器的色彩深度(人像)也很出色,测量得出24位,与目前市面流通的一些物理尺寸更大的全画幅前照式传感器表现势均力敌,但当然无法与全画幅背照式机型的色彩敏感度相提比论。

图像质量比较

新款A6400与早期的A6300具有相同的2400万像素分辨率,其APS-C画幅传感器性能非常接近其上一代产品,但测试记录的结果却略低。

A6400的色彩深度低了0.4位,这是(人像)两者得分差异最大的部分;然而,动态范围(风景)和低光ISO(运动)的分数都有所下降——尽管实际情况下,它们实际效果并没有什么改变。

如下表所示,2400万像素的 A6400传感器的得分也非常接近于2090 万像素的尼康D500。虽然后者的感光器更大,但两者的色彩深度和低光ISO测量结果都很相似;而尼康相机在动态范围上略微领先。

2420万像素的中档尼康D5600的情况也非常类似,它在动态范围方面处于领先地位,至少在原生ISO下如此。但如果仔细观察,我们会发现索尼A6400在较高ISO下的动态范围更好,即使这并没有直接反应在低光ISO(运动)的分数上。 

点击此处可打开交互式的DxOMark图像传感器排名工具。

深入比较

为了更详细地检查传感器性能,我们将索尼A6400与旧版索尼A6300,以及价位相似的中档机型尼康单反D5600进行了比较。 

人像(色彩深度)

尽管Sony A6400在基本条件下拥有与A6300类似的机身、像素和许多特性,而且与APS-C 画幅CMOS背照式传感器性能表现类似,但在色彩敏感度方面,其结果却截然不同。   

在原生ISO下,A6400达到了最大色彩深度24.1位,仅比A6300低了0.4位。在整个感光范围,两个相机之间差异一直存在,在ISO 1600下两者差异达到最大,为1.4位。 

A6400较低的色彩响应意味着它不能像上一代的A6300一样区分那么多的色彩,这种表现有时在图像中可能很明显,尤其在色调发生转换的地方。这是因为A6400比A6300读取噪点更高,这就限制了A6400的色彩敏感度。

严格来说,尼康D5600的辨色能力也比新款A6400强,但在原生ISO下只高出0.1位,最大差距在ISO 200下,达0.3位,但这种差距在图像中不太可能察觉。

风景(动态范围)

在原生ISO(ISO 100)下,A6400有非常不错的动态范围,达13.6EV,可以在单张图片中记录很宽的色调范围。这通常意味着,在后期处理A6400的图像时,调整曝光要比调整低动态范围更为自由,而且也不太可能出现噪点或色彩断层。 

虽然在基本标准下,A6400比尼康D5600稍低,但即使在更高的噪点基底上,A6400的表现在直到ISO 200的情况下都与A6300相当。除此之外,最高至ISO 800,A6400都能有更好的色彩响应,不过,从ISO1600开始,在达到ISO 12800前,索尼的两款机型性能表现相差不多,而在ISO 12800,A6300又再有了一点优势。在原生ISO 100下,三款机型中尼康的动态范围最大,而索尼A6300和A6400机型在更高的ISO下灵活性更大,后者在较低ISO下性能有较大的提升。虽然差别不大(大约0.5EV),但在某些情况下差别可能会很明显。

运动(低光ISO)

除了最高灵敏度度不同外,这三款相机的信噪比几乎相同。在ISO 12800左右时,A6300的噪点水平可能明显低于尼康D5600,但您不太能发现两款索尼机型的拍摄图像有什么不同。根据我们的运动评分标准,在后期调亮图像时,同时具备较低噪点和较宽动态范围的索尼A6400在较高灵敏度设置下,可能会比尼康D5600更有优势。

结论

任何对比索尼A6300和A6400两款机型的人都会发现结果很有趣。两款相机尽管具有相似的传感器分辨率(像素数),并且两者总体效果非常接近,但数据测量结果却大相径庭。

尽管新款A6400的噪点基底略高于A6300,但其传感器表现出色,ISO灵敏度设置范围非常实用,可实现很广的动态范围,且其低光ISO性能表现相当出色。虽然这也直接影响了色彩深度,但A6400仍然能提供非常令人愉快的图像。结合上述性能与新型的自动对焦系统、11fps连续拍摄,外加相对便宜的价格,您就能以有限的预算购得一款对运动和动作摄影师非常吸引力的相机了。

在这次评测中,我们将索尼A6400与其上一代产品以及另一品牌的最具竞争力的对手进行了比较。与往常一样,您可以使用我们的交互式图像传感器排名工具自行创建对比,进行深入分析。

Sony A6400 sensor review

DxOMark
Sensor
83

After some three years since the introduction of the A6300, Sony has launched its follow-up, the A6400. Featuring a familiar rangefinder-style body, the design is mostly unchanged from the earlier model and shares many of the same features, such as the OLED EVF and touch-enabled, tilting 3-inch, 921K-dot rear LCD screen.

Also unchanged is the 24.2 effective megapixel resolution using an APS-C Exmor (back-illuminated) CMOS sensor. This is paired with a BIONZ X processor that delivers a slightly wider ISO range of 100-32,000 with only upper expansion to 102,400, along with continuous shooting at up to 11fps.

Although the A6400 also features the same hybrid AF system with 425 points, it borrows some of the advanced data-processing abilities of the top-of-range A9, and it’s the first to adopt what Sony is calling “AI-based object recognition” technology. Most of these improvements target autofocus performance, especially Eye AF and focus tracking that uses artificial intelligence methods to help recognize subjects based on color, brightness, and distance.

In terms of video, the Sony A6400 can capture footage up to 4K (UHD) at up to 30 frames per second, using full pixel read-out without binning. The new camera records to a single SD memory card slot, which supports the slightly slower UHS-I spec media cards.

Key specifications:

  • 24.2MP APS-C Exmor CMOS sensor
  • Hybrid AF with contrast-detection and phase-detection AF with 425 points
  • BIONZ X processor
  • Native ISO 100-32,000 (expandable to ISO 102,400)
  • Up to 11fps shooting with continuous AF
  • 4K video up to 30fps and 1080p up to 120fps
  • Single SD card slot (with UHS-I support)

Overall performance

The Sony A6400’s APS-C size CMOS sensor achieves an overall DxOMark score of 83 points, which puts it on the same level as slightly older APS-C models, such as the Nikon D7100 and the Samsung NX1.  

It shouldn’t come as any surprise to see that the Sony back-illuminated sensor has excellent all-round performance and is impressive not only for its wide dynamic range (Landscape) score of 13.7 EV at 100 ISO, but also for its low-light ISO (Sports) score of 1431 ISO, where it’s among the best in class for APS-C size sensors. Even so, it still comes in 55th place when compared against the larger full-frame 35mm and medium-format size sensors. 

Measuring 24 bits, the A6400’s sensor (Portrait) color depth is also excellent and on par with some current physically-larger full-frame, front-side illuminated sensors, but of course it doesn’t match the color sensitivity of the full-frame back-illuminated models.

Image quality compared

With the same 24MP resolution as the earlier A6300, the APS-C sensor in the new A6400 performs very closely to that of its predecessor. However, the recorded results are marginally lower.

With 0.4 bit lower color depth, the (Portrait) score displays the single largest discrepancy; however, both the dynamic range (Landscape) and low-light ISO (Sports) scores also see a decrease—though in practical, “real-life” terms, they’re effectively unchanged.

As the table below shows, the 24MP A6400 sensor scores are also very close to those of the 20.9MP Nikon D500. Even with the latter’s larger photoreceptors, color depth, and low-light ISO measurements are similar; however the Nikon camera leads slightly in dynamic range.

And it’s a similar case for the mid-range 24.2MP Nikon D5600, where it also leads the way in terms of dynamic range, at least at base ISO. If we look more closely, though, we see that Sony A6400 has improved dynamic range at higher ISOs, even if that isn’t directly reflected in the low-light ISO (Sports) score. 

Click here to open our interactive DxOMark image sensor ranking tool.

In-depth comparisons

For a more detailed examination of sensor performance, we’ll compare the Sony A6400 to the older Sony A6300, as well as to the similarly-priced mid-range Nikon D5600 DSLR. 

Portrait (color depth)

Even though the Sony A6400 has a similar body, pixel count, and many features of the A6300 on which it is based, the APS-C BSI CMOS sensor performs similarly, but its results are quite different in terms of color sensitivity.   

At base ISO, the A6400 achieves a maximum color depth of 24.1 bits, a difference of 0.4 bit compared to the A6300, which is noticeably lower. At ISO 1600, the variation maxes out at 1.4 bits, but the discrepancy between the two cameras continues throughout the sensitivity range. 

The lower color response on the A6400 means that it can’t quite distinguish as many colors as the earlier A6300, and this may at times be apparent in images, particularly where transitions occur between hues. This is because the A6400 has higher read noise than the A6300, which limits the former’s color sensitivity.

Strictly speaking, the Nikon D5600 has better color discrimination than the newer A6400 as well, but as it’s just 0.1 at base, peaking at 0.3 bits at ISO 200, it’s unlikely to be noticeable in images.

Landscape (dynamic range)

With a measurement of 13.6 EV at base (ISO 100), the A6400 has very good dynamic range that’s capable of recording a wide range of tones in a single image. That typically means there’s more latitude in exposure when adjusting the A6400’s images in post-processing than doing so to those with lower dynamic range, with less likelihood of revealing noise or banding. 

Although it is a little lower than the Nikon D5600 at base, the A6400—even with a higher noise floor—is pretty much on par with the A6300 at up to ISO 200. Beyond that, up to ISO 800, the A6400 has the better response, though from ISO 1600 onwards, both Sony models perform similarly up to ISO 12800, at which point the A6300 has a slight advantage again. While the Nikon has the widest dynamic range of the three at base ISO (100), the Sony A6300 and A6400 models have more flexibility at higher ISOs, with the latter having a bump at the arguably more useful lower ISOs. Although the difference isn’t that much—around 0.5 EV—it could be noticeable in some cases.

Sports (low-light ISO)

With the exception of the uppermost sensitivity values, all three cameras share practically identical signal-to-noise ratios. At around ISO 12800, the lower noise levels of the A6300 may be noticeable over the Nikon D5600’s, but it’s unlikely that you’d spot a difference between the images from the two Sony models. Combining the lower noise and wider dynamic range of the Sony A6400 at higher sensitivity settings, however, as per our criteria for the Sports score, may deliver an advantage over the Nikon D5600 when brightening images during post-processing.

Conclusion

Anyone comparing the Sony A6300 and A6400 will find the results intriguing. Although the two models share a similar sensor resolution (pixel count) and the overall results are very close, the measurements are not identical.

Despite its slightly higher noise floor over the A6300, the new A6400 sensor performs well, combining a wide dynamic range over a highly useful range of ISO sensitivity settings and excellent low-light ISO capabilities. Although that directly impacts the color depth, the A6400 remains capable of delivering extremely pleasing images. Combine those attributes with the new AF system, 11fps continuous shooting, and a relatively affordable price, and you have a very enticing camera for sports and action photographers on a budget.

In this review, we have compared the Sony A6400 to its predecessor and to its most relevant rival from other another brand. As usual, you can create your own comparisons and in-depth analyses using our interactive image sensor ranking tool.