小米MIX 3前置摄像头评测

Reading Time: 0 min read
84
selfie

中国智能手机制造商小米在2018年第四季度推出了一款新旗舰手机MIX 3,非常注重摄像头性能,并在我们的DxOMark Mobile的后置摄像头测试中获得了优异的成绩。其前置摄像头提供滑盖式双摄像头配置和操作,对于自拍爱好者来说,其技术规格看起来也同样令人印象深刻。该摄像头内置两个图像传感器:一个1/2.8英寸2400万像素高分辨率主图像传感器,用于捕获图像;第二个200万像素图像传感器仅用于深度感应,理论上应该会改善人像模式下的散景照片。

小米采用6.39英寸超窄边框大型显示屏,将前置摄像头配置隐藏在屏幕后面的一个装置中,可以通过向下滑动屏幕激活,以解决引起分歧的“凹口”问题。除了自动激活摄像头应用程序外,您还可以使用该系统接听电话并呼出其他功能,不过,该功能也确实增加了手机的厚度和重量。

其他前置摄像头特点包括一个f/2.2镜头、“自拍补光灯”、HDR、30fps 1080p全高清视频。我们的工程师已准备好大动拇指,将小米MIX 3放在我们新的DxOMark前置摄像头测试基准的严格要求下仔细盘查。现在我们可以在这一完整评测中与您分享该摄像头的得分、照片和分析结果。

前置摄像头的主要规格:

  • 双图像传感器前置摄像头
  • 2400万像素1/2.8英寸主图像传感器,0.9微米像素
  • 200万像素辅助图像传感器,用于深度感应
  • f/2.2镜头
  • 机械式滑盖设计
  • 自拍补光灯
  • 1080p@30fps视频

关于DxOMark Selfie测试:DxOMark工程师使用前置摄像头的默认设置,在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中拍摄超过1500张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,之后评鉴其拍摄结果,以实现智能手机前置摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DxOMark Selfie评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处

测试摘要

84
selfie
83
photo
85
video

小米MIX 3拥有一些优势(其中包括前置摄像头不常见的硬件),在我们的测试中表现出色:它的闪光灯和散景照片都非常杰出,基本功夫也做得很不错:可以在大多数测试条件下提供准确的测标曝光,赋予脸部不错的亮度,在低光下也能获得非常可用的效果。在我们的测试中,MIX 3的色彩效果也真的非常好,与我们迄今测试过的最佳手机相差无几。

小米MIX 3可在所有光线条件下为脸部提供良好的曝光,位于近距离上的拍摄对象的色彩大致不错,细节也很到位。

细节也很丰富,特别是在室内和户外照明条件下在近距离上拍摄的静态被摄体上。演色性通常也还算可以接受,但是白平衡稍微不一致,在户外条件下有轻微的黄色/绿色色偏,而且当白平衡准确时,色彩有些抢眼。

用于深度感应的图像传感器可产生出色的散景照片与准确的被摄体蒙版。
室内曝光不错,细节丰富,噪点水平也还算可以接受。
“自拍补光灯”拍出了我们在前置摄像头上看到的最好的闪光灯自拍照。

然而,它的测试结果并不完美:诸如动态范围、景深、低光下的白平衡和去噪等都是该手机必须改进的重要地方。噪点是该手机有待改进的重要领域:在所有条件下都可以看到一些亮度和色度噪点,就连在高光下也可以在面部和背景中看到噪点。定焦镜头可在近距离上获得不错的清晰度,并在低光下避开任何对焦不规则的问题,但窄小的景深意味着距离摄像头较远的拍摄对象以及背景通常都会失焦。有限的动态范围也意味着,在高光和对比鲜明的条件下拍摄时,天空和背景经常会曝光过度,但MIX 3可以避免脸部出现任何明显的溢光剪贴纹理,这对于自拍摄影者来说非常重要。

MIX 3的视频表现有许多与静止图像相同的优点和缺点:测标曝光通常是准确的;脸部的亮度不错;在室内和低光下的测试结果都还算可以接受;鲜艳的演色性,除了极低光以外,在其他条件下均可获得准确的白平衡;近距离的对焦表现很好。防抖可以起到作用,但比不上一流手机。

照片评分说明

我们在不同的照明条件下测试了小米MIX 3的前置双摄像头在几个方面的表现,并计算照片的每项成绩,小米MIX 3最后拿下了83分的总成绩。在本节中,我们将仔细探讨每个测试项目的图像质量的评分,并分析其与旗舰机型之间的差异。

曝光与对比度

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3

74

在我们实验室的基准测试期间,MIX 3在所有照明条件下都为面部提供了准确的测标曝光。对比度在所有条件下也相当不错;虽然图像在1勒克斯几近黑暗的条件下曝光不足,但在低至5勒克斯的极低光下拍摄的图像比较明亮,也比较可以使用。在20勒克斯下拍出的照片很明亮,完全可以使用。

小米MIX 3,测标曝光

拍摄棘手的高对比度场景时,MIX 3的动态范围有限:该摄像头通常会在我们的户外自然测试场景中为人脸提供准确的曝光,但背景通常过度曝光。

小米MIX 3,动态范围有限
小米MIX 3,良好的面部曝光
小米MIX 3,低光下的曝光表现(20勒克斯)

色彩

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3

77

MIX 3的演色性在室内和户外照明条件下都很好,特别是当白平衡准确时更是如此,但低光图像的饱和度有待改进。在户外拍摄时,白平衡通常还算可以接受,但有时会出现黄色/绿色色偏,从而影响整体演色性。

小米MIX 3,色彩分析

MIX 3的肤色演色通常很自然,也没有我们在某些手机上看到的明显过度饱和的粉红色,但其白平衡色偏对脸部产生了一些影响,有时户外和室内图片看起来有点偏黄或偏绿。(但通常在可接受的范围内。)在某些特定的低光条件下,例如当拍摄对象位于纯色背景前时,白平衡可能会完全失灵,导致肤色变得非常黄,但是您不太可能经常遇到这些异常棘手的测试情况。MIX 3上的色彩渐晕也非常好,在户外或室内图像中,画面中心和边缘之间都没有色调偏移。

小米MIX 3,不错的白平衡
小米MIX 3,略微偏绿的肤色
小米MIX 3,略微偏黄的肤色

对焦(42)

MIX 3的定焦镜头针对近距拍摄进行了优化,在距离摄像头30厘米处的脸部上可以获得最佳清晰度,如果您想要在背景中摄入其他人或景象,在55厘米摄距上的拍摄结果也还算可以接受。定焦镜头也可以在低光下避开任何对焦不规则的问题,但是由于它的景深小,距离摄像头55厘米以上的被摄体会很快变得模糊。

小米MIX 3,对焦表现

您可以在55厘米处拍摄的自然测试场景中看到这一问题:虽然左图中的脸部对焦还算可以接受,但是景深小意味着背景会变得非常模糊。同样的问题也发生于55厘米处拍摄的集体自拍照,其中只有第一个人的脸部对焦正确。

小米MIX 3,55厘米上的对焦
小米MIX 3,裁剪图
小米MIX 3,集体自拍照
小米MIX 3,裁剪图

细节(59)

在静态场景中,靠近摄像头且对焦正确的被摄体的细节非常丰富,高光(1000勒克斯)下所得的锐度分数超过70%,在室内光照条件下(100勒克斯)则超过60%。在较低光下的静态场景中,纹理仍然相当不错,极低光(5勒克斯)下的锐度约为45%,但最精细的面部细节(如睫毛)可能会消失。然而,MIX 3在室内和低光条件下的曝光时间相当长,因此难以拍出清晰的运动图像,在5勒克斯下所得的锐度分数不高,仅略高于20%。

小米MIX 3,锐度测量

您可以在近距离照片中看到MIX 3设法在户外高光下保留一些更精细的面部细节,例如睫毛(左)。在非常低的光线下(20勒克斯),静态被摄体(右)的细节仍然可以接受,但是那些更精细的细节却开始消失了。

小米MIX 3,高光
小米MIX 3,裁剪图
小米MIX 3,低光
小米MIX 3,裁剪图

噪点

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3

73

噪点是MIX 3有待改进的项目之一,因为在所有照明条件下都看得到噪点,即使在户外极高光条件下,面部和背景也出现了很多明显的噪点。在室内和低光条件下,视觉噪点却略微变少。

小米MIX 3,噪点测量

在室内条件下(300勒克斯),脸部和背景都会出现噪点。在低光(100勒克斯)测试照片中,我们的仿真人体模型脸上的噪点略有改善,但是背景中仍然有噪点,但并不比300勒克斯的结果差。

小米MIX 3,100勒克斯
小米MIX 3,裁剪图

伪像

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3

76

显而易见的图像质量缺陷(即伪像)是我们扣分的原因,MIX 3因为彩色边纹和耀斑而被扣了一些分数。耀斑在某些逆光环境中可能非常强烈,特别是在远距上使用广角镜头拍摄自拍照时更是如此。一些其他问题在一些图像中也显而易见,例如天空中或强烈定向照明下的面部上轻微的色调偏移,以及一些轻微的色彩量化和重影。如果MIX 3拥有更好的HDR功能,也许可以改善图像质量,但总体而言,它在减少伪像方面表现不错。

该手机的面部渲染算法存在一些小问题,但它在这方面的表现不错,并且应用了精微而悦目的平滑化水平。MIX 3也把面部渲染的色调曲线处理得相当好,脸部不会出现任何显着或特别不自然的色调偏移,反观一些其他手机却在这里被扣了很多分数。

小米MIX 3,耀斑
小米MIX 3,天空中的色调偏移

闪光灯

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3

81

MIX 3的“自拍补光灯”与镜头并排于滑盖中,为前置摄像头提供了非常好的闪光灯系统,在仅使用闪光灯和使用混合光源拍摄时,都可以拍出出色的效果。曝光、纹理、演色性和白平衡在这两种情况下的表现都很好,而且连续多次拍摄时也可以获得一致的结果,因此您可以确信每次都可以获得相同的优质照片。使用闪光灯作为唯一的光源时,图像中可以观察到一些晕影,角落中也有相当强烈的噪点堆积,所以MIX 3被扣了一点分数。即便如此,其结果与我们测试过的一些最好的前置摄像头的闪光灯系统相当;画面中心的曝光和噪点仍然很好;白平衡仍然准确。

小米MIX 3,0勒克斯下的闪光灯图像
三星Galaxy S9 Plus,0勒克斯下的闪光灯图像

MIX 3的闪光灯与额外的照明(5勒克斯)混合时,图像中的晕影和噪点都大大变少了,因此得分略高。脸上的曝光仍然不错;白平衡和演色性都很准确,面部有丰富的细节。

小米MIX 3,5勒克斯下的闪光灯图像
三星Galaxy S9 Plus,5勒克斯下的闪光灯图像

散景

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3

70

MIX 3内置一个200万像素辅助图像传感器,仅用于深度感应,可以在人像模式下生成非常好的散景照片。它的深度估计非常好,可以获得不错的被摄体隔离,并在人像周围生成准确的蒙版,即使被摄体后面突出的复杂背景往往会混淆这些系统,它的表现还是不错。散景渲染效果也很好,较平滑的背景区域被施加了一致的噪点水平,所以看起来不会太突兀。

小米MIX 3,散景模式
小米MIX 3,裁剪图
华为P20 Pro,散景模式
华为P20 Pro,裁剪图
小米MIX 3,散景模式中的模糊渐变
Huawei P20 Pro,散景模式中的模糊渐变

视频评分说明

小米MIX 3的前置摄像头在视频方面拿下更好的85分,使其成为多媒体创意方面的全能型摄像头。我们使用以下各个视频评测项目的分数来计算总体视频成绩:曝光(62)、色彩(83)、对焦(61)、纹理(70)、噪点(79)、伪像(87)、防抖(76)。

小米MIX 3,视频曝光

录制视频时,MIX 3可以在所有照明条件下获得准确的测标曝光,赋予脸部合宜的亮度,但在5勒克斯和1勒克斯的极低光环境中并非如此。然而,视频中的动态范围还是相当有限,虽然面部通常获得准确的曝光,但是在棘手的高对比度条件下拍摄图像时,面部和过度曝光的背景中都可能出现一些溢光剪贴纹理。对移动的人脸进行测试时,我们也观察到一些曝光不稳定的问题,MIX 3的曝光调整并不能持续赋予被摄体良好的曝光(参见下面采样影片的末尾)。

小米MIX 3,户外视频

演色性在所有照明条件下也都很不错;白平衡在室内和户外照明条件下特别好,在低光视频中有少量色偏。色彩均匀性也是如此,它在室内和户外的表现都不错,但是在低光视频中,画面中心和边缘之间的微小色彩差异开始变得明显。

小米MIX 3,色彩分析

一如静止图像,定焦镜头可以在近距离上拍出清晰的人脸,因此进行视频通话时,最好把脸放在30厘米左右的地方,用脸填满画面,这样您就可以获得不错的面部细节。但是有限的景深也意味着,在30-55厘米最佳摄距范围以外的背景或面部会明显失焦。

MIX 3视频的防抖非常有效,可以很好地防止影片抖动,但仍然可以看到一些移动痕迹,如下面的示例影片所示。

小米MIX 3,户外边走边录制的视频

结论

对于手机摄影而言,过去几年非常振奋人心,因为制造商为后置摄像头开发了多个图像传感器和镜头配置,并将硬件与先进的信号处理相结合,以便最大限度地增加成像可能性。小米是最先将这种方法应用于前置摄像头的制造商之一,其优势显而易见:MIX 3内置自拍补光灯和用于深度感应的第二图像传感器,因此可以提供出色的闪光灯图像和散景效果;诸如面部曝光、色彩和细节等其他属性也令人印象深刻;此外,MIX 3的肤色通常不错,因此在我们的前置摄像头图像质量数据库中名列前茅。当然,它还有些方面有待改善,尤其是对焦范围和景深都太小;去噪和动态范围也应该再更好些,但考虑到它已经有许多优点,录制视频时的表现也很不错,小米MIX 3显然是自拍爱好者的坚实选择。

照片优点

  • 出色的散景,准确的深度估计
  • 室内和低光下的噪点控制得当
  • 纹理与噪点之间取得很好的妥协方案
  • 良好的闪光灯曝光

视频优点

  • 所有照明条件下,噪点不多
  • 白平衡准确时,演色性很好
  • 在30厘米摄距上可保留完好的细节
  • 有效的防抖系统

照片不足

  • 动态范围有限
  • 定焦镜头的对焦范围小
  • 景深浅

视频不足

  • 动态范围有限,面部出现剪贴纹理
  • 移动的人脸的曝光不稳定
  • 景深浅

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3 front camera review

Reading Time: 15 min read
84
selfie

Unveiling a new flagship device in the fourth quarter of 2018, Chinese smartphone manufacturer Xiaomi put great emphasis on camera performance, with its Mi MIX 3 achieving an excellent rear-camera score in our DxOMark Mobile tests. For selfie enthusiasts, the specs of the front-facing camera look no less impressive, offering a dual-camera setup with a mechanical pop-up design and operation. The two sensors combine a high-resolution 24Mp,1/2.8-inch primary sensor for capturing images with a second 2Mp sensor used solely for depth sensing, which in theory should improve bokeh shots in Portrait mode.

Featuring a large 6.39-inch display with thin bezels, Xiaomi has gotten around the divisive “notch” issue by hiding the front camera setup behind the screen in a unit that you activate by sliding the screen down. In addition to automatically activating the camera app, you can use the system for answering calls and for other functions; however, the feature does increase the thickness and weight of the phone a little.

Other front camera features include a f/2.2 aperture lens, a “selfie light” for flash, HDR, and Full HD 1080p video at 30fps. Sliding thumbs at the ready, our engineers put the Xiaomi Mi MIX 3 through the rigors of our new DxOMark front camera protocol, and we can now share the scores, pictures, and analysis in our full review.

Key front camera specifications:

  • Dual-sensor front-facing camera
  • 24Mp 1/2.8-inch primary sensor with 0.9µm pixels
  • 2Mp depth-sensing secondary sensor
  • f/2.2 lens
  • Mechanical pop-up design
  • Selfie light
  • 1080p@30fps video

About DxOMark Selfie tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone front camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DxOMark Selfie test protocol, click here. 

Test summary

84
selfie
83
photo
85
video

Boasting some good strengths, including hardware not often seen on front-facing cameras, the Xiaomi Mi MIX 3 put in a strong showing during our tests. Flash and bokeh pictures are excellent, and it does the basics well, too, with accurate target exposures ensuring good brightness on faces in most test conditions, along with very usable results in low light. Our color results for the Mi MIX 3 are very good as well, and close to the best devices we have tested so far.

The Xiaomi Mi MIX 3 captures nice exposure on faces in all lighting conditions, with mostly good color and good detail with the subject at close range.

Detail preservation is also high, especially on static subjects shot at close range under indoor and outdoor lighting conditions. Color rendering is generally acceptable, too, and although white balance is a little inconsistent, with a slight yellow/green cast in outdoor conditions, the color pops a little more when white balance is accurate.

The depth-sensing sensor ensures excellent bokeh shots with accurate subject masking.
Good exposures indoors have high levels of detail preservation and acceptable levels of noise.
The “selfie light” delivers some of the best flash selfies we’ve seen from a front camera.

Results aren’t perfect, however, and the main opportunities for development revolve around improving dynamic range, depth of field, white balance in low light, and denoising. Noise is a significant area for improvement, with some luminance and chromatic noise visible in all conditions, including in bright light, where it’s noticeable both on faces and in backgrounds. The fixed-focus lens ensures good sharpness at close range, and avoids any focusing irregularities in low light, but the narrow depth of field means that subjects farther away from the camera, as well as backgrounds generally, are out of focus. The limited dynamic range means that skies and backgrounds are often overexposed when shooting in bright and contrasty conditions, but the Mi MIX 3 avoids any significant highlight clipping on faces, which is important for a selfie shooter.

The Mi MIX 3’s video performance shares many of the same strengths and weaknesses as with stills: target exposures are generally accurate, with good brightness on the face and acceptable results under indoor and low light; color rendering is bold, with accurate white balance except in extreme low light; and again, focus is good at close range. Stabilization is efficient but not quite up with the best in class.

Photo scores explained

The Xiaomi Mi MIX 3’s front dual camera achieves a total photo score of 83, which is calculated from its scores in tests that examine different aspects of its performance under different lighting conditions. In this section we’ll take a closer look at these image quality sub-scores, with some analysis versus the flagship competition.

Exposure and Contrast

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3

74

85

Huawei Mate 30 Pro

The Mi MIX 3 delivered accurate target exposures on faces in all lighting conditions during our benchmark lab tests. Contrast was also fairly good in all conditions; and although images in near-dark conditions of just 1 lux are underexposed, images captured in very low light down to 5 lux are brighter and much more usable. At 20 lux, pictures are bright and perfectly fine to use.

The Xiaomi Mi MIX 3, target exposure

When shooting tricky high-contrast scenes, the Mi MIX 3’s dynamic range is limited—the camera generally delivered accurate exposure on faces in our natural outdoor test scenes, but often overexposed backgrounds.

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3, limited dynamic range
Xiaomi Mi MIX 3, good face exposure
Xiaomi Mi MIX 3, low-light exposure (20 lux)

Color

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3

77

93

Asus ZenFone 6

Color rendering on the Mi MIX 3 is good under indoor and outdoor lighting conditions, particularly when white balance is accurate, but saturation could be improved in low-light images. Shooting outdoors, white balance is generally acceptable, but a yellow/greenish color cast is sometimes noticeable, which affects the overall color rendering.

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3, color analysis

Skin tone rendering is usually natural and the Mi MIX 3 avoids the significantly oversaturated pinks that we have seen on some devices, but its white balance casts have an impact on faces, which sometimes end up looking just a bit yellow or green in outdoor and indoor images. (It’s usually within acceptable limits, though.) In some specific low-light conditions, such as when there is a solid-colored background dominating the subject, white balance can be totally off, resulting in very yellow skin tones, but these are unusually challenging test conditions that you’re unlikely to encounter often. Color shading is very good on the Mi MIX 3, with no hue shifts between the center and edges of the image in either outdoor or indoor images.

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3, good white balance
Xiaomi Mi MIX 3, slight greenish cast on skin tones
Xiaomi Mi MIX 3, slightly yellow skin tones

Focus

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3

42

90

Sony Xperia 1

The Mi MIX 3’s fixed-focus lens is optimized for close-range photography, achieving the best sharpness on faces at 30cm from the camera, with acceptable results at 55cm, when you want to include another person or a feature in the background. The fixed-focus lens avoids any focusing irregularities in low-light conditions, too, but depth of field is limited, so sharpness drops off quickly on subjects that are more than 55cm away from the camera.

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3, focus performance

You can see the issue in natural test scenes shot at 55cm. While focus on the face in the left image is acceptable, the limited depth of field means the background is very out of focus. The same issue applies to a group selfie shot at 55cm, in which only the first face is in good focus.

Xiaomi Mi Mix 3, focus at 55cm
Xiaomi Mi Mix 3, crop
Xiaomi Mi Mix 3, group selfie
Xiaomi Mi Mix 3, crop

Texture

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3

59

77

Google Pixel 3

On those subjects close to the camera where focus is good, detail preservation is high for static scenes, with recorded acutance scores of over 70% in bright light (1000 lux) and over 60% under indoor lighting conditions (100 lux). Texture remains pretty good on static scenes under lower light conditions, too, with acutance of around 45% in extreme low light (5 lux), but expect the finest facial details (such as eyelashes) to disappear. Fairly long exposure times under indoor and low-light conditions make it pretty challenging for the Mi MIX 3 to capture sharp images of motion, however, with low acutance scores of just over 20% recorded at 5 lux.

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3, acutance measurements

You can see in close-range shots that the Mi MIX 3 manages to preserve some finer facial details such as eyelashes in bright outdoor lighting conditions (left). In very low light (20 lux), detail remains acceptable on static subjects (right), but those finer details start to get lost.

Xiaomi Mi Mix 3, bright light
Xiaomi Mi Mix 3, crop
Xiaomi Mi Mix 3, low light
Xiaomi Mi Mix 3, crop

Noise

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3

73

86

Asus ZenFone 6

Noise is one of the main opportunities for development on the Mi MIX 3, as it is visible in all lighting conditions. Even in very bright outdoor conditions, the amount of visible noise is quite high both on faces and in the background. Visual noise actually decreases a little under indoor and low-light conditions.

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3, noise measurements

Under indoor conditions (300 lux), noise is visible on both the face and in the background. Noise is actually slightly improved on the face of our realistic mannequin in the test shot below at lower light (100 lux)—that is, it’s still visible in the background, but it’s no worse than results at 300 lux.

Xiaomi Mi Mix 3, 100 lux
Xiaomi Mi Mix 3, crop

Artifacts

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3

76

85

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G

We deduct points for obvious image quality flaws, or artifacts, in images, and applied penalties to the Mi MIX 3 for color fringing and flare. In certain backlit environments, the flare can be quite strong, particularly when capturing a wide-angle selfie with the subject at long range from the camera. Some other issues, such as a slight hue shift in the sky or on faces with strong directional lighting, are evident in a few images, as well some minor color quantization and ghosting. Better HDR capabilities could improve image quality, but overall, the Mi MIX 3 does a good job at minimizing artifacts.

There are some small issues with the face-rendering algorithms, but again, the device does well here and applies a subtle and pleasant level of smoothing. It also handles the tone curve pretty well for face rendering, and the Mi MIX 3 doesn’t display any significant or particularly unnatural-looking hue shifts on the face—an area in which some other devices have lost many points.

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3, flare
Xiaomi Mi MIX 3, hue shift in the sky

Flash

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3

81

91

Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G

The Mi MIX 3’s “selfie light,” housed alongside the lens setup in the pop-up unit, provides a very good flash system for the front-facing camera, with both flash-only and mixed-lighting shots delivering excellent results. Exposure, texture, color rendering, and white balance are good in both conditions, and results are consistent over multiple exposures, so you can expect the same good shots each time. Using flash as the only light source, some vignetting is noticeable, accompanied by a fairly strong buildup of noise in the corners, both of which reduced the score a little. Even so, results are on par with some of the best front-facing camera flash systems we’ve tested; exposure and noise in the center of the frame remain good; and white balance remains accurate.

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3,  flash at 0 lux
Samsung S9 Plus, flash at 0 lux

The Mi MIX3 scored slightly higher for flash mixed with additional lighting (5 lux), thanks to significantly less vignetting and lower levels of noise. Exposure on the face is again good; white balance and color rendering are accurate, with high levels of detail preservation in the face.

Xiaomi Mi MIX3, flash at 5 lux
Samsung S9 Plus, flash at 5 lux

Bokeh

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3

70

Highest Score

Packing in that second 2Mp sensor solely for depth sensing ensures very good bokeh shots using the Mi MIX 3’s Portrait mode. Its depth estimation is very good, ensuring nice subject isolation and accurate masking around the portrait, even with complex backgrounds sticking out from behind the subject that can often confuse such systems. Rendering is also good, with consistent levels of noise applied to the smoother background areas so that they don’t look out of place.

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3, bokeh mode
Xiaomi Mi Mix 3, crop
Huawei P20 Pro, bokeh mode
Huawei P20 Pro, crop
Xiaomi Mi MIX 3, blur gradient in bokeh mode
Huawei P20 Pro, blur gradient in bokeh mode

Video scores explained

The Xiaomi Mi MIX 3 front camera achieves an improved score of 85 points for video, making it a good device for selfie videographers. We calculate the overall video score using the following video sub-scores: Exposure (62), Color (83), Focus (61), Texture (70), Noise (79), Artifacts (87), and Stabilization (76).

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3, video exposure

Shooting video, the Mi MIX 3 exposes targets accurately in all lighting conditions, achieving good brightness on faces except in extreme low-light environments of 5 and 1 lux. Dynamic range in videos is again limited, however, and although faces are often accurately exposed, expect to see some highlight clipping on faces and overexposed backgrounds when capturing images in tricky high-contrast conditions. We also observed some exposure instabilities during our tests with moving faces, in which the Mi MIX 3’s exposure adaptation doesn’t quite keep the subject well-exposed (see the end of the sample clip below).

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3, outdoor video

Color rendering is also decent in all lighting conditions, and white balance is particularly good under indoor and outdoor lighting conditions, with a few color casts creeping in low-light videos. The same applies to color uniformity, which is good indoors and outdoors, but slight differences in color between the center and edges of the frame start to become noticeable in low-light videos.

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3, color analysis

As with stills, the fixed-focus lens ensures good sharpness on faces at close range, so it’s best to fill the frame and shoot your video calls at around 30cm. Doing so ensures that facial details are nicely preserved, but again, that limited depth of field means that backgrounds or faces that are beyond the optimal 30-55cm distance range are noticeably out of focus.

Stabilization on Mi MIX 3 video is pretty efficient—the system works well at stabilizing your footage, but some movement is still visible, as you can see in the sample clip below.

Xiaomi Mi MIX 3, video outdoor walking

Conclusion

The last couple of years have been exciting for mobile photography, as manufacturers have developed multiple sensors and lenses for their rear cameras, and combined that hardware with advanced signal processing to maximize imaging possibilities. Xiaomi is one of the first to apply this approach to the front camera, and the benefits are clear, with the Mi MIX 3 delivering excellent results for flash and bokeh, thanks to the built-in selfie light and depth-sensing second sensor. Other attributes such as face exposure, color, and detail are also impressive, and thanks to generally good skin tone rendering, the Mi MIX 3 ranks high in our database of front camera image quality. There are things it can improve, of course, most notably the fact that both focus and depth of field are too limited. Denoising and dynamic range could be better as well, but given its many pluses, along with good results when shooting video, it’s clear that the Xiaomi Mi MIX 3 is a solid choice for the selfie enthusiast.

Photo Pros

  • Excellent bokeh with precise depth estimation
  • Well-controlled noise indoors and in low light
  • Nice texture-versus-noise compromise
  • Good flash exposures

Video Pros

  • Low noise in all lighting conditions
  • Nice color rendering when white balance is accurate
  • Well-preserved detail at 30cm distances
  • Effective stabilization system

Photo Cons

  • Limited dynamic range
  • Fixed-focus lens with short range
  • Narrow depth of field

Video Cons

  • Limited dynamic range with face clipping
  • Exposure instabilities with moving faces
  • Narrow depth of field

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.