索尼 Xperia XZ3 摄像头评测

DxOMark
Mobile
79

2018年8月发布的索尼 Xperia XZ3,是一款高端智能手机,配置高通骁龙845芯片组、6英寸OLED显示屏,以及1900万像素、1 / 2.3英寸传感器的传统单摄像头,搭载25毫米等效焦距、光圈 f / 2.0 镜头。在视频模式下,XZ3 能够以每秒30帧的速度录制4K视频,同时五轴电子防抖的功能可使影像保持稳定。许多手机摄影师会喜欢microSD扩充储存槽。

高端智能手机中仅有单摄像头的机种已相当罕见,不过通过正确的调校以及软件的搭载,还是可以与多摄像头的机种相媲美。请参阅我们的报告,了解索尼Xperia XZ3相机在DxOMark Mobile评测中的表现。

摄像头主要规格:

  • 配置单摄像头
  • 1900万像素、1/2.3英寸传感器,像素间距为1.22 微米
  • f/2.0 光圈镜头,25毫米等效焦距
  • PDAF 激光自动对焦
  • LED闪光灯
  • 2160p/30fps 视频 (默认模式下为1080p/30fps)

有关 DxOMark评测:我们的智能手机摄像头评测中的评分与分析,是由DxOMark的工程师在控管中的实验室环境里,以及室内和室外的自然场景中,使用相机的默认模式,拍摄并评估1500组以上的照片和2小时以上的视频。本文旨在强调我们测试中最重要的结果。有关DxOMark评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处。关于我们如何评分智能手机前置摄像头的更多细节,请追踪此连结

测试摘要

79
DxOMark mobile
Sony Xperia XZ3
76
photo
Sony Xperia XZ3
85
video
Sony Xperia XZ3

Xperia XZ3 在DxOMark Mobile的总体评测中获得了79分,是继 Xperia XZ Premium之后,所有索尼机种中,排名表现第二佳的手机,不过,仍比不上那些我们测试过最好的智能型手机。在各种光照条件下都能达到良好的目标曝光、自动对焦系统也准确,还有相当不错的纹理和令人赏心悦目的演色性,让 Xperia XZ3 在静态图像的项目拿下76分。明亮的光线下与一般室内照明中所拍摄的照片,也能显现出良好的白平衡。只要不是在低光下拍摄,具1900万像素传感器的索尼手机,也能够展现出色的细节和纹理。

明亮光照下,Xperia XZ3 所拍摄的照片可呈现出悦目的演色性与良好的细节。

也就是说,索尼在有些项目上,还有进步的空间。例如,比起当前其他的高端手机,索尼的动态范围明显更为有限,以致于在拍摄更具挑战性的高对比度场景时,往往会产生高光剪切的现象,这让Xperia XZ3 较适合在光照更均衡的状况下使用。许多明亮光源中所拍摄的照片也显现出相对较低的对比度,使照片看起来略显昏暗。

高对比度场景中的高光剪切现象往往显而易见。
这张室内照片明显可看出带有些许橙色的色偏。

在较明亮的光源下,索尼所呈现出的演色性,令我们的测试人员满意,但他们也观察到有色偏的现象产生,同时还注意到在低光中,饱和度显得略高。虽然在所有光照条件下,自动对焦几乎都很准确,不过,在昏暗的照明环境中,自动对焦会明显变慢。

在下面的比较图表中可以看出,在20 勒克斯的低光水平下,Sony Xperia XZ3的自动对焦一直都能拍出清晰度良好的照片;不过,在重新聚焦后,会延迟半秒或更长的时间—明显比其他竞争机种来得慢。索尼的Xperia XZ Premium也不是最快的,但不会像XZ3一样,与Pixel 3或Pocophone有明显的差异。

20 勒克斯光照下,自动对焦效果比较图

此外,照片里有大量的伪像,使得XZ3在「伪像」的项目只得到低分38分。照片的角落不够清晰是索尼最大的问题;靠近边缘的细节明显少于中央,同时还常出现一些色度噪点。XZ3也很容易产生耀斑的现象,像是在室内强烈的光源下拍摄的照片,或是靠近照片的边缘处;当在阳光充足的状况下拍摄时,就会突显出这个问题。其他伪像包括振铃效应、畸变以及高对比度照边缘所出现的噪点。

角落不够清晰且明显可见一些色度噪点。对比度也略低。
索尼 Xperia XZ3,裁剪图

不像大部份多摄像头手机和其它单摄像头机种(例如:谷哥Pixel 3),Xperia XZ3没有立即可上手的散景模式功能,因此在「散景」项目只获得基本的25分。由于缺少远摄镜头,也没有能通过高端的软件达成变焦的效果(像是谷哥的超分辨率),索尼的变焦功能差不多和其它使用普通数码变焦的机种不相上下。在所有变焦模式下所拍出的变焦照片会出现颗粒和像素化的状况,而且细节水平也相当低。

视频模式的表现,让索尼Xperia XZ3取得了85分。手持手机录制视频时,索尼的电子防手震功能,能有效保持画面稳定,让我们的测试人员相当欣赏。视频片段的目标曝光,通常表现的不错,大多数光照条件下的噪点水平,也控制的很好。自动对焦系统也能够精准确实的发挥功效。

10勒克斯低光下的视频曝光良好。

缺点方面,在一般室内照明或低光下录制视频,通常会出现很醒目的色偏。低光下,细节明显损失,和静态模式一样,动态范围也很有限,往往导致在高对比度的场景中,产生高光剪切的现象。视频图像中的伪像比照片来得少,但经常会出现「纹理不稳定」的伪像—也就是说,当以平移或随意移动摄像头的方式录制时,有些区域的纹理移动的时间比周遭纹理略久些,以致于产生不自然的影像。

结论

在良好的条件下,索尼Xperia XZ3能拍摄出曝光佳、色彩美及细节水平高的照片。然而,XZ3配置的单摄像头以及缺乏高端的计算成像方法,都意味着面临了更大的挑战,相较于一些具有更多摄像头或成像软件功能更强大的竞争对手,索尼很快就会达到极限。

Xperia XZ3的摄像头在高对比度度的场景中,容易拍摄出有高光剪切现象的照片,且变焦的功能稍显不足。不过,索尼主要的缺点在于照片出现一连串的伪像,包括边缘不清晰以及颇为严重的畸变和振铃效应;但是,视频方面的表现相当不错,在各种光照条件下,稳定度和曝光度都很好。尽管如此,纵观直接竞争对手在高端机种市场上的表现,实在很难推荐XZ3。

照片优点

  • 所有条件下的目标曝光良好
  • 在明亮光照下与室内拍摄时,均可呈现出不错的演色性和白平衡
  • 室内和室外的环境中,纹理的表现相当出色
  • 自动对焦精准

视频优点

  • 稳定度可圈可点
  • 目标曝光通常良好
  • 自动对焦精准
  • 噪点大部份都控制的不错

照片不足

  • 所有条件下的动态范围有限
  • 低光下呈现色偏且饱和度略高
  • 严重畸变
  • 边缘有非常明显的噪点
  • 角落不清晰
  • 许多显而易见的伪像,包括振铃效应、耀斑以及色彩量化
  • 无预装的散景模式

视频不足

  • 所有条件下均出现「纹理不稳定」的伪像
  • 室内与低光下会产生色偏且白平衡不稳定
  • 自动对焦慢,有时追踪功能发生错误
  • 低光下的视频会丢失细节
  • 明亮光照下的动态范围有限

Sony Xperia XZ3 camera review

DxOMark
Mobile
79

Announced in August 2018, the Sony Xperia XZ3 is a high-end smartphone featuring a Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 chipset, a 6-inch OLED display, and a fairly conventional-looking single main camera with a 19Mp 1/2.3¨ sensor. The latter is coupled with a lens that offers a 25mm-equivalent focal length and a f/2.0 aperture. In video mode, the XZ3 can record 4K video at 30 frames per second and keeps footage steady using 5-axis electronic image stabilization. Many mobile photographers will also appreciate the microSD slot for easy storage expansion.

Single-lens cameras have become a rarity among high-end smartphones, but with the right tuning and software, can keep up with the multi-lens competition. Read our report to find out how the Sony Xperia XZ3 camera performs in our DxOMark Mobile testing.

Key camera specifications:

  • Single-camera setup
  • 19Mp 1/2.3-inch sensor with 1.22µm pixels
  • f/2.0-aperture lens, 25mm-equivalent focal length
  • PDAF/laser autofocus
  • LED flash
  • 2160p/30fps video (1080/30fps in default mode)

About DxOMark Mobile tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DxOMark Mobile test protocol, click here. More details on how we score smartphone cameras are available here.

Test summary

79
DxOMark mobile
Sony Xperia XZ3
76
photo
Sony Xperia XZ3
85
video
Sony Xperia XZ3

Achieving an overall DxOMark Mobile score of 79 points, the Xperia XZ3 is, after the Xperia XZ Premium, the second-best Sony device in our rankings, but cannot quite compete with the best smartphones we have tested. It achieves 76 points for still images, thanks to good target exposure in all light conditions, an accurate autofocus system, and very good texture and pleasant color rendering. It also displays good white balance when shooting in bright light and under typical indoor lighting. Thanks to its 19Mp sensor, the Sony is also capable of rendering fine detail and textures very well, so long as you are not shooting in low light.

In bright light, Xperia XZ3 images show pleasant color rendering and good levels of detail.

That said, there is room for improvement in some areas. The Sony’s dynamic range, for example, is noticeably more limited than with other current high-end phones, and this often results in highlight clipping in more challenging high-contrast scenes, making the Xperia XZ3 best suited for more balanced lighting conditions. Many bright-light images also show comparatively low contrast, giving them a slightly dull look.

Highlight clipping is often visible in high-contrast scenes.
A slight orange cast is noticeable in this indoor shot.

While our testers liked the Sony’s color rendering in brighter conditions, we observed some color casts and also noticed slightly high levels of saturation in low light. And while the AF performs mostly accurately across all light conditions, it slows down noticeably under dim illumination.

In the comparison graph below, you can see that at a low light level of 20 lux, the Sony Xperia XZ3 autofocus consistently produces images with good sharpness. However, it is noticeably slower—with delays of half a second or longer after refocusing—than the competition from other brands. Sony’s Xperia XZ Premium isn’t the quickest either, but the difference between it and the Pixel 3 or the Pocophone is not quite as noticeable as on the XZ3.

Autofocus performance comparison at 20 lux

In addition, a multitude of image artifacts resulted in a low Artifacts score of 38 points. Soft corners are the Sony’s biggest problem. Levels of detail are noticeably lower close to the edges of the frame than in the center, and we often find some chroma noise as well. The XZ3 also has a strong tendency to produce image flare with a strong light source inside or close to the edge of the frame, which can be a problem when shooting in sunny conditions. Other artifacts we see include ringing, distortion, and noise along high-contrast edges.

Corners are soft and some chromatic noise is visible. Contrast is also slightly low.
Sony Xperia XZ3, crop

Unlike most multi-camera phones and some other single-camera devices—for example, the Google Pixel 3, the Xperia XZ3 does not offer a bokeh mode out of the box and therefore achieves only our 25-point base bokeh score. Due to the lack of a tele-lens or a sophisticated software zoom (such as Google’s Super Resolution), the Sony’s zoom performance is more or less in line with other devices that use a conventional digital zoom. Zoom images look grainy and pixelated at all zoom settings, with fairly low levels of detail.

For its performance in video mode, the Sony Xperia XZ3 achieves a score of 85 points. Our testers liked Sony’s efficient electronic image stabilization that keeps things steady when hand-holding the camera while recording. Video footage also shows generally good target exposure and well-controlled noise levels in most light conditions. We also found the autofocus system to perform accurately and reliably.

Video exposure is good down to low light levels of 10 lux.

On the downside, color casts are often noticeable when recording under typical indoor illumination or in low light. Detail also suffers noticeably in low light, and like in stills mode, dynamic range is limited, often resulting in highlight clipping in high-contrast scenes. Image artifacts are less of an issue in video mode than they are for still shooting, but we consistently observed an “unstable texture” artifact—that is, when panning or otherwise moving the camera while recording, some textured areas take slightly longer to move than the surrounding areas, resulting in an unnatural effect.

Conclusion

In good conditions, the Sony Xperia XZ3 is capable of capturing images with good exposure, pleasant color, and high levels of detail. However, the single-lens setup and a lack of sophisticated computational imaging methods means that in more challenging situations, the Sony gets to its limits quicker than some of its competitors with more lenses and/or more powerful imaging software.

The camera has a tendency to clip highlights in high-contrast scenes, and zoom performance is slightly underwhelming. The Sony’s main point of criticism is a range of image artifacts, however, including soft edges, fairly strong distortion, and ringing. Video performance is pretty decent, though, with good stabilization and exposure across all light levels. Nevertheless, the XZ3 is tough to recommend when looking at the performance of some of its direct rivals in the high-end bracket of the market.

Photo pros

  • Good target exposure in all conditions
  • Good color rendering and white balance when shooting in bright light and indoors
  • Very good texture rendition in outdoor and indoor conditions
  • Accurate autofocus

Video pros

  • Efficient stabilization
  • Generally good target exposure
  • Accurate autofocus
  • Noise is mostly well under control

Photo cons

  • Limited dynamic range in all conditions
  • Color casts and slightly high saturation levels in low light
  • Strong distortion
  • Very noticeable noisy edges
  • Softness in the corners
  • Several noticeable artifacts, including ringing, flare, and color quantization
  • No pre-installed bokeh mode

Video cons

  • “Unstable texture” artifact in all conditions
  • Color casts and white balance instabilities indoors and in low light
  • Slow autofocus, some tracking errors
  • Lack of detail in low-light video
  • Limited dynamic range in bright light