索尼A7 III: 低光王者

DxOMark
96

备受期待的A7R III和里程碑式的A9相继面世后,索尼公司揭开了A7 III的神秘面纱。索尼A7 III定价2000美元,是一款价格更为便宜亲民的机型。它拥有5轴稳定器,采用2400万像素背照式全幅传感器(BSI CMOS)。尽管不像A9那样拥有“堆栈式CMOS”设计,但也从A9上继承了一些技术,比如连拍速度表现惊人达10fps的电子快门连拍模式,以及全新的快速混合自动对焦系统。A7 III拥有693个相位检测自动对焦点和425个对比度检测自动对焦点,能够覆盖93%的屏幕范围。索尼表示新机型的对焦速度比其前代产品快两倍。新机型还继承了A9拥有的锁定自动对焦和眼控自动对焦模式。

虽然新机型从2400万像素的A9上继承了一些性能,但由于与A7 III一样搭载“前端LSI”预处理器,其运行速度明显优于前代产品。视频拍摄也同样获益,得到稳步提升。4K(UHD)拍摄时,在24p和30p下都是全宽采样——实际是1.2x裁剪。不出所料,A7 III机身设计与前两款一样方便,符合人体工程学,包括了双SD卡槽,容量更大的Z型电池,触摸屏控制,以及更大的手柄。

整体性能

索尼Aa7 III的DxOMark Sensor 整体得分为96分,是我们测试过的五枚最好的索尼传感器之一,仅次于紧凑型固定镜头全画幅相机索尼Cyber-shot DSC-RX1R II和A7R II。A7 III传感器在所有索尼的传感器中排第四位,其表现领先于高端机型A9,后者配备了类似的2400万像素传感器,得分为92分。

A7 III在ISO 50的标准灵敏度下提供最好的图像质量,实现25位的颜色深度,14.7 EV的动态范围,表现十分出色。这两项测量结果都非常不错,但低光照下得分更为亮眼,ISO 3730下A7 III是我们测试过的35mm全画幅传感器中得分最高的。回想一下,这是符合我们严格的图像质量标准所能达到的最高的ISO灵敏度。我们的图像质量标准是:不少于18位的颜色深度、最低动态范围值为9EV、信噪比(SNR)为30dB。这些分数的得出都是基于未处理的原始照片,这意味着在ISO 3600 和ISO 6400下处理的JPEG文件也应在该款相机的能力范围内。

图像质量比较

索尼根据特定的目的推出了3款A7系列机型:4200万像素的A7R III是面向风景摄影和商业摄影,或者其他任何需要高分辨率的摄影场合推出的机型;而1200万像素的A7S II则具有高级的视频拍摄能力,由于拥有较大的图像像素,它更适于低光照下的拍摄工作。搭载2400万像素传感器的A7 III则介于两者之间,同时还具有与A9相似的传感器分辨率和图像质量。

点击此处可打开交互式的DxOMark Sensor 排名工具

该机型的风景摄影动态范围分数为14.7EV,比A7S II高1.4EV,与A7R III相当。这使得A7 III当之无愧地成为各种拍摄条件的诱人选择,这包括明亮的高光和较深的阴影。当然,这款机型也非常适用于动态场景和低光场景拍摄。运动摄影时低光照ISO分数为3730,是我们目前见过ISO值最高的机型,略高于之前低光性能最好的一代A7s,远远领先于A7R III和二代A7s II。

但从人像摄影(颜色深度)得分来看,A7 III在索尼传感器排名中下降了几位名次,基础颜色深度为25位,低于A7R III,但又比A7S II 23.6位的颜色深度高出近2位。不过,ISO 3200上,这三款机型的表现相近;但从更高的灵敏度来说, A7 III当然不能继续保持这些优势,甚至A7S II还略微扭转了落后的局面,其性能表现略优于其他型号(至少动态范围方面就是如此)。因此,尽管人像摄影是A7 III的一个优势,但从实际使用来看,三款机型差别并不大。

与尼康和佳能旗下的竞品比较起来,A7 III表现也很相当不俗,尤其考虑到它较低的价格。在人像摄影(色彩深度)方面,它的表现力不能与尼康完全匹敌,但险胜佳能。在风景拍摄(动态范围)方面,其性能表现与D850几乎是同一水平,遥遥领先EOS 5D IV。但说到体育和运动摄影(低光照)方面,索尼大放异彩,胜过尼康D850和佳能EOS 5D Mark IV一截,使它一跃成为这三款低光照拍摄设备中的最佳之选,比如拍摄运动场景或拍摄动态场景。(你可以从下面的对比中看到详细的比较。)

点击此处可打开交互式的DxOMark Sensor 排名工具

深入比较

我们选择尼康D850和佳能EOS 5D Mark IV对比,深入分析索尼A7 III。这两款竞品都是得分最高的全幅传感器。

人像摄影(颜色深度)

在各自的基础ISO下,所有相机的色彩表现都是最出色的,但此时也常能发现各竞品之间最大的差异,部分原因是测量标准不同。与上一代产品一样,尼康D850拥有相机中最低基础ISO——测量值仅为ISO 44, 达到了一流标准。作为A7R III的直接竞争对手,尽管D850的颜色深度达26.4位,但与索尼a7 III和佳能EOS 5D Mark IV相比,多了大约1个档位。更有趣的是,索尼和佳能这两款产品的投放市场类似。基础标准下使用时,尼康能提供更好、更细致的色彩识别,但除非图像颜色转换十分复杂,否则很难令人察觉。

随着ISO灵敏度的增高,色彩灵敏度开始缓慢降低,然后迅速下降。这一特点在尼康和索尼的传感器上表现得尤为突出。ISO 800左右时,尼康D850与索尼A7 III的表现一致,佳能EOS 5D Mark IV表现略微落后,但实际上这三款产品性能都差不多。

风景摄影(动态范围)

正如我们所期望的,尼康D850传感器的动态范围接近15EV,这相当令人骄傲。但即使没有和尼康一样的最低ISO,索尼A7III表现也几乎是一样的(14.81 EV vs 14.65 EV)。佳能传感器性能表现也很好,但在ISO敏感度最低时测试,其动态范围仅有13.6EV,比其竞品的光圈档位少了大约一档。尽管如此,差距很快缩小了;在ISO 200时,佳能传感器的动态范围只少了0.3EV(因此实际表现效果是一样的)。如果不是在ISO 800至1600之间性能表现有轻微的增加,那么A7 III在这方面也不会有什么好论述的。在ISO 6400(制造商评级),以及我们10EV的标准下,这种骤降的变化大约导致了2/3档的优势,并且此后持续增加到ISO 51200(此后还有另一个骤降),这意味着索尼的传感器在低光照下一定经过了微调而得到了更好的效果。

运动摄影(低光ISO)

索尼A7的噪点处理能力一直很好,A7 III也是如此。采用18度灰信噪比进行比对,从图表可以看出,D850在最低ISO时信噪比更高一些;但在ISO 3200 (制造商评级)的条件下索尼达到了32dB, 这表示在低光和高灵敏度ISO的背景下,A7 III有相当出色的噪点控制水平,比D850略高出1/2档,而比佳能EOS 5D Mark IV略高出1/4档。这三款机型在18度灰信噪比的对比结果都非常优秀,特别是考虑到佳能EOS 5D Mark IV和尼康D850还有额外的像素数。但在运动摄影(低光照ISO)的基准下,A7 III的传感器不仅在对比中保持了其领先地位,还是我们见过的全幅 35mm (135)传感器中噪点水平最低的。

结论

介于索尼 a S和R系列之间的A7机型的传感器一直在分辨率和灵敏度之间保持良好的平衡,但现在其表现已经不止于此。仅在传感器性能方面,尤其是在低光照/高ISO灵敏度方面,索尼A7 III已经超越了A7S II, 非常接近于A7R III的整体图像潜力。曾经作为一些有趣的相机技术的展示机型,A7 III 现在更是增添融合了前沿的低光传感器性能。索尼发布A7S III时情况可能会有所改变,但与此同时,如果定价2000美元左右,这也是十分可能的。

本文中我们将索尼A7 III与曾测试过的其最直接的竞争对手进行了比较。和往常一样,您可以使用我们的交互式图像传感器排名工具自行创建对比,进行深入分析。

We are hiring!

Sony A7 III: Low-light performer

96
DxOMark Sensor

After the ground-breaking A9 and the eagerly anticipated A7R III, Sony has lifted the lid on the A7 III. At $2,000, the Sony A7 III is a much more accessibly-priced model, built around a 5-axis, image-stabilized, 24MP full-frame BSI CMOS sensor. Although not a “stacked CMOS” sensor design like that of the a9, some of the technology derived from that model has filtered down, such as an electronic shutter mode at a still impressive 10fps, and a new, faster hybrid AF system. Its 425 contrast-detection AF points are complemented by 693 phase-detection AF points with 93% frame coverage, which Sony say performs twice as fast as its predecessor. The new model also gets the vaunted Lock-on AF and Eye AF modes seen on the A9.

While some of the features have trickled down from the 24MP A9, the speed gains over its predecessor are from the same “front-end LSI” preprocessor found on the A7R III. Video capture also benefits, with the cinematic 24p and 30p 4K (UHD) downsampled from the full width of the sensor — effectively a 1.2x crop. Unsurprisingly, the A7 III body shares the some of the conveniences and ergonomics of those two earlier body designs, including dual SD slots, a larger Z-type battery, touchscreen control, and a larger hand grip.

Overall performance

The Sony A7 III achieves an overall DxOMark sensor score of 96 points and ranks in the top five best Sony sensors we’ve tested, just behind the full-frame Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX1R II fixed-lens compact camera, and the Sony A7R II. A fourth-place finish among Sony sensors puts it ahead of the high-end a9, which features a similar 24MP sensor and comes in at 92 points.

The A7 III delivers its best image quality at its base sensitivity of ISO 50, where it achieves very good color depth of 25 bits and a dynamic range of 14.7 EV. Both of those measurements are very good, but the highlight is the low-light score, which at 3730 ISO is the highest of any full-frame 35mm sensor we’ve tested. Recall that this is the highest ISO sensitivity that meets our strict image quality criteria of at least 18-bit color, a minimum dynamic range of 9 EV, and a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) of 30 decibels. These scores are based on unprocessed RAW files, but means that processed JPEGs at ISO 3600 and ISO 6400 should be well within the camera’s capabilities.

Image quality compared

Sony promotes the three A7 models for specific purposes: the 42MP A7R III is oriented towards landscape and commercial photography, or any other photo genres that require high resolution, whereas the 12MP A7S II has some advanced video capabilities, and with its much larger pixels, is more likely to appeal to those working in low-light. Featuring a 24MP sensor, the A7 III falls somewhere between the two, while having sensor resolution and image quality similar to the a9. 

Click here to open our interactive DxOMark image sensor ranking tool.

The Landscape (dynamic range) sub-score of 14.7 EV is a modest 1.4 EV wider than that of the A7S II, and matches that of the A7R III, making the A7 III an attractive option for a wide range of use cases, including those that include bright highlights and deep shadows. It is of course highly suited for action and low-light scenes. The Sports (low-light ISO) score of 3730 is the highest we’ve seen, just ahead of the first-generation A7s, which were our previous best low-light performers, and is ahead of of both the A7R III and the second-generation A7s II.

The A7 III drops a couple of places in our Sony sensor rankings for its Portrait (color) score, with a color depth of 25 bits at base — behind the A7R III, but around a two-stop advantage over the Sony A7S II at 23.6 bits. At higher sensitivities, though, it does not maintain those gains, of course, with all three performing similarly above ISO 3200, including a slight reversal of fortune for the A7S II, which performs marginally above the others (in terms of dynamic range at least). So while that is an advantage, in practical terms the difference isn’t huge.

The A7 III also looks good against its rivals from Nikon and Canon, especially when considering its lower price point. It can’t quite match the Nikon in terms of Portrait (color) score, but it just edges out the Canon. Its Landscape (dynamic range) score is almost on the same level as the D850, and is comfortably ahead of the EOS 5D IV. This all said, the Sony really shines in the Sports (low light) category, where it outperforms both the Nikon D850 and the Canon EOS 5D Mark IV by quite a margin, making it the best choice of the three for low-light applications, such as sports or event photography. (You’ll find a more detailed comparison between the three models below.)

Click here to open our interactive DxOMark image sensor ranking tool

In-depth comparisons

Our in-depth analysis takes a closer look at the Sony A7 III compared to one of the highest-scoring full-frame sensors, found in the Nikon D850, as well as against the Canon EOS 5D Mark IV.

Portrait (color depth)

All cameras perform best at their respective base ISOs, and it’s here that you often find the most discrepancies among rivals, in part due to the difference in measured base. Like its predecessor, the Nikon D850 has one of the lowest base ISO speeds of any camera — measured at just ISO 44 — and achieves class-leading metrics as a result. Although a direct rival of the A7R III, the D850 has a color depth of 26.4 bits, which offers a modest advantage of around a stop over the Sony A7 III and the Canon EOS 5D Mark IV, which, intriguingly, are both pitched more towards a similar market. When used at base, the Nikon offers better and more nuanced color discrimination, but it’s unlikely to be noticeable in all but the most complex of color transitions in images.

As ISO sensitivity increases, color sensitivity decreases slowly at first, and then more rapidly, particularly with the Nikon and Sony sensors. At around ISO 800, the Nikon D850 matches the response of the Sony A7 III, and even though the Canon EOS 5D Mark IV is fractionally behind, in practical terms all three perform similarly.

Landscape (dynamic range)

As you might expect, the Nikon D850 sensor has an impressive dynamic range of nearly 15 EV, but even without that models lower base, the Sony A7 III is practically identical (14.81 vs. 14.65 EV). The Canon sensor performs very well, too, but at 13.6 EV, it is around a stop behind its rivals when measured at its lowest ISO sensitivity. The lead is quickly curtailed, though, and at ISO 200, the Canon sensor’s dynamic range is just 0.3 EV less (and thus effectively the same). If it weren’t for a slight increase for the A7 III between ISO 800 and ISO 1600, there wouldn’t have been much more to report. The bump accounts for around a 2/3-stop advantage at ISO 6400 (manufacturer rating) at our 10 EV quality threshold, and continues thereafter up to IS0 51200 (with another bump above that), meaning that the Sony sensor has likely been fine-tuned for an improved response in low light.

Sports (low-light ISO)

Noise levels have always been low on the A7, and so it is with the Sony A7 III. The SNR 18% graph shows a higher signal-to-noise result for the D850 at base, but at 32 dB at ISO 3200 (manufacturer rating) shows that in low-light and at high ISO settings, the A7 III has very well-managed noise levels just a tad above a half-stop over the D850, and around a quarter-stop over the Canon EOS 5D Mark IV. The SNR 18% results are excellent for all three models, especially given the additional pixel count of the Canon EOS 5D Mark IV and the Nikon D850, but in our Sports (low-light ISO) benchmark, the sensor in the A7 III not only maintains its lead in this comparison, but has the lowest noise levels we’ve ever seen in a full-frame 35 mm (135) sensor.

Conclusion

Sitting between the Sony a S and R models, the sensor in the  A7 was always a balance between resolution and sensitivity, but that’s no longer the case. On sensor performance alone, particularly with regard to low light / high ISO sensitivity, the Sony A7 III is ahead of the A7S II and comes very close to the overall image quality potential of the A7 RIII. What was once a showcase model for some interesting camera tech, the A7 III can now add cutting-edge low-light sensor performance to the mix. That may change when Sony releases the A7S III, but in the meantime, priced at around $2,000, it’s not asking for the earth in return.

In this review we have compared the Sony A7 III to its most direct rivals that we’ve tested. As usual, you can create your own comparisons and in-depth analyses using our interactive image sensor ranking tool

  • Maxim Shaymullin

    When comparing a7III in the video?

  • M Dogan Sahiner

    Dxomark, your score is not right compared to ones of the same scoring full-frame sensors.
    You should have done the score 97 at least.
    Please chech your score ratio again.

    • Erik Edmund

      lol Jesus.

    • Ramin

      It is possible that they also assigned one score to the resolution hence a sensor of higher resolution scores higher than a sensor of lower resolution even if they are on par with respect to the three main factors (color, dynamic range and high iso performance). It is also possible that they give a bigger weight to the sensor performance at lower iso’s. D850 has better color performance in lower iso’s. Moreover, it has a lower minimum iso setting. Maybe that is also a factor.

  • Adam Palmer

    Looks like a great camera. Not sure how they get the final score.

  • Max

    Does the α7 III camera have the low-pass filter or not?

    • valentin ursache

      yes it does!

      • Max

        Today I got a reply from the Sony support:
        “The camera ILCE7M3 is expected to be available on April of this year 2018. Since the camera is yet to be available, we are sorry to inform you that the official information about the camera’s specification (features and functions) is not yet available.”

  • zorg

    Thank you, DXOMARK! It’d be great to see tested a few lenses with this body, just to have any idea about output considering no low res FF Sony was ever lens-tested 😉

  • Andrea Mugnano

    If they had put a flip forward screen it would have been the best camera ever!
    such a shame to put an AA filter on a 24MP sensor, makes lose a lot of sharpness(moireè it’s quite difficult to achieve in everyday life)
    PS: Dear Dxomark I’ve noticed a significantly drop on the update rate of cameras sensor and lens tested on different bodies.
    Please keep up the good work you’ve done till now. thanks!

We are hiring!