索尼Xperia XA2 Ultra摄像头评测:自拍之外……

DxOMark
Mobile
75

索尼Xperia XA2 Ultra发布于2018年1月,其正面具有一个1600万像素和一个800万像素摄像头,因而被誉为终极“双自拍”摄像头智能手机。索尼Xperia XA2 Ultra背面的2300万像素摄像头使用1/2.3英寸Exmor RS图像传感器,其规格与索尼旗舰智能手机的摄像头非常相似。本评测的主题着眼于该手机的主摄像头。

索尼Xperia XA2 Ultra具有阳极氧化铝外壳、6英寸全高清无边框显示屏,其上有康宁大猩猩玻璃的保护,内置高通骁龙630芯片组,其电力由一个3,580毫安电池提供。

主要规格

  • 单摄像头
  • 2300万像素1/2.3英寸Exmor RS图像传感器
  • 镜头光圈f/2.0
  • 24毫米等效焦距
  • 相位检测自动对焦(PDAF
  • 自动HDR(高动态范围)
  • LED闪光灯

测试摘要

纹理区域虽然看起来不错,但蓝天可能会受到亮度噪点的影响。

索尼Xperia XA2 Ultra的2300万像素摄像头的表现好坏参半,其DxOMark总体得分为75分,与其照片分数相同。从好的一面来看,索尼Xperia XA2 Ultra通常可以很好地处理曝光,尤其是在柔和的日光下更是如此,但高对比场景的表现却不太一致,蓝天也可能偏青色。它通常能拍摄出悦目的色彩,但在各种照明条件下仍容易出现各种色偏。

噪点抑制和细节可见度之间的平衡也是另一个问题,因为纹理区域的噪点虽然不多,但像蓝天这样的素色区域有时却会受到亮度或色度噪点的影响,从而拉低了总体分数。这种噪点在低光条件下会变得更加明显,这也是意料之中的事。

与上述现象相同且常见的是,尽管它把边缘勾勒得不错,但却未必能很好地呈现更精细的细节。同样地,这种精细细节的损失在低光下更为明显,并且比最佳竞争智能手机摄像头的表现稍差了些。

这张图像很暗,但边缘拍得不错。
裁剪图:低对比度的精细细节丢失了,这在树木上显而易见。

尽管Xperia XA2 Ultra摄像头检测到高对比度场景时会自动启动HDR(高动态范围)系统,但其捕捉到的图像并没有很宽的动态范围。高光和阴影区域都可能出现剪贴纹理,但总的来说,它倾向于保留场景中较亮而非较暗的部分,因此在逆光人像中,它倾向于以牺牲拍摄对象为代价来拍摄不错的背景。正如左下图所示,户外场景中的阴影也可能缺乏细节。

尽管这里的天空和前景的曝光很好,但阴暗植被中的细节却不多。
室内柔和照明下的曝光通常较好;动态范围在这些光线条件下也很好。

进行伪像测试时,图像的整个画面锐度降低是该项目得分相对较低的一个关键原因;而高对比边缘的周围出现了明显的振铃效应(晕轮)、扭曲和耀斑也使它被扣了一些分数。Xperia XA2 Ultra摄像头的一个特别引人注目的特点是使用闪光灯时的拍摄效果。在闪光灯照片中,画面边缘处有剧烈的闪光落差,而且还可以看到一些色彩噪点,但图像中没有红眼效应,肤色色调也非常好。

整个画面中的清晰度不一,因而大大拉低了摄像头的伪像分数。
裁剪图:左下边缘部分的细节的清晰度明显比中间部分低(如右图所示)。
裁剪图:放大部分显示,图像中心的清晰度和细节分辨率很好。

一如静态图像,Xperia XA2 Ultra的视频表现好坏参半,因此拿下了74分的成绩。它通常也能很好地处理曝光,即使在低光下也是如此,但细节较不丰富,在低光条件下可以见到彩色噪点。我们还发现它的自动对焦系统不一致,错失了一些目标,并有一些跟踪失败的情况发生。

有趣的是,在视频模式下,防抖将步行运动处理得非常好,但在摇拍时可以看到一些高频运动痕迹。

结论

索尼Xperia XA2 Ultra的总分为75分,远远落后于目前的高端机型,但其表现可以超越魅族Pro 7 Plus或摩托罗拉Moto G5S等中端竞争机型。作为中端手机,它高贵地端坐于中间位置,未丢失颜面,但也不太令人激奋。它能够生成还不错的图像,但不太出色;它通常可以拍摄出不错的曝光效果和有吸引力的色彩,但存在一些不一致之处;最严重的问题是整个画面失去锐度,而且视频缺少细节。

75
DxOMark mobile
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
75
photo
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
74
video
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra

优点

  • 柔和日光下的整体曝光不错
  • 闪光灯照片呈现悦目的演色性,包括肤色
  • 在户外条件下,边缘保留得很好。
  • 纹理复杂区域的噪点不多

优点

  • 曝光良好,即使在低光下的表现也不错
  • 光线变化时,曝光转换快速平稳
  • 悦目的演色性
  • 步行移动时,防抖表现得不错

不足

  • 整个画面有大量的细节损失
  • 在一定照明范围内有各种颜色的色偏
  • 高对比度场景中的动态范围有限
  • 通常可以看到振铃效应、耀斑和青色色偏(天空)

不足

  • 所有照明水平下的细节都不丰富
  • 自动对焦在低光下没有响应
  • 可看见自动对焦跟踪失败
  • 静态场景中可看见一些运动痕迹
We are hiring!

Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra camera review: Not just for selfies

DxOMark
Mobile
75

Announced in January 2018, the Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra is billed as the ultimate “dual selfie” camera smartphone, having both a 16Mp and an 8Mp camera on its front. Around the back, however, there’s a 23Mp camera that uses a 1/2.3-inch Exmor RS sensor and has very similar specifications to the cameras in Sony flagship smartphones. It’s this main camera that’s the subject of this review.

The anodized aluminum shell is fronted by a borderless 6-inch Full-HD display protected by Corning Gorilla Glass, while the processing is handled by a Qualcomm Snapdragon 630 engine. It’s all powered by a 3,580 mAh battery.

Key specifications

  • Single camera
  • 23Mp 1/2.3-inch Exmor RS sensor
  • f/2.0-aperture lens
  • 24mm-equivalent focal length
  • Phase detection autofocusing (PDAF)
  • Auto HDR (High Dynamic Range)
  • LED Flash

Test summary

While textured areas look good, blue skies can suffer from luminance noise.

The Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra’s 23Mp camera puts in a mixed performance, which means it achieves an overall DxOMark score of 75, the same as its Photo score. On the plus side, it generally handles exposure well, especially in soft daylight, but it’s less consistent with high-contrast scenes, and blue skies can tend towards cyan. It also usually captures pleasant colors, but is nevertheless prone to variable color casts in a range of lighting conditions.

The balance between noise suppression and detail visibility is another issue, as while textured areas show little noise, even-toned sections such as blue skies sometimes suffer from luminance or chromatic noise, reducing the overall score. As you’d expect, this noise becomes more noticeable in low-light conditions.

Similarly and not uncommonly, although edges are rendered well, the finer details among them are not always reproduced well. Again, this loss of fine detail is more noticeable in low light and is slightly worse than the best competing smartphone cameras.

This image is rather dark, but the edges are reproduced well.
Crop: Low-contrast fine details are lost, which is very noticeable in the trees.

Despite the Xperia XA2 Ultra’s automatic HDR (High Dynamic Range) system that kicks in when the camera detects a high-contrast scene, its images don’t have a very wide dynamic range. Both highlights and shadows can be clipped, but on the whole, it tends to favor the brighter areas of the scene rather than the darker parts. Consequently, the backgrounds of backlit portraits tend to be captured at the expense of the subject. And as the image below left shows, shadows in outdoor scenes may also lack detail.

Although the exposure of the sky and foreground is good here, there’s little detail in the dark vegetation.
Indoor exposures under soft lighting are generally good; dynamic range is also good in these conditions.

The loss of sharpness across the frame is a key reason for the relatively low Artifacts score, but visible ringing (halos) around high-contrast edges, distortion, and flare also contribute. One aspect of the Xperia XA2 Ultra’s camera that particularly impresses is its results when using flash. There’s quite rapid light fall-off towards the edges, with some chromatic noise visible, but no red-eye, and the skin tones are very good.

Sharpness varies across the frame, reducing the camera’s artifact score significantly.
Crop: The detail in this bottom left edge section is markedly softer than at the center (shown at right).
Crop: This magnified section shows sharpness and detail resolution are good at the center of the image.

As with stills, the Xperia XA2 Ultra has a mixed performance for video, achieving a score of 74. Again, it generally handles exposure well, even in low light, but the detail levels are poor and chromatic noise is visible in low-light conditions. We also found the autofocus system inconsistent, with it missing some targets as well as displaying some tracking failures.

Interestingly, the stabilization in video mode copes very well with walking movement, but there’s some high-frequency motion visible when panning.

Conclusion

With an overall score of 75, the Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra lags behind most current high-end models, but can outperform some of its mid-range rivals — for example, the Meizu Pro 7 Plus and the Motorola Moto G5S. Befitting its mid-range status, it’s distinctly mid-table — not disgracing itself, but not setting the world on fire, either. It produces acceptable images without excelling, generally capturing good exposures and attractive colors, but has some inconsistencies, with the worst offenses being loss of acutance across the frame and lack of detail in video.

75
DxOMark mobile
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
75
photo
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra
74
video
Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra

Pros

  • Good overall exposure in soft daylight
  • Pleasant color rendering with flash, including skin tones
  • Good edge preservation in outdoor conditions
  • Low noise levels in textured areas

 Pros

  • Good exposure even in low light
  • Rapid, smooth transition in exposure when light changes
  • Pleasant color rendering
  • Good stabilization with walking movement

Cons

  • Significant loss of detail across the frame
  • Variable color casts in a range of lighting
  • Limited dynamic range in high-contrast scenes
  • Ringing, flare, and cyan shift (in skies) often visible

Cons

  • Poor detail levels in all light levels
  • Autofocus not responsive in low light
  • Autofocus tracking failures visible
  • Some motion visible in static scenes
We are hiring!