Vsmart Live 摄像头评测

87
camera

Vsmart Live主要是一款为越南市场打造的中端手机。它配备了6.2英寸AMOLED FHD+显示屏和屏幕指纹读取器,以及2000万像素前置摄像头。谷歌Android 9手机操作系统由高通骁龙675芯片组和高达6GB的主存驱动。

手机背面的主摄像头具有三个独立模块:一个4800万像素广角主镜头,可以输出1200万像素文件;另一个是800万像素超广角镜头;一个500万像素传感器,主要用于人像模式下的深度估计。该摄像头还有一颗LED闪光灯,并能够以每秒30帧的速度拍摄4K视频。

摄像头主要规格:

  • 三摄像头设置
  • 主摄像头:4800万像素1/2.25英寸传感器,f/1.7镜头,等效焦距25毫米,相位检测自动对焦(PDAF
  • 超广角镜头:800万像素1/3.6英寸传感器,f/2.2镜头,等效焦距14.4毫米,自动对焦
  • 深度估计:500像素1/5英寸传感器
  • LED闪光灯
  • 4K 2160p/30fps视频

关于DXOMARK Camera测试:DXOMARK工程师使用摄像头的默认设置,在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中拍摄超过1600张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,之后评鉴其拍摄结果,以实现智能手机摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DXOMARK Camera评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处。有关我们如何为智能手机摄像头评分的更多详情,请参见此处

测试摘要

87
camera
92
photo
78
video

Vsmart Live在DXOMARK Camera测试中取得87分的总体得分,在我们的排行榜中排名倒数第三,其表现类似于其他中端平价产品(例如摩托罗拉One变焦版)或较旧的旗舰产品(例如苹果iPhone 7 Plus)。

该Vsmarts手机在照片类别中取得87分,成绩相当普通,与顶级手机的表现相去甚远,甚至比不上其价格范围内的最佳手机。该摄像头可以在良好的条件下拍摄迷人的图像,但是在几乎所有领域都还有很大的改进空间。曝光也许是一大问题,它在高光条件下经常会过度曝光,而缺乏动态范围则导致了高光位剪切。自动对焦不太靠谱,在我们的现实生活测试中会出现一些故障,而在实验室测试中的响应很慢。夜间摄影测试的表现通常很差,我们的测试人员还发现了一系列图像伪像,包括强烈的振铃效应。

在适当条件下,Vsmart Live能够拍出漂亮的图像,呈现悦目的色彩。

在高光下,该手机的演色性也很好,可拍出相当不错的细节,但是在几乎所有光线条件下都可以看到噪点。此外,最好不要使用该Vsmarts手机的变焦控件,因为它没有专用的变焦摄像头,所以拍出来的变焦图像细节不多,出现了浓烈的噪点和许多伪像,尤其是在较远的变焦距离上更是如此。

该摄像头的超广角镜头提供了相当宽广的视角(焦距约15毫米),但是超广角图像中出现了噪点、彩色边纹和其他伪像。在手机的显示屏上查看图像时,在人像模式下拍摄的散景照片看起来还算可以接受,但在仔细检查下会发现前景被摄体周围有一些严重的深度估计伪像。

超广角模块提供了广阔的视场,但是图像质量仍有改进的空间。
该Vsmarts手机的各种属性在低光下的表现都非常差。

该手机在视频模式下的表现比静态图像差一些,因此视频得分相当低(78分)。视频素材的问题包括曝光过度、缺乏动态范围、自动对焦不稳定、细节不多、噪点、伪像和其他缺陷。与静止图像一样,视频色彩相当不错,演色性通常很好,在钨丝灯下也只出现了一些橙色色偏。但是缺乏防抖是该手机的另一大问题,因此在录制过程中最好尽量使摄像头保持静止不动,以免视频片段晃动。总体而言,手机视频拍摄者还有其他更好的选择。

照片评分说明

Vsmart Live的照片得分为92分,在我们数据库中排名靠后。我们在不同的照明条件下测试一款手机的静态图像在几个方面的表现后,为每个测试项目评分并计算照片成绩。在本部分中,我们将仔细研究这些测试项目的分数是怎么来的,并比较一些主要竞品的图像质量。

曝光与对比度

Vsmart Live

82

Highest Score

该Vsmarts手机能够在适当的条件下产生良好的曝光度,但是我们的测试人员发现了几个可能导致图像效果欠佳的问题。从下面的样张中可以看到,该Vsmarts手机的动态范围有限,在高对比度条件下拍摄时,图像通常会出现强烈的高光位剪切,而该摄像头在高光下会略微过度曝光,这种倾向进一步加剧了上述情况。在低光条件下,在低至5勒克斯下拍摄的图像仍然可以使用,但在光线更弱的情况下则明显曝光不足。

Vsmart Live,户外曝光,过度曝光和高光位剪切
三星Galaxy A50,户外曝光,良好的曝光和动态范围
联想Z6 Pro,户外曝光,良好的曝光,一些高光位剪切

色彩

Vsmart Live

82

Highest Score

一如曝光,该Vsmarts手机在色彩方面取得的成绩相当普通。它的户外演色性和白平衡通常是准确的,但我们的测试人员在室内条件下拍摄时看到了橙色色偏,而色彩渐晕在几乎所有测试条件下都很明显。

Vsmart Live,户外色彩,准确的演色性和白平衡
三星Galaxy A50,户外色彩,良好的演色性
联想Z6 Pro,户外色彩,良好的演色性
Vsmart Live,1000勒克斯,强烈的色彩渐晕(画面中央偏绿,边缘偏黄)

自动对焦

Vsmart Live

82

Highest Score

Vsmart Live的自动对焦系统的表现略逊于这一项目下表现最好的手机。它在我们的实验室测试中的表现正常,但比某些竞品要慢得多。在下图中,您可以看到Vsmart Live摄像头在散焦后,无论在短暂还是长时间延迟后触发对焦都可以锁定焦点,但是其速度比联想Z6 Pro慢。

在现实生活中拍摄时,我们的测试人员还观察到了一些自动对焦失败的情况(主要是在典型的室内条件和低光下)。

Vsmart Live,低光(20勒克斯)下的自动对焦性能与竞品的比较

纹理

Vsmart Live

68

Highest Score

和噪点

Vsmart Live

66

Highest Score

Vsmart Live在户外高光条件下拍出了相当好的细节(尤其是边缘细节),但是在室内照明和低光下却缺乏细节。在图像噪点控制方面,该摄像头也有一些改进空间。在户外图像中,蓝天中通常会出现亮度噪点,画面的阴影区域中也会出现一些色度噪点。

Vsmart Live,户外纹理和噪点
Vsmart Live,裁剪图,良好的细节,天空中出现一些粗大的噪点
三星Galaxy A50,户外细节和噪点
三星Galaxy A50,裁剪图,稍微欠缺精细细节
联想Z6 Pro,户外细节和噪点
联想Z6 Pro,裁剪图,细节到位,噪点不多

您在下面的样张中可以看到,在室内和低光下,噪点也变得更加明显。您还可以看到手机的降噪算法如何模糊了沙发图样中的精细细节。

Vsmart Live,室内纹理和噪点
Vsmart Live,裁剪图,缺乏细节,出现色度噪点
三星Galaxy A50,室内细节和噪点
三星Galaxy A50,裁剪图,缺乏细节,噪点不多
联想Z6 Pro,户外细节和噪点
联想Z6 Pro,出色的细节,噪点不多

伪像

Vsmart Live

61

Highest Score

Vsmart Live样张中出现了大量图像伪像,因此这款手机在此测试项目中得分相当低。该手机由于振铃效应和镜头耀斑而被扣了最多分,这些振铃通常在画面中的高对比度边缘上最为明显,而耀斑通常是由画面内部或外部附近的强烈光源产生的。

我们的测试人员还发现了下列其他伪像:朝向画面边缘的清晰度逐渐变低,边缘出现噪点,出现彩色边纹,蓝天中的剪切区域附近也出现了青绿色色偏。

Vsmart Live,振铃效应
Vsmart Live,裁剪图
Vsmart Live,耀斑
Vsmart Live,裁剪图

变焦

Vsmart Live

23

Highest Score

Vsmart Live没有专用的远摄摄像头,因此不出所料的是,它在变焦项目中的表现不佳。使用近距变焦时,细节仍然可以接受,但细节数量会随着变焦倍数变大而减少,整体分辨率也很差。变焦图像还出现了强烈的噪点和一系列伪像,包括混叠、迷宫图案和强烈的振铃效应。

一如该Vsmarts手机,Galaxy A50也不提供远摄镜头。在下面的样张中,您可以看到,该Vsmarts手机在变焦时能够从场景中挤出更多细节,噪点控制效果也比三星好一些。

Vsmart Live,中距变焦
Vsmart Live,裁剪图,细节不多,出现噪点
三星Galaxy A50,中距变焦
三星Galaxy A50,裁剪图,细节稍微更多,噪点也少了些

散景

Vsmart Live

50

Highest Score

一如与该手机价格相近的许多手机,在人像模式下拍摄的散景模拟图像在手机显示屏上观看时看起来还算可以接受,但是,放大图像会出现相当明显的分割错误,深度估计大体不佳,散景形状也不自然。从好的方面来说,背景中的点光渲染得很好,对比度也不错。

Vsmart Live,散景模式
Vsmart Live,裁剪图,深度估计错误
三星Galaxy A50,散景模式
三星Galaxy A50,裁剪图,深度估计错误
联想Z6 Pro,散景模式
联想Z6 Pro,深度估计错误和伪像

广角

Vsmart Live

27

Highest Score

Vsmart Live的超广角模块的标称等效焦距为14毫米,但我们实际测得的结果接近15毫米。尽管如此,它的超广角镜头仍然是这一价格范围内较广的之一。超广角图像的曝光度相当好,白平衡大致准确,但是捕获的细节不多,在所有情况下也都可以看到噪点。图像通常还会出现伪像,例如彩色边纹。

Vsmart Live,超广角
Vsmart Live,细节不多,出现噪点
三星Galaxy A50,超广角
三星Galaxy A50,裁剪图,细节还算可以接受,噪点不多
联想Z6 Pro,超广角
联想Z6 Pro,裁剪图,良好的细节,噪点还算可以接受

夜间摄影

Vsmart Live

38

Highest Score

即使与同类产品相比,该Vsmarts手机在夜间摄影测试基准下的表现也低于平均水平。闪光灯图像出现了一系列问题,例如,粉红色色偏、色彩渐晕、红眼效应以及被摄对象脸上的强烈噪点。

在自动闪光模式下拍摄人像时,闪光灯通常不会触发,导致被摄体曝光不足。风景照也可能明显曝光不足,细节也往往不多,还出现了明显的图像噪点。

Vsmart Live,自动闪光,被摄体曝光不足
三星Galaxy A50,自动闪光,被摄体曝光良好
联想Z6 Pro,自动闪光,被摄体曝光不足

用户可以通过强制关闭闪光灯获得更好的风景曝光,不过很暗的场景仍然曝光不足。动态范围小也导致城市夜景出现了高光位剪切,并且细节/噪点之间的平衡也没有比自动闪光模式下所拍摄的照片更好。Vsmart Live有专用的夜间模式,但是图像效果不足以赢得额外的分数。

Vsmart Live,闪光灯关闭,良好的曝光,高光位剪切
三星Galaxy A50,闪光灯关闭,良好的曝光,高光位剪切,强烈的噪点
联想Z6 Pro,闪光灯关闭,良好的曝光,噪点不多

视频评分说明

Vsmart Live的视频得分为78分,在视频中排名倒数第三。与照片分数一样,视频总体分数来自于该手机在下列测试项目中的表现与成绩:曝光(76)、色彩(88)、自动对焦(70)、纹理(46)、噪点(77)、伪像(70)、防抖(55)。

总体而言,Vsmart Live在视频模式下的表现还有很大的提升空间,因此该手机更适合那些倾向于静态摄影的用户。该手机的视频曝光成绩不高(76分),因为它的动态范围小,所以在高对比度条件下经常出现高光位剪切。在户外高光条件下和典型的室内照明下录制的视频素材也经常过度曝光。此问题不会在低光情况下发生,但是在光线非常微弱的情况下(5勒克斯以下),视频影片会曝光不足。

视频纹理锐度比较
视频时域噪点比较

总体而言,该手机的演色性大致不错,白平衡也是准确的,所以色彩是该手机的亮点之一。我们的测试人员只有在钨丝灯下才观察到强烈的橙色/黄色色偏。其不足在于,自动对焦性能相当差且非常不稳定;此外,跟踪性能不佳,在重新对焦时也会经常出现超调的情况——这些问题使得该手机难以录制可用的影片。

另外,该手机在所有光线条件下拍出的细节也不多。噪点在户外高光条件下得到很好的控制,但是在室内照明下录制时会出现一些时域噪点,这一问题在低光下尤其明显。该Vsmarts手机的视频片段还遭受了一系列伪像的影响,包括振铃效应、混叠、摩尔纹和色相偏移。最严重的是,该手机不提供任何视频防抖功能,因此任何摄像头晃动或步行运动都会在视频片段中留下明显的痕迹。(不出所料,这使得防抖得分非常低。)

VsmartLive,户外视频
三星GalaxyA50,户外行走视频

结论

在照片模式下,Vsmart Live能够在适当的条件下拍出漂亮的照片,呈现悦目的色彩,但是在几乎所有领域中都还有改进的余地。它的曝光通常太亮,自动对焦也不是最靠谱的;此外,一般而言,我们也不建议使用该Vsmarts手机在低光下拍摄。当您需要挤入更多场景时,可以使用它的超广角摄像头,但是它没有专用的远摄镜头,因此变焦最好仅在不得已的情况下使用。

尽管静止图像通常还算可以接受,但是视频在大多数测试类别中的表现都非常差。尤其是Vsmart Live的自动对焦经常不稳定,并且没有防抖功能,因此对于拍摄大量视频影片的用户而言,Vsmart Live并非首选手机。由于中端市场上还有许多价格相近的产品,因此仅凭着Vsmart Live的摄像头性能,我们很难推荐这款手机。

照片

优点

  • 高光下的细节表现不错
  • 高光下的自动对焦准确
  • 大多数条件下都有正确的白平衡
  • 在散景模式下和良好的光线下,点光渲染很自然,对比度也很好

不足

  • 高光下经常过度曝光
  • 大多数条件下的动态范围有限
  • 所有条件下均出现色彩渐晕
  • 变焦图片中的细节不自然,并且出现伪像
  • 闪光灯照片中出现粉红色色偏
  • 超广角镜头中的边缘清晰度降低,并出现彩色边纹和噪点

视频

优点

  • 噪点在室内和低光条件下均获得很好的控制
  • 高光下准确的白平衡
  • 快速的自动对焦

不足

  • 户外条件下的防抖不稳定
  • 高光和室内条件下经常曝光过度
  • 自动对焦在所有条件下都不稳定
  • 缺乏精细细节
  • 高光下出现振铃效应

Vsmart Live camera review

Reading Time: 15 min read
87
camera

The Vsmart Live is a mid-range device built primarily for the Vietnamese market. It comes with a 6.2-inch AMOLED display with FHD+ resolution and on-screen fingerprint-reader, and a 20MP front camera. A Qualcomm Snapdragon 675 chipset and up to 6GB of RAM powers Google’s Android 9 mobile OS.

The main camera on the rear of the device features three individual modules: a 48MP primary wide-angle that produces 12MP output files; an 8MP ultra-wide; and a 5MP sensor that is predominantly used for depth estimation in portrait modes. There’s also an LED flash, and the camera is capable of shooting 4K video at 30 frames per second.

Key camera specifications:

  • Triple-camera setup
  • Primary: 48MP 1/2.25″ sensor, 25mm-equivalent f/1.7-aperture lens, PDAF
  • Ultra-wide: 8MP 1/3.6″ sensor, 14.4mm-equivalent f/2.2-aperture lens, AF
  • Depth estimation: 5MP 1/5″ sensor
  • LED flash
  • 4K video, 2160p/30fps

About DXOMARK Camera tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DXOMARK engineers capture and evaluate over 1600 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DXOMARK Camera test protocol, click here. More details on how we score smartphone cameras are available here.

Test summary

87
camera
92
photo
78
video

With a DXOMARK Camera overall score of 87, the Vsmart Live occupies a position in the bottom third of our ranking, performing on a similar level as other affordable mid-rangers—for example, the Motorola One Zoom, or older flagships, like the Apple iPhone 7 Plus.

The Vsmarts Photo score of 87 points is also quite average and nowhere near the best in class, nor even the best devices in its price bracket. The camera is capable of capturing appealing images in good conditions, but there is quite some room for improvement in almost all areas. Exposure can be problematic, with frequent overexposures in bright conditions and a lack of dynamic range that results in highlight clipping. The autofocus isn’t always reliable, with some failures in our real-life tests and slow performance in our lab tests. Performance in our Night test was generally pretty poor and our testers found a range of image artifacts, including strong ringing.

In the right conditions, the Vsmart Live is capable of capturing nice images with pleasant colors.

This said, color rendering can be nice and the level of captured detail is fairly good in bright light. Noise is visible in pretty much all light conditions, though, and the zoom controls are best left alone. The lack of a dedicated zoom camera means that the Vsmart’s zoom images show low levels of detail, strong noise, and many artifacts, especially at longer zoom distances.

The camera’s ultra-wide angle camera offers quite a wide angle of view at approximately 15mm, but ultra-wide images show noise, fringing, and other artifacts. Bokeh shots in portrait mode look OK when viewed on the device’s display, but under closer inspection reveal some strong depth estimation artifacts around foreground subjects.

The ultra-wide module offers a wide field of view, but image quality has room for improvement.
The Vsmart’s low-light performance is pretty poor across all areas.

The Vsmart’s performance in video mode is somewhat worse than for stills, resulting in a fairly low Video score of 78. Video footage suffers from overexposure and a lack of dynamic range, autofocus instabilities, low levels of detail, noise, artifacts, and other imperfections. As with stills, color is pretty decent, though, with generally good color rendering and only some orange color casts under tungsten light. Lack of stabilization is another problem, however, which means you better try and keep the camera as still as possible during recording to avoid shaky video clips. Overall, there are better alternatives for mobile video shooters.

Photo scores explained

The Vsmart Live achieves a Photo score of 92 points, placing it in the bottom half of our database. The Photo score is calculated from sub-scores in tests that examine different aspects of a device’s performance for still images under different lighting conditions. In this section, we take a closer look at how these sub-scores were determined and compare image quality against some key competitors.

Exposure and Contrast

Vsmart Live

82

96

Huawei Mate 30 Pro

The Vsmart is capable of producing decent exposures in the right conditions, but our testers also observed several problems that can lead to suboptimal image results. As you can see in the sample below, dynamic range is limited, and when shot in high-contrast conditions, images often show strong highlight clipping. This is exacerbated by the Vsmart’s tendency to slightly overexpose in bright light. In low light, images are usable down to 5 lux, but are noticeably underexposed in less light.

Vsmart Live, outdoor exposure, overexposure and highlight clipping
Samsung Galaxy A50, outdoor exposure, good exposure and dynamic range
Lenovo Z6 Pro, outdoor exposure, good exposure, some highlight clipping

Color

Vsmart Live

82

89

Samsung Galaxy S10+

Like for Exposure, the Vsmart achieves only an average score for Color. Outdoor color rendering and white balance are generally accurate, but our testers did see orange color casts when shooting in indoor conditions. Color shading is noticeable in pretty much all test conditions.

Vsmart Live, outdoor color, accurate color rendering and white balance
Samsung Galaxy A50, outdoor color, good color rendering
Lenovo Z6 Pro, outdoor color, good color rendering
Vsmart Live, 1000 lux, strong color shading (greenish at the center of the frame, yellowish towards the edges)

Autofocus

Vsmart Live

82

100

Huawei Mate 30 Pro

The Vsmart Live’s autofocus system lags slightly behind the best in class. It works accurately in our lab tests, but is noticeably slower than some competitors. In the graph below, you can see that the Vsmart Live camera locked on consistently with both short and long delays after defocusing the camera, but was slower to do so than the Lenovo Z6 Pro.

In real-life shooting, our testers also observed some autofocus failures, mainly under typical indoor conditions and in low light.

Vsmart Live, low light (20 lux) autofocus performance versus competitors

Texture

Vsmart Live

68

84

Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition

Noise

Vsmart Live

66

81

Huawei Mate 30 Pro

The Vsmart Live records fairly good detail in bright outdoor conditions, especially for edge detail, but a lack of detail becomes visible under indoor lighting and in low light. There’s also room for improvement in terms of controlling image noise. In outdoor images, luminance noise is often visible in blue skies. And some chroma noise can be visible in the shadow areas of the frame.

Vsmart Live, outdoor detail and noise
Vsmart Live, crop, good detail, some coarse noise in sky
Samsung Galaxy A50, outdoor detail and noise
Samsung Galaxy A50, crop, some lack of fine detail
Lenovo Z6 Pro, outdoor detail and noise
Lenovo Z6 Pro, crop, decent detail, low noise

Noise becomes more intrusive in indoor images and low light, as you can see in the indoor samples below. You can also see how the device’s noise reduction algorithm blurs the fine detail in the pattern of the sofa.

Vsmart Live, indoor texture and noise
Vsmart Live, crop, lack of detail and chroma noise
Samsung Galaxy A50, indoor detail and noise
Samsung Galaxy A50, crop, lack of detail, low noise
Lenovo Z6 Pro, outdoor detail and noise
Lenovo Z6 Pro, excellent detail, low noise

Artifacts

Vsmart Live

61

86

Apple iPhone XS Max

With a wide range of image artifacts visible in our Vsmart Live sample images, the test device scores fairly low in this category. We deducted the most points for ringing, which tends to be most noticeable along high-contrast edges in the frame; and for lens flare, which mostly occurs with a strong light source inside or just outside of the frame.

Other artifacts our testers found include softness towards the edges of the frame, noisy edges, color fringing, and a shift towards cyan close to clipped areas in blue skies.

Vsmart Live, ringing
Vsmart Live, crop
Vsmart Live, flare
Vsmart Live, crop

Zoom

Vsmart Live

23

109

Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition

The Vsmart Live does not feature a dedicated tele-camera and therefore unsurprisingly does not do too well in the Zoom category. Detail is still acceptable using close-range zoom, but decreases with the zoom factor, and overall resolution is poor. Zoom images also show strong noise and a range of artifacts, including aliasing, maze patterns, and strong ringing.

Like the Vsmart, the Galaxy A50 does not offer a tele-lens. In the samples below, you can see that when zooming, the Vsmart device is capable of squeezing a little more detail out of the scene while controlling noise slightly better than the Samsung.

Vsmart Live, mid-range zoom
Vsmart Live, crop, low levels of detail noise
Samsung Galaxy A50, mid-range zoom
Samsung Galaxy A50, crop, slightly better detail and lower noise

Bokeh

Vsmart Live

50

75

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G

Like for many devices in its price bracket, bokeh simulation images taken in portrait mode look acceptable when viewed on the device display. However, magnifying the image reveals fairly obvious segmentation errors, generally poor depth estimation, and an unnatural bokeh shape. On the plus side, spotlights in the background are rendered nicely, with good contrast.

Vsmart Live, bokeh mode
Vsmart Live, crop, depth estimation errors
Samsung Galaxy A50, bokeh mode
Samsung Galaxy A50, crop, depth estimation errors
Lenovo Z6 Pro, bokeh mode
Lenovo Z6 Pro, depth estimation errors and artifacts

Wide

Vsmart Live

27

42

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G

The Vsmart Live’s ultra-wide-angle module offers a nominal equivalent focal length of 14mm, but measured closer to 15mm in our tests. Nonetheless, it is among the wider offerings in its price bracket. Ultra-wide images show fairly good exposure and generally accurate white balance, but the level of captured detail is low and noise is visible in all conditions. Images usually also display artifacts—for example, fringing.

Vsmart Live, ultra-wide
Vsmart Live, low levels of detail, noise
Samsung Galaxy A50, ultra-wide
Samsung Galaxy A50, crop, acceptable detail, low noise
Lenovo Z6 Pro, ultra-wide
Lenovo Z6 Pro, crop, good detail, acceptable noise

Night

Vsmart Live

38

61

Huawei Mate 30 Pro

The Vsmart’s performance under our Night test protocol is below average, even when compared to rivals in its class. Flash-on images show a range of issues—for example, pink color casts, color shading, red-eye effect, and strong noise on subjects’ faces.

When shooting in flash-auto mode, the flash often does not trigger for portraits, resulting in strong underexposure of subjects. Landscape shots can be noticeably underexposed as well, and levels of detail tend to be low, with noticeable image noise.

Vsmart Live, flash-auto, underexposed subject
Samsung Galaxy A50, flash-auto, good exposure on subject
Lenovo Z6 Pro, flash-auto, underexposed subject

Users can achieve better exposures for landscapes with the flash forced off, although very dark scenes are still underexposed. A lack of dynamic range also results in highlight clipping in night cityscapes, and the detail/noise trade-off is not any better than for flash-auto shots. The Vsmart Live comes with a dedicated Night mode, but image results are not good enough to earn any extra points.

Vsmart Live, flash-off, good exposure, highlight clipping
Samsung Galaxy A50, flash-off, good exposure, highlight clipping, strong noise
Lenovo Z6 Pro, flash-off, good exposure, low noise

Video scores explained

The Vsmart Live scores 78 points for its video performance, putting it into the bottom third of our ranking for this category. The overall Video score is derived from performance and results across a range of attributes in the same way as the Photo score: Exposure (76), Color (88), Autofocus (70), Texture (46), Noise (77), Artifacts (70), and Stabilization (55)

Overall, the Vsmart Live’s performance in video mode leaves quite some room for improvement, making the device more suited for users who tend to focus on still image capture. The Exposure low score of 76 is due to a lack of dynamic range, resulting in frequent highlight clipping in high-contrast conditions. Video footage also often shows overexposure in bright outdoor conditions and under typical indoor lighting. This problem does not occur in low light, but in very low light levels (under 5 lux), video clips tend to be underexposed.

Video texture acutance comparison
Video temporal noise comparison

Color is one of the bright points, thanks to generally good color rendering and mostly accurate white balance. Only under tungsten lighting did our testers observe a strong orange/yellowish color cast. On the downside, autofocus performance is quite poor, with many instabilities, poor tracking, and constant overshooting when refocusing—all of which make recording usable footage a challenge.

In addition, the level of recorded detail is low in all light conditions. Noise is well under control in bright outdoor conditions, but some temporal noise is visible when recording under indoor lighting, and it becomes quite intrusive in low light. The Vsmart’s video clips also suffer from a range of artifacts, including ringing, aliasing, moiré, and hue shifts. To top things off, the device does not offer any video stabilization, which means any camera shake or walking motion will be noticeable in your video clips. (Predictably, this results in a very low score for Stabilization.)

Vsmart Live, outdoor video
Samsung Galaxy A50, outdoor video

Conclusion

In photo mode, the Vsmart Live is capable of capturing nice pictures with pleasant colors in the right conditions, but there’s room for improvement in pretty much all areas. Exposure is often too bright, the autofocus isn’t the most reliable, and the Vsmart can generally not be recommended for low-light shooting. The ultra-wide camera is useful when you need to squeeze in more of the scene, but the lack of a dedicated tele-camera means that you should reserve using the zoom only for emergencies.

While still images are often acceptable, video performance is pretty poor across most test categories. Especially frequent autofocus instabilities and a lack of stabilization mean that the Vsmart Live is not the device of choice for users who shoot a lot of video clips. With many similarly-priced alternatives in the mid-range segment, it is difficult to recommend the Vsmart Live based on its camera performance.

Photo

Pros

  • Good detail in bright light
  • Accurate autofocus in bright conditions
  • Accurate white balance in most conditions
  • Natural spotlight rendering with good contrast in bokeh mode and good light

Cons

  • Frequent overexposure in bright light
  • Limited dynamic range in most conditions
  • Color shading in all conditions
  • Unnatural details and artifacts in zoom pictures
  • Pink cast in flash shots
  • Soft edges, color fringing, and noise in ultra-wide shots

Video

Pros

  • Well-controlled noise in indoor and low-light conditions
  • Accurate white balance in bright light
  • Fast autofocus

Cons

  • Stabilization instabilities in outdoor conditions
  • Frequent overexposure in bright light and under indoor conditions
  • Autofocus instabilities in all conditions
  • Lack of fine detail
  • Ringing in bright light

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.