诺基亚9 PureView —— 五摄像头如何运作

多摄像头智能手机在DxOMark Mobile排名中占据主导地位,其中一个原因在于,增加第二个摄像头可以增强细节,改善低光性能,而增加远摄功能也是一项成功战略,关于这一点,我们已在一篇谈论多摄像头智能手机的文章中指出。诺基亚9 PureView于今年2月推出,其后置摄像头阵列配置五个摄像头模块,由Light提供动力。该手机配有两个彩色和三个单色传感器,均搭载蔡司镜头,企图在智能手机中为图像质量开拓一片新天地。Light、HMD Global(诺基亚手机的独家授权商)和SoC(片上系统)供应商——高通彼此密切合作,以优化其摄像头系统。虽然这项设计在技术上令人印象深刻,但我们在DxOMark Mobile测试中发现,该手机在大多数领域都没有完全发挥多摄像头的潜力,不过其摄像头阵列确实提供了一些新颖的功能。现在,让我们来看看它如何工作,以及它有什么独特之处。

诺基亚9 PureView的后置五摄像头模块

光看数字,诺基亚9阵列中使用的每个摄像头模块都具有相当典型的高端智能手机规格:每个模块都有一个1200万像素传感器(1.24微米像素),和一颗28毫米f/1.8定焦镜头;其中两个采用传统的彩色传感器,三个采用单色传感器。因此,五个模块都具有相同的视场,并且基本上都瞄准相同的场景。这些模块都经过工厂校准以正确对齐,但在使用时也会按需自动重新校准。不过,它们并没有光学影像防抖。

诺基亚9 PureView后置摄像头

单色模块上没有滤色片,因此可以聚集比彩色模块更多的光,并具有更高的分辨率。诺基亚9并不是第一款配备单色摄像头的智能手机,但它的独特之处在于有三个单色模块同时处于活动状态。同样地,虽然将彩色模块与单色模块配对以提高图像质量的做法并非破题儿头一遭,但诺基亚9首次同时使用两个相同的彩色摄像头和额外的单色摄像头,以提高图像质量。

实际上,在拍摄每张全彩图像时,五个摄像头模块都处于活动状态;而拍摄黑白照片时,则有三个单色模块处于活动状态。这意味着诺基亚9的每张彩色图像都有6000万像素的数据可供使用;处理棘手的场景时,将多达四个紧密堆叠的图像组合在一起,此时单个图像最多可以使用24000万像素。创建一个图像处理流水线,以便在超薄智能手机功率范围内处理如此多的数据,这需要借助Light技术(包括专用集成电路(ASIC))和高通骁龙845 SoC之间的紧密集成。例如,在设计上,845芯片组的固件一次最多只能控制三台摄像头,因此ASIC必须介入协调五摄像头系统,这就是其独特挑战的一个例子。

更多数据和智能处理可以提供更高质量的图像

初创公司Light的多摄像头技术旨在捕获更多数据以创建更好的图像。其秘诀不只是依靠摄像头模块的阵列来捕捉图像,而且还依赖于处理流水线来创建更高质量的图像输出。即使在拍摄包含运动的场景时,同时拍摄五个图像也有助于产生出色的低光图像。与当前的夜间模式相比,这将是一个明显的优势,因为当前的夜间模式仅能在被摄体运动非常少的情况下才能很好地工作。

这里是使用变焦拍摄的图像,这个例子展示了诺基亚9附加摄像头模块的另一大优势。为了说明诺基亚9的多摄像头的价值,我们刻意遮蔽了四个摄像头,只使用一个摄像头拍摄,以便比较其拍摄结果与正常模式下(同时激活五个摄像头时)拍摄的图像。左侧版本只使用一个摄像头拍摄(通过遮蔽其他摄像头),而右侧图像是在所有摄像头都处于活动状态时拍摄的。您可以看到,与单个摄像头拍出的图像相比,使用所有摄像头拍摄的图像噪点更少,看起来更像是光学变焦的结果,反观单摄像头拍出的图像看起来更像是典型的数码变焦。

诺基亚9 PureView,仅使用一个摄像头模块拍摄变焦图像
诺基亚 9 PureView,裁剪图
诺基亚9 PureView,使用五个摄像头拍摄变焦图像
诺基亚 9 PureView,裁剪图

绝不妥协的RAW功能

使用RAW格式拍摄是摄影师的传统黄金法则,但在目前的智能手机机型中,使用RAW格式拍摄通常意味着要放弃制造商为特定手机精心优化的高级计算成像。但Light和诺基亚在诺基亚9上创建了一个可以拍摄16位RAW文件的摄像系统,而这些文件仍然可以使用该手机的多摄像头所拍摄的图像与图像快速连拍功能。

诺基亚还与Adobe密切合作,设法让Lightroom Mobile支持新手机的RAW文件,但目前不能修改深度效果。

1200级的深度估计

虽然在估计深度与创建出色的人像方面,双摄像头手机比单摄像头机型有了更显著的改进,但仅仅拥有两个紧密间隔的摄像头模块并不是一个完美的解决方案,因为深度仍然经常被误估。该公司表示:通过五个摄像头模块同时工作,诺基亚9能够记录1200个不同级别的深度(从7厘米处的近处物体到远处40米处的物体),提供前所未有的准确度和宽广的范围。

记录深度图时,也可以采用令人印象深刻的1200万像素分辨率。上述各点都意味着人像散景可能获得改善,因为它具有一个真正的多视图系统(有五个视点),并且五摄像头模块分离所提供的基线比大多数双摄像头手机中常见的基线稍大。然而,在实践上,诺基亚9并没有完全兑现这一承诺。它在我们的散景测试中拿下了55分,高于我们测试过的任何单摄像头手机,但其分数仍然比不上拿下最高分的双摄像头机型。您可以在我们的完整评测链接中看到一些比较图像;而下面的图片则说明了该手机的被摄体隔离效果比不上其他手机的例子。例如,您可以在裁剪图中看到,当一些花朵与被摄体的头发重叠时,这些花朵仍然是清晰的。

诺基亚 9 PureView,散景模式
诺基亚 9 PureView,裁剪图

您可以在启用完整深度效果的情况下进行拍摄,也可以让手机记录深度图以供日后处理。为了做到这一点,诺基亚和Light增加了对谷歌Depthmap(深度信息图)元数据标准的支持,让用户可以随时使用谷歌相册调整焦点。下面是如何在拍摄图像后使用深度信息更改图像外观的示例。

左侧是手机摄像头拍摄的原始图像;在中间图像上,我们重新对焦于背景上;在右侧图像中,我们将谷歌相册中的“模糊”滑块设置为最小值,使其景深最大化。重新对焦可能不会被经常使用,但是如果您想对焦于更远的被摄体,但摄像头却意外地对焦于较近的东西上时,这一功能肯定会派上用场。不过,很遗憾的是,拍摄结果显示了深度图不准确所造成的许多缺陷。

默认设置下的散景模式
在谷歌相册中对图像重新对焦
使用谷歌相册增加景深

诺基亚9始终使用HDR拍摄

每次拍摄时使用具有相同视场的多摄像头模块,但将它们的曝光设置为可变,那么诺基亚9就能够在单个帧中拍出真正的高动态范围(HDR)图像,而不像大多数摄像头需要快速连拍一系列的帧。Light代表解释说,诺基亚9能够使用曝光相似的五个模块来收集更多细节,或者以现在流行的方式将它们用于HDR,具体取决于高通软件评估的场景细节。当然,由于单色传感器聚集的光线比彩色传感器多得多,因此无论如何,它们的曝光都可能略有不同。

与仅使用诺基亚9的单个摄像头拍摄的图像相比,这种创建HDR图像的灵活方法可以拍出非常出色的阴影和高光位细节。不过,其结果并不像许多其他采用连拍多帧手法的手机那么令人印象深刻。您可在我们的完整评测中查看更多信息。

您可以在下面看到左侧单摄像头图像(通过遮蔽四个摄像头生成的)与右侧五个摄像头模块都激活时拍摄的图像之间的差异。

诺基亚9 PureView,HDR场景,仅使用一个摄像头模块
诺基亚9 PureView,HDR场景,使用所有摄像头模块

原生黑白摄影

拥有单色传感器也意味着,想要拍摄黑白照片的正经摄影师可以在摄像头内直接捕捉黑白图像。对于摄影师来说,这可能是一项很大的优势。给入门者的补充信息:单色传感器捕获的光线比彩色传感器多了几倍,因此在低光下具有潜在的优势。诺基亚9 PureView的多传感器架构综合了三个高性能单色摄像头模块的信息,可提供令人印象深刻的黑白图像。

但是在我们的测试中,该手机的单色摄影的效果并不比在默认彩色模式下拍摄图像,然后在后期改成单色图像的做法更好。以全尺寸查看时,经过后期处理的图像中的伪像实际上比原生单色图像少。当然,彩色图像的优势还在于结合来自三个单色传感器的信息,因为它们在两种情况下都是处于活动状态的。

诺基亚 9 PureView,户外彩色图像
诺基亚 9 PureView,裁剪图
诺基亚 9 PureView,户外单色图像
诺基亚 9 PureView,裁剪图
诺基亚 9 PureView,经后期处理的黑白图像
诺基亚 9 PureView,裁剪图

创建多摄像头阵列所面临的挑战

由于拥有多摄像头具有一些优势,因此人们很自然地会想了解,为什么有些制造商未采用多摄像头配置。其原因在于,除了成本显着增加和需要更多的手机空间之外,多摄像头手机还有许多困难的技术挑战需要解决。我们已经在之前的一篇文章中介绍了使用双摄像头所面临的困难,但Light和诺基亚必须解决更复杂的问题,才能将五摄像头阵列推向市场。

首先,所有模块都需要正确对齐和校准。如磐石般坚实的机械设计是一个很好的开端,但视场内和各种环境条件下拍摄的图像都需要一直保持对齐。即使在拍摄图像之前,手机的自动对焦系统也需要根据用户触摸屏幕的位置(或连续自动对焦锁定的位置),将五个摄像头模块正确地对焦于共同的关注区域。一如整个成像流水线的其余部分,这需要在超薄智能手机非常有限的功率局限下进行。

对齐和校准中的任何缺陷都需要通过后期处理软件来解决。即使使用完美对齐和校准的摄像头,图像处理硬件和软件仍需要考虑五个模块略微不同的位置,并正确地对齐图像,同时还必须考虑到已经悄悄混进的任何校准错误。

下图说明了处理过程。因为摄像头模组的位置不同,因此拍摄到的图像有轻微的角度差。在第一部中,首先对准共同的图像区域,然后再第二部中修正角度带来的差异,最后合成到最终的输出照片。

图像对准和修正的过程

对齐使用多次曝光拍摄的图像可以为棘手的场景保留阴影和高光位细节,这是一个非常不错的做法,但细节是否能完美排列也构成了一项额外的挑战。此外,考虑到彩色和单色传感器不同的原生感光度,在图像被正确对准之后,它们还需要根据这一组曝光图像的色调映射方式进行色调映射,方能创建单个HDR图像。此过程还会使演色性的处理变得更加复杂,而诺基亚9却无法完全处理这些问题,因此其色彩测试的得分仅为71分。所有这些困难都必须克服,方能使输出的图像看起来自然,而非像HDR图像中那种经常过度校正的图像。诺基亚9是第一个为消费者开发一款搭载如此多摄像头模块的手机的公司,而这都要归功于Light的技术,他们走了一段很长的路才解决了这些问题。

结论

诺基亚和Light已经将一些独特的摄像头技术放入诺基亚9中。其五摄像头模块阵列为愿意花时间了解如何使用它们的摄影者提供了一些灵活的功能。与类似定位的智能手机相比,其原生单色图像以及重新对焦和控制散景的能力是其最强大的功能。与仅使用诺基亚9的一个摄像头的表现相比,始终激活的HDR和多摄像头变焦的表现都令人印象深刻,但其他公司也通过使用多帧拍摄获得了类似或甚至更好的结果。有鉴于此,尽管其五摄像头设计的潜力极大,但当我们测试诺基亚9时,该手机并未完全发挥其技术潜力,其DxOMark照片得分仅为88分,表现平庸。

The Nokia 9 PureView penta-camera: How it works

Reading Time: 10 min read

There is a reason multi-camera smartphones dominate the top spots in our DxOMark Mobile rankings. The addition of a second camera to enhance detail, improve low-light performance, or add telephoto capabilities is a proven winning strategy that we documented in our article on multi-camera smartphones. Launched in February of this year, the Nokia 9 PureView comes with a rear camera array that is powered by startup Light and features five camera modules. With two RGB and three monochrome sensors all coupled with ZEISS-branded optics, the phone aims to break new ground in image quality from a smartphone. Light, HMD Global (exclusive licensee of Nokia phones), and SoC (system on a chip) vendor Qualcomm cooperated closely to optimize the camera system. While the design is technically impressive, we found in our DxOMark Mobile tests that the phone doesn’t live up to its multi-camera potential in most areas. But it does offer some novel capabilities thanks to its camera array. Let’s look at how it works, and at some of what makes it unique.

The Nokia 9 PureView’s five rear camera modules

By the numbers, each of the modules used in the Nokia 9’s array has fairly typical specs for a high-end smartphone. Each has a 12MP sensor with 1.24µ pixels and a 28mm fixed-focal-length f/1.8 lens; two of them are a conventional RGB design, and three are monochrome. All five modules therefore have the same field of view, and are aimed at essentially the same scene. The modules are factory-calibrated to insure proper alignment, but they are also automatically recalibrated as needed when they are used. However, they don’t include optical image stabilization.

The Nokia 9 PureView rear camera

By leaving the color filter off of the monochrome modules, they can gather more light and have more resolving power than an equivalent RGB module. The Nokia 9 isn’t the first smartphone to feature a monochrome camera, but what makes it unique is that there are three monochrome modules that are all active at once. Similarly, while pairing an RGB module with a monochrome module for improved image quality isn’t new, the Nokia 9 is the first mobile device to use a pair of identical RGB cameras and additional monochrome cameras at the same time to improve image quality.

In fact, all five camera modules are active for every full-color image, with all three monochrome modules active when capturing in black and white. That means that for each color image, the Nokia 9 has 60MP of data to work with. By combining up to four tightly-stacked images for demanding scenarios, it can have up to a maximum of 240MP to work with for a single image. Creating an image processing pipeline to handle that much data within the power envelope of a slim smartphone required tight integration among Light’s technology, including an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), and Qualcomm’s Snapdragon 845 SoC. As one example of the unique challenges, the 845’s firmware is designed to control only up to three cameras at a time, so the ASIC has to step in to coordinate the five-camera system.

More data and smart processing promises better-quality images

Startup Light’s multi-camera technology is all about capturing more data to create better images. Their secret sauce is not just relying on the camera module array to capture the images, but also on a processing pipeline that creates better quality output. Having five simultaneous captures also creates the possibility of excellent low-light images, even when capturing scenes with motion. This would be a solid advantage over current Night modes that work well only with very limited subject motion.

As an example of the value of the Nokia 9’s additional camera modules, here is an image captured using zoom. To illustrate the value of the Nokia 9’s multiple cameras, we artificially covered all but one camera so that we could compare those results with an image taken in the normal mode with all five cameras active. The version on the left was taken using just one camera (by masking the others), while the image on the right was taken with all cameras active. You can see that the image taken using all the cameras has much lower noise. It looks more like the results of an optical zoom than the image from the single camera image, which looks more like a typical digital zoom.

Nokia 9 PureView, zoom using just one camera module
Nokia 9 PureView, crop
Nokia 9 PureView, zoomed image using all five cameras
Nokia 9 PureView, crop

No-compromise RAW capability

While shooting in RAW is the traditional gold standard for photographers, in current smartphone models, shooting in RAW typically means foregoing the advanced computational imaging that the manufacturer has painstakingly optimized for that particular phone. With the Nokia 9, Light and Nokia have created a mobile device that can capture 16-bit RAW files that can still make use of the device’s multi-camera capture and image burst capabilities.

Nokia has also worked closely with Adobe to make sure the new phone’s RAW files are supported in Lightroom Mobile, but that currently doesn’t include modifying the depth effect.

1200 levels of depth estimation

While dual-camera phones offer a solid improvement over single-camera models for estimating depth and creating great portraits, simply having two closely-spaced camera modules isn’t a perfect solution. There are still plenty of cases in which depth is misestimated. By having five camera modules working at once, the company says that the Nokia 9 is able to record depth at 1200 different levels, from near objects at 7 centimeters to those as far away as 40 meters, providing unprecedented accuracy and a large range.

The depth map can also be recorded in an impressive 12MP resolution. All of that means there is a potential for improved bokeh for portraits, both because it has a real multi-view system with five points of view, and because the separation of the camera modules provides a slightly larger baseline than is common in most phones with two cameras. In practice, however, the Nokia 9 didn’t fully live up to that promise. Its score of 55 in our Bokeh tests was higher than any single-camera phone we’ve tested, but still well below the top scoring dual-camera models. You can see some comparison images in our full Nokia 9 PureView camera review, but the image below illustrates an example of where subject isolation just isn’t as good as some other phones. For example, you can see in the crop that some of the flowers are sharp when they overlap the subject’s hair.

Nokia 9 PureView, bokeh mode
Nokia 9 PureView, crop

You can shoot either with the full depth effect enabled, or simply have the phone record a depth map for later processing. To help with this, Nokia and Light have added support for Google’s Depthmap metadata standard, so users can adjust focus at any time using their Google Photos mobile app. Below are examples of how you can use depth information to change the look of an image after you capture it.

On the left is the original image as captured by the phone’s camera. For the middle image, we refocused on the background. For the image on the right, we maximized the depth of field by setting the Blur slider in Google Photos to its minimum value. Refocusing in particular may not get used much, but could definitely come in handy if the camera accidentally focused on something close when you wanted the subject to be something farther away. Unfortunately, the results show a lot of defects where the depth map wasn’t accurate.

Bokeh mode at default settings
Image refocused in Google Photos
Depth of field increased using Google Photos

The Nokia 9 is all HDR, all the time

By using multiple camera modules with the same field of view for each shot, but setting them to varying exposures, the Nokia 9 is able to capture true high-dynamic range (HDR) images in a single frame, instead of with a burst of frames that most cameras require. Light representatives explained that the Nokia 9 has the ability to use all five modules with similar exposures to gather more detail, or to use them in a bracketed fashion for HDR, depending on the specifics of the scene as evaluated by Qualcomm’s software. Of course, since the monochrome sensors gather much more light than the color versions, they may have a slightly different exposure anyway.

The result of this flexible approach to creating HDR images can be outstanding shadow and highlight detail compared to an image captured when using just a single camera on the Nokia 9. However, the results are not as impressive as many other current phones that use a quick burst of multiple frames, as you can see in our full review.

Below you can see the difference between a single-camera image on the left (generated by masking four of the five cameras), and the one taken with all modules active on the right.

Nokia 9 PureView,  HDR scene with one camera module active
Nokia 9 PureView, HDR scene with all modules active

Native black & white photography

Having monochrome sensors also means that serious photographers who want to shoot in black and white can capture black and white images natively in-camera. That might be a big win for photographers: for starters, the monochrome sensors capture several times more light than the RGB sensors, giving them a potential advantage in low light. Synthesizing the information from three high-performance monochrome camera modules, the Nokia 9 PureView’s multiple sensor architecture provides the potential for impressive black and white images.

However, in our testing, shooting in monochrome didn’t result in a better image than capturing an image in the default RGB mode and post-processing to monochrome. When viewed at full size, the post-processed image actually shows fewer artifacts than the native monochrome image. Of course, the RGB image also had the advantage of incorporating information from the three monochrome sensors, so they are active in both cases.

Nokia 9 PureView, outdoor color image
Nokia 9 PureView, crop
Nokia 9 PureView, outdoor monochrome image
Nokia 9 PureView, crop
Nokia 9 PureView, post-processed monochrome
Nokia 9 PureView, crop

The challenges of creating a multi-camera array

Since having multiple cameras has advantages, it’s natural to ask why every manufacturer doesn’t include them. Aside from the obvious increase in cost, and required space in the phone, there are a number of difficult technical challenges that need to be addressed. We’ve covered the difficulties in using a pair of cameras in a previous article, but Light and Nokia have had to solve a more complex version of those challenges to bring a five-camera array to market.

As a starting point, all the modules need to be correctly aligned and calibrated. A rock-solid mechanical design is a great beginning, but the alignment needs to persist in the field and under a variety of environmental conditions. Even before an image is captured, the phone needs to properly autofocus all five modules to a common region of interest based on where the user touches the screen (or where the continuous AF locks on). As with the rest of the entire imaging pipeline, this needs to happen within the very limited power constraints of a slim smartphone.

Any flaws in the alignment and calibration need to be addressed by post-processing software. Even with perfectly aligned and calibrated cameras, the image processing hardware and software still need to account for the slightly different locations of the five modules, and correctly align the images while taking into account any calibration errors that have crept in.

The graphic below illustrates the process. Due to varying positions of the camera modules images are captured at slightly offset angles. In a first step they are aligned and in a second step the disparities between them are corrected for, before they can be merged into the final output image.

Image alignment and correction process.

Aligning images captured using multiple exposures provides an excellent way to preserve shadow and highlight detail in difficult scenes, but presents an additional challenge, as details won’t line up perfectly. Further, given the different native sensitivities of the color and monochrome sensors, after the images are correctly aligned, they also need to be tone mapped in the same way that bracketed exposure images are tone mapped to create a single HDR version. This process also creates additional complexity in color rendering which the Nokia 9 doesn’t fully handle, contributing to its mediocre Color score of 71. And all this needs to be done so that the resulting image looks natural, rather than ending up with the over-the-top look often found in HDR images. The Nokia 9 is the first to deploy a mobile device for consumers that features such a large array of camera modules, thanks to technology from Light that goes a long way toward solving all these problems.

Conclusion

Nokia and Light have packed some unique camera technology into the Nokia 9. Its array of five camera modules gives it some slick capabilities for photographers willing to take the time to use them. Native monochrome images and the ability to refocus and control Bokeh after the fact are its strongest features compared to similarly-positioned smartphones. The always-on HDR and multi-camera Zoom are impressive compared to using only one of the Nokia 9’s five cameras, but other companies have obtained similar or better results through the use of multi-frame capture. For that reason, despite the promising potential of its 5-camera design, the Nokia 9 didn’t live up to the potential of its technology when we tested and reviewed it, achieving only a mediocre DxOMark Photo score of 88.

DxOMark invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.