小米8 评测:挑战顶级手机

DxOMark
Mobile
99

今天发布的小米8是中国电子巨头最新的旗舰智能手机。这一高端手机的动力由高通骁龙845芯片组提供,其摄像头硬件规格与今年早些时候推出的小米MIX 2S完全相同。

它的后置摄像头模块具有两个1200万像素摄像头,其中一个具有像素1.4微米1/2.55英寸图像传感器和f/1.8光圈广角镜头,另一个则为稍慢一点的f/2.4远摄镜头。其他功能还包括相位检测自动对焦,广角模块上的4轴光学图像防抖(OIS)以及LED闪光灯。

摄像头主要规格:

  • 双摄像头,包括广角主镜头和远摄副镜头
  • 主摄像头具有光学图像防抖
  • 相位检测自动对焦
  • 骁龙845芯片组

关于DxOMark Mobile测试:在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中,DxOMark工程师使用摄像头的默认设置来拍摄超过1500张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,然后评鉴其拍摄结果,以实现智能手机摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DxOMark Mobile评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处。有关我们如何为智能手机摄像头评分的更多细节,请参见这里

测试摘要

小米8的整体DxOMark得分为99分。与较早推出的小米MIX 2S相比,小米8在几个方面获得了一些改进,其表现与我们测试过的一些最好的智能手机摄像头平分秋色。小米8在我们的静态照片类别中的表现非常出色,拿下了105分的优异成绩。它在大多数照明条件下都能获得正确的曝光度,并能展现宽广的动态范围;在高光下也呈现宜人、丰富而鲜艳的色彩和中性的白平衡,伪像则大致获得了很好的控制。它也具有快速而正确的自动对焦,并可产生漂亮的散景,带有平滑的模糊渐变层次,高光位的形状也很规则。

但小米8还有些地方有些改进的余地,其中包括保留精细和极精细的结构性细节的能力,以及一些高对比边缘上的彩色边纹。此外,尽管它在模拟散景方面取得了一些进展,一些照片仍然有一些不自然。

小米8在视频类别中获得了88分的成绩,虽然不如静态照片那般出色,但表现仍算相当不错,其优点包括快速、正确、平滑的自动对焦,不错的拍摄对象跟踪性能、迷人的演色性和宽广的动态范围。

高光

小米8在高光下拍出了细节丰富的照片,具有正确的曝光度、大致中性的白平衡和相当鲜艳的演色性。

在户外或高光下拍摄时,小米8可拍出清晰锐利而细节丰富的图像,其表现令人印象深刻。它还可以在各种条件下拍出非常正确的曝光度,其图像的白平衡几乎是中性的,但其色彩表现则鲜艳了些。小米8的动态范围比小米MIX 2S略有改善,其表现与顶级竞争机型非常接近;其阴影和高光部分的色调范围相当宽广,并且呈现了非常丰富的细节。

其噪点水平也得到了很好的控制,特别是在蓝天等素色区域以及难处理的阴影区域更是如此。但是,小米8的降噪处理虽然未使纹理或较大的结构性细节产生任何变化,但有时却因此损失了一些较细微的细节。在色彩均匀的素色区域(例如浅色墙壁或背景里),我们也会看到一些非常细微的色彩渐晕;沿着高对比边缘也可以看到一些彩色边纹,有时甚至不需要放大检查即可观察到这些现象。

低光和闪光灯

小米8能够在室内低光下拍出曝光正确、细节丰富且色彩迷人的清晰图像。

小米8在低光下的表现相当出色,对于想在室内和更具挑战性的条件下拍出高质量图像的摄影者而言,小米8可算是一个相当坚实的选择。小米8的曝光控制直至极低光水平(5勒克斯)下仍然正确,其性能大致可靠且可重复。小米8的演色性非常类似于我们在高光下看到的色彩,其色彩表现在各种人造光源下都相当鲜艳宜人。白平衡的表现一般来说也很不错,但有时可以看到轻微的黄绿色色偏,此现象多半出现在照片背景的白色墙壁上。有时在照片中也可以看见镜头的色彩渐晕,而且画面中央明显偏绿,周边则偏紫,但都不算特别严重。

自动对焦性能仍是小米8的一大强项,即使在光线非常弱的情况下也能快速正确地进行对焦。由于小米8提供了正确的ISO、曝光时间和图像防抖性的组合,因此没有拍出任何模糊的照片,所以您可以拍出色彩和曝光度都不错的清晰照片。

变焦和散景

小米8的副摄像头配备等效56毫米的“远摄”镜头,既能实现光学变焦,亦可用于创建散景效果,使背景模糊。总体而言,小米8的测试结果与MIX 2S非常相似,如下面的样张和“照片评分说明”部分的更多详细信息所示。

照片评分说明

小米8的总体照片得分为105分,其表现与我们所见过的一些顶级手机旗鼓相当;在我们迄今为止的测试中,小米8也是静止照片类别中获得最高分的手机之一。我们在不同的照明条件下测试手机在几个方面的表现后,为每个测试子项目评分并计算总成绩,在本节中,我们将仔细探讨每项图像质量的评分。

曝光与对比度(92)

小米8的曝光表现获得了极高分数。它在我们的自然测试场景中拍出了正确的曝光效果;在实验室内相当均衡的照明条件下拍摄测试图表时,小米8的测标曝光也都非常正确。其动态范围非常接近iPhone X和谷歌Pixel 2等最佳竞争机型,如下图所示。

小米8,高对比场景
苹果iPhone X,高对比场景
谷歌Pixel 2,高对比场景

在低光下拍摄时,该摄像头也拍出了非常不错的效果,在极低光(5勒克斯)下拍摄我们的摄影棚场景时,则拍出了稍微曝光不足但仍可使用的照片。

小米8在实验室5勒克斯的低光下的拍摄结果。

色彩(86)

小米8在各种照明条件下都能获得大致中性的白平衡,因此拿下了极佳的色彩分数。它在户外拍摄时获得了色彩丰富而鲜艳的演色性,在低光下也拍出了不错的效果。在下面的比较照片中,您可以看到小米8的蓝色和绿色看起来自然逼真,白色和灰色区域也没有色偏。

小米8,演色性
苹果iPhone X,演色性
谷歌 Pixel 2,演色性

自动对焦(98)

自动对焦性能是小米8摄像头的一大亮点,创下了迄今为止我们所见过最漂亮的成绩之一。在我们的基准实验室分析中,我们在两次拍摄之间进行散焦,然后在请求对焦之前执行短时(500毫秒)或长时(2000毫秒)延迟,小米8的运行速度极快,在所有照明条件下始终可以正确地找到焦点。

对小米8进行散焦后,即使在低光(20勒克斯)下,其摄像头在长时和短时延迟后都能始终如一地实现正确对焦。

纹理(70)

在户外高光下,小米8能够拍出极为出色的细节和纹理,非常接近我们测试过的一些顶级手机;它的单色传感器也许比不上华为P20,但可以使细节保留更到位。尽管如此,比起苹果iPhone X,小米8在我们20勒克斯和1000勒克斯的静态场景中的表现仍然毫不逊色。

小米8在1000勒克斯下的裁剪图
华为P20在1000勒克斯下的裁剪图
苹果iPhone X在1000勒克斯下的裁剪图
小米8在20勒克斯下的裁剪图
华为P20在20勒克斯下的裁剪图
苹果iPhone X在20勒克斯下的裁剪图

与之前推出的小米MIX 2S相比,小米8的纹理和精细细节的表现都有所提升,特别是在低光条件下的表现更是出色。这主要是由于它使用了稍高的ISO值,因此快门速度更快,所拍出的图像也更清晰。如果仔细观察下面在20勒克斯下拍摄的照片的裁剪图,您会发现小米8在低光下保留细节的能力明显优于小米MIX 2S。在20勒克斯下,后者的裁剪图由于轻微的摄像头晃动而丢失了一些细节。

小米8在1000勒克斯下的裁剪图
小米MIX 2S在1000勒克斯下的裁剪图
小米8在20勒克斯下的裁剪图
小米MIX 2S在20勒克斯下的裁剪图

噪点(72)

小米8的摄像头在低光下的ISO值较高,因此噪点水平比小米MIX 2S略高,但整体图像看起来还算干净,质量很好。

小米8在20勒克斯下的裁剪图
小米MIX 2S在20勒克斯下的裁剪图

尽管小米8的噪点水平比MIX 2S略高,但在噪点方面仍然取得了非常好的成绩,在户外场景和较难处理的低光场景下的噪点都不多。与华为P20和苹果iPhone X等直接竞争机型相比,小米8的图像效果在100勒克斯和更低的亮度(20勒克斯)下看起来都很干净。

小米8在100勒克斯下的裁剪图
华为P20在100勒克斯下的裁剪图
苹果iPhone X在100勒克斯下的裁剪图
小米8在20勒克斯下的裁剪图
华为P20在20勒克斯下的裁剪图
苹果iPhone X在20勒克斯下的裁剪图

伪像(72)

整体来说,除了偶尔的彩色边纹之外,伪像一般而言控制得很好。在高光场景中,沿着高对比边缘通常可以观察到彩色边纹,但通常必须在仔细观察时才会真正引人注意,只不过有时候这些边纹很明显,如下面的样张所示。

闪光灯(85)

小米8的不同帧之间均获得了正确一致的曝光度,因此在闪光灯方面拿下了很高的分数。它的LED闪光灯具有不错的强度,光衰减(或暗角)和色彩渐晕都控制得很好。小米8无需额外光源也可以获得大致正确的白平衡;与钨丝灯混合时,可以看到轻微的黄色色偏,但几乎难以察觉。小米8有不错的降噪处理,因此在所有使用闪光灯拍摄的照片中,亮度和色彩噪点都不多,却仍能保留相当到位的细节。

没有任何额外光源的闪光灯照片。
5勒克斯钨丝灯照明下的闪光灯照片。

变焦(47)

小米8在变焦方面拿下了不错的分数,在户外和室内的照明条件下(100勒克斯)以2倍放大倍数进行变焦拍摄时,其表现特别不错,因为小米8在100勒克斯下可以捕捉到相当丰富的细节。与MIX 2S相比,小米8自动对焦的稳定性也得到了提升,因此对焦动作更平滑。它的恼人色彩噪点也非常少,但可观察到一些亮度噪点。放大到8倍后,其变焦性能就没那么好了,锐度和细节保留水平大幅降低是意料之中的事,但在纹理和噪点之间仍然提供了不错的折衷效果。

正如您在下面的样张中看到的,小米8在高光下的细节表现与iPhone X类似,但光线变暗时,其细节会略微减少。其拍摄结果在20勒克斯下还算可以接受,但细节损失变得更加显而易见。

小米8(1000勒克斯,2倍变焦)
苹果iPhone X(1000勒克斯,2倍变焦)
小米8(100勒克斯,2倍变焦)
苹果iPhone X(100勒克斯,2倍变焦)
小米8(20勒克斯,2倍变焦)
苹果iPhone X(20勒克斯,2倍变焦)

散景(50)

在散景模拟模式方面,小米8拿下了非常好的成绩,它可以制造出相当有效且大致逼真的背景模糊效果,被摄体前后也有平滑的渐变层次。景深估计通常是正确的,被摄体蒙版也大致正确,但在仔细检查时,有时会发现一些小错误和伪像,这主要涉及移动的物体。照片上若有渐变光环时,光环会呈现漂亮的圆形。

散景图像通常显示了不错的背景分割效果和平滑的模糊渐变层次。
在这张照片中,拍摄对象的手部周围可以看到一些蒙版错误。

视频评分说明

小米8在视频方面获得了88分的优异成绩,唯一的弱点是防抖在低光下产生了明显的偏移和噪点。我们使用以下各个视频评测项目的分数来计算总体视频成绩:曝光(81)、色彩(83)、自动对焦(96)、纹理(51)、噪点(71)、伪像(70)、光学防抖(83)。

小米8的主要视频优势是快速正确的自动对焦,它具有不错的跟踪功能,无论是在摇拍还是相对于被摄体移动时,都可持续将被摄体保持在焦点上。此外,小米还纠正了录制过程中变帧时在其他手机上可以看到的“对焦呼吸”的现象,并且可以产生大致正确的曝光和白平衡,但可以观察到一些不一致的情况。尽管如此,小米8视频中的动态范围还是相当不错,在高对比场景中最明亮和最黑暗的区域都捕捉到了细节。

其低光色彩的表现也不错,虽然它的色彩比高级竞争机型鲜艳了些,但其色彩相当漂亮,也不会太过强烈。和静态照片一样,小米8视频影片中的纹理和噪点之间获得了不错的平衡;但是细节保留的水平并不完全比得上最佳机型。

结论

小米也许不是人们寻找高端智能手机时第一个想到的品牌,不过小米8的确提供了可与顶级手机摄像头相媲美的杰出性能。小米8的摄像头能够实现非常快速而正确的自动对焦,在各种照明条件下也可以拍出出色的曝光度和绝佳的细节表现。它具有不错的动态范围和真正可用的远摄性能,并拥有优质的2倍变焦和有效的散景模拟模式。小米8在视频模式下的表现也相当坚实——这一切打造了一个极具吸引力且性价比不错的机型。

99
DxOMark mobile
Xiaomi Mi 8
105
photo
Xiaomi Mi 8
88
video
Xiaomi Mi 8

优点

  • 正确的曝光和宽广的动态范围
  • 丰富鲜艳的色彩
  • 正确(中性)的白平衡
  • 自动对焦非常快速正确
  • 噪点不多,但在最低的光照水平下除外
  • 平滑而迷人的散景模拟

优点

  • 自动对焦非常快速而正确
  • 不错的焦点跟踪
  • 宽广的动态范围
  • 鲜艳漂亮的色彩
  • 噪点水平通常不高

不足

  • 明显的彩色边纹
  • 即使在高光下也会失去一些精细细节
  • 自动对焦偶尔延迟
  • 轻微的白平衡不正确
  • 散景模式下,景深偶尔不正确

不足

  • 轻微的曝光和白平衡不正确
  • 不同的光线条件下有细节损失
  • 可察觉到帧之间的清晰度差异
  • 时间戳偶尔不正确
We are hiring!

Xiaomi Mi 8 camera review: Challenging the best

99
DxOMark Mobile

Announced today, the Xiaomi Mi 8 is the Chinese electronics giant’s latest flagship smartphone. The high-end device is powered by a Qualcomm Snapdragon 845 chipset and comes with camera hardware specifications that are identical to those of the Mi MIX 2S, launched earlier this year.

The rear-facing camera module features twin 12Mp cameras, one a wide-angle with a 1/2.55-inch size sensor, 1.4µm pixels, and an f/1.8-aperture lens, and the other a short telephoto with a slightly slower f/2.4 aperture. Other features include phase detection autofocus, 4-axis optical image stabilization (OIS) on the wide-angle module, and an LED flash.

Key camera specifications:

  • Dual-camera with wide-angle main and secondary telephoto lenses
  • OIS on the main camera
  • Phase detection autofocus
  • Snapdragon 845 chipset

About DxOMark Mobile tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DxOMark Mobile test protocol, click here. More details on how we score smartphone cameras are available here.

Test summary

With an overall DxOMark score of 99 points, the Mi 8 offers some improvements in certain areas over the earlier Mi MIX 2S model, placing it shoulder-to-shoulder with some of the best smartphone cameras we’ve tested. The Xiaomi Mi 8 is very strong in our still photography category, achieving a very high Photo score of 105, thanks to a combination of accurate exposure with an extended dynamic range in most lighting conditions, pleasingly rich and vivid color rendering with neutral white balance in bright light, and generally well-controlled artifacts. It also has fast and accurate autofocus, and produces a pleasing bokeh with smooth blur transitions and a regular shape to highlights.

Areas that could use some improvement include preservation of fine and very fine structure detail, and some fringing around high-contrast edges. And despite advances in reproducing bokeh, some of the rendering is still a little artificial-looking.

Achieving a video score of 88, the Xiaomi Mi 8 isn’t quite as strong as in stills, but it’s still a good performer. Benefits include fast, accurate, and smooth autofocus with good subject tracking, attractive color rendering, and a wide dynamic range.

Bright light

The Xaomi Mi 8 delivers detailed images in bright light, with accurate exposure, generally neutral white balance, and quite vivid color rendering.

Shooting outdoors or under bright light, the Xiaomi Mi 8 captures impressively sharp, highly detailed images. It also delivers highly accurate exposures under a wide range of conditions, and images are mostly neutral, if with somewhat vividly rendered colors. Against the company’s Mi MIX 2S, there’s been a slight improvement in the dynamic range, and the Mi 8 comes very close to the best competitors, capturing a wide tonal range along with high levels of detail in both shadows and highlights.

Noise levels are also well-controlled, particularly in areas of uniform color such as the blue sky, as well as in troublesome shadow regions. But while texture or coarser structure detail remains intact, the Mi 8’s noise reduction sometimes leads to a loss of finer details. We also saw some very slight color shading at times in areas of uniform color, such as light-colored walls or backgrounds, and there’s some fringing visible along high-contrast edges, sometimes without needing to zoom in to check.

Low light and Flash

The Xiaomi Mi 8 is capable of capturing sharp images with accurate exposure, good levels of detail, and attractive color in low-light conditions and indoors.

The Xiaomi Mi 8 is a good performer in low-light levels, making it a solid choice for photographers who want decent-quality images indoors and under more challenging conditions. Exposure control is accurate and generally reliable, and repeatable down to extreme low light levels (5 lux). Color rendering is much like what we saw in bright light, with vivid yet pleasant-looking colors under various artificial light sources. White balance is also generally good; however, a slight yellow-green cast is visible on occasion, mostly occurring on white painted walls captured in the background. Lens color shading is sometimes visible as well, with a green cast noticeable in the center of the frame and a purple cast at the periphery. However, none of these are particularly concerning.

Autofocus performance remains a strong point — fast and accurate even in very low light, with images that are blur-free, thanks to a combination of good ISO, exposure time, and image stabilization, so you can be sure of sharp, well-exposed shots with decent color.

Zoom and Bokeh

The Xiaomi Mi 8’s longer, 56mm-equivalent “tele” lens on the secondary camera module enables optical zooming and is also used to create the background blurring bokeh effect. Overall, the results are very similar to the Mi MIX 2S’s, as you will see from the samples and further details in the “Photo scores explained” section below.

Photo scores explained

With a total photo score of 105 points, the Xiaomi Mi 8 ranks alongside some of the best devices we’ve seen and achieves one of the highest scores for stills in our testing to date. The overall Photo score is calculated from sub-scores in tests that examine different aspects of its performance under different lighting conditions. In this section, we’ll take a closer look at these image quality sub-scores.

Exposure and Contrast (92)

A very high score for exposure and contrast, thanks to accurate results in our natural test scenes and consistently accurate target exposures of our test charts when shooting under well-balanced lighting conditions in the lab. Dynamic range is very close to the best competitors, such as the iPhone X and the Google Pixel 2, as you can see in the samples below.

Xiaomi Mi 8, high-contrast scene
Apple iPhone X, high-contrast scene
Google Pixel 2, high-contrast scene

The camera also achieves more than acceptable results in low light, recording a slightly underexposed but usable image when shooting our studio scene at a very low light level (5 lux).

Xiaomi Mi 8 low-light exposure in the lab at 5 lux.

Color (86)

The Xiaomi Mi 8 achieves an excellent score for color, thanks to generally neutral white balance in a wide range of lighting conditions. It has rich and vivid color rendering in outdoor shots, and good results in low light as well. In the comparison shot below, you can see that the Mi 8 renders colors with natural or realistic-looking blues and greens as well as neutral white and grey areas.

Xiaomi Mi 8, color rendering
Apple iPhone X, color rendering
Google Pixel 2, color rendering

Autofocus (98)

Autofocus performance on the Xiaomi Mi 8 is a highlight, with the camera achieving one of the best scores we’ve seen to date. In our benchmark lab analysis, during which we defocus the lens between shots and and then wait either a short (500ms) or long (2000ms) delay before requesting focus, the Xiaomi Mi 8 was fast in operation, finding focus consistently and accurately in all lighting conditions.

After defocusing the device, the Xiaomi Mi 8 found focus consistently and accurately after both long and short delays, even in low light (20 lux).

Texture (70)

The Xiaomi Mi 8 captures excellent detail and texture outdoors in bright light, coming very close to some of the best devices we’ve tested — though perhaps not quite a match for the Huawei P20, with its monochrome sensor aiding detail preservation. Still, the Mi 8 continues to perform well against the Apple iPhone X in our static scenes at 20 lux and 1000 Lux.

Xiaomi Mi 8 crop at 1000 lux
Huawei P20 crop at 1000 lux
Apple iPhone X crop at 1000 lux
Xiaomi Mi 8 crop at 20 lux
Huawei P20 crop at 20 lux
Apple iPhone X crop at 20 lux

Against the earlier Mi MIX 2S, Xiaomi has improved texture and fine detail rendition, particularly in low light. This is mainly due the use of slightly higher ISO values that result in faster shutter speeds and sharper images. If you look closely at the crops below taken at 20 lux, you’ll see that the Mi 8 is noticeably better at preserving fine detail in low light than the Mi MIX 2S. Some fine detail is lost in the latter’s 20 lux crop below due to slight camera shake.

Xiaomi Mi 8 crop at 1000 lux
Xiaomi Mi MIX 2S crop at 1000 lux
Xiaomi Mi 8 crop at 20 lux
Xiaomi Mi MIX 2S crop at 20 lux

Noise (72)

The downside to the camera’s higher ISO choice in low light is slightly increased noise levels when compared to the Mi MIX 2S, but overall images still look clean and the quality is good.

Xiaomi Mi 8 crop at 20 lux
Xiaomi Mi MIX 2S crop at 20 lux

Despite the slightly higher noise levels than the Mi MIX 2S, the Mi 8 still achieves a very good score for noise, with low levels in outdoor scenes and in more challenging low-light scenes. Against direct competitors such as the Huawei P20 and the Apple iPhone X, the Mi 8’s image results look clean at both 100 lux and at even lower light levels (20 lux).

Xiaomi Mi 8 crop at 100 lux
Huawei P20 crop at 100 lux
Apple iPhone X crop at 100 lux
Xiaomi Mi 8 crop at 20 lux
Huawei P20 crop at 20 lux
Apple iPhone X crop at 20 lux

Artifacts (72)

Artifacts are in general very well-controlled overall, with the exception perhaps of occasional colored fringing. This is usually visible along high-contrast edges in bright scenes, and generally is only really noticeable when looking closely — but sometimes it’s quite obvious, as you can see in the sample below.

Flash (85)

A good score for flash, thanks to accurate and consistent exposure from frame to frame. For a LED unit, the flash has good intensity and excellent attenuation or well-controlled corner and color shading. White balance is mostly accurate without additional light sources; however, a slight yellow color cast is visible when mixed with tungsten, even if it’s barely noticeable. Both luminance and chromatic noise are low in all flash pictures, again due to the good noise reduction, which nonetheless also retains good levels of fine detail.

Flash exposure without any additional light sources.
Flash exposure with 5 lux tungsten illumination.

Zoom (47)

This is a good score for zoom, which is especially capable at 2x magnification in both outdoor and indoor lighting conditions (100 lux). Indeed, the Xiaomi Mi 8 captures quite high levels of detail at 100 lux. Compared to the Mi MIX 2S, Xiaomi has also improved autofocus stability, with much smoother focus action. Troublesome color noise is very low, but some luminance noise is visible. Naturally, the zoom performance isn’t as good as you zoom through to x8 magnification, with the expected drop-off in sharpness and detail preservation, but the Xiaomi Mi 8 still offers a good compromise between texture and noise.

As you can see in the samples below, the Xiaomi Mi 8’s detail rendition is similar to the iPhone X’s in bright light, but drops off slightly as the light gets dimmer. At 20 lux, results remain acceptable, but the loss of detail becomes more obvious.

Xiaomi Mi 8 (1000 lux, 2x zoom)
Apple iPhone X (1000 lux, 2x zoom)
Xiaomi Mi 8 (100 lux, 2x zoom)
Apple iPhone X (100 lux, 2x zoom)
Xiaomi Mi 8 (20 lux, 2x zoom)
Apple iPhone X (20 lux, 2x zoom)

Bokeh (50)

A very fine score for the bokeh simulation mode, which renders a quite effective and mostly realistic-looking background blur, with smooth transitions in front of and behind the subject. Depth estimation is usually accurate, with mostly accurate subject masking. However, some small errors and artifacts, mostly involving moving objects, are sometimes noticeable on close inspection. It gives a good circular shape to spectral highlights, when included.

Bokeh images generally show good background segmentation and smooth blur transitions.
Some masking errors are visible around the subject’s hand in this shot.

Video scores explained

The Xiaomi Mi 8 achieves a very good Video score of 88 points, with the only weak points being the stabilization that generates a noticeable drift, and noise in low light. We calculate the overall video score using the following video sub-scores: Exposure (81), Color (83), Autofocus (96), Texture (51), Noise (71), Artifacts (70), and Stabilization (83).

The Mi 8’s main video strengths are autofocus, which is fast accurate and offers good tracking capabilities. It has good tracking capabilities that ensure that subjects remain in focus, whether you’re panning or moving relative to your subject. In addition, the Xiaomi corrects for the distracting “focus breathing” that we see on some other devices when the framing is changed during recording. The Mi 8 also produces typically accurate exposures and white balance, though some irregularities were visible. Nevertheless, dynamic range in videos is good, with the Mi 8 capturing good levels of detail in the brightest and darkest regions of high-contrast scenes.

Color is also good in low light, capturing slightly more vivid color compared to premium rivals, though the result is pleasant and not too overpowering. As with stills, the Mi 8 offers a good balance between texture and noise in video clips; however, detail preservation isn’t quite at the level of its best rivals.

Conclusion

Xiaomi might not be the first name to think of when looking for a high-end smartphone, but the Mi 8 offers camera performance that is up there with the best. The Mi 8 camera is capable of super-fast and accurate autofocus, along with excellent exposures and detail rendition under a wide range of lighting conditions. It has good dynamic range and a genuinely usable telephoto option with good quality 2x magnification, as well as an effective simulated bokeh mode. The Mi 8 is also a solid performer in video mode — all of which, when put together, make for a highly attractive package and a good value proposition.

99
DxOMark mobile
Xiaomi Mi 8
105
DxOMark Mobile
photo
88
DxOMark Mobile
video

Pros

  • Accurate exposure and wide dynamic range
  • Colors are rich and vivid
  • Accurate (neutral) white balance
  • Very fast and accurate autofocus
  • Low noise, except in the lowest of light levels
  • Smooth and attractive bokeh simulation

Pros

  • Super-fast and accurate autofocus
  • Good focus tracking
  • Wide dynamic range
  • Vivid and pleasant-looking color
  • Generally low levels of noise

Cons

  • Visible color fringing
  • Some loss of fine details, even in bright light
  • Occasional autofocus delay
  • Slight white balance inaccuracies
  • Occasional depth inaccuracies in bokeh mode

Cons

  • Slight exposure and white balance inaccuracies
  • Loss of detail in various lighting conditions
  • Visible differences in sharpness between frames
  • Occasionally inaccurate time stamp
  • Xiaomi Says they got 98 in Videos but here it’s 88 con

    • BOBBYBOB BOBO

      I’m watching the release presentation, and it did not mention the video scores. You might misread

    • pink Fungi

      Yeah I also saw the live stream they didn’t mention video score just the total of 99 and 105 photo

  • Martin Jeřábek

    I wait on test LG G7!!! 4K HDR, and OIS and super-lowlight mod and more, Only LG best dual camera with wide.

  • arnonymous

    any talk of slowmotion video?

  • Mahdi_138014

    Compare With P20

  • Toad wppo

    and so the photo score has beat the s9 plus?

We are hiring!