红米 K20 Pro 摄像头评测

102
camera

K20 Pro是中国制造商小米的平价智能手机——红米系列中的旗舰机型。纵观红米K20 Pro的产品说明书,它的确包含了真正旗舰产品的大多数重要规格,包括6.39英寸FHD+ AMOLED显示屏、高通骁龙855芯片和电动弹出式自拍摄像头——而且其价格比大多数竞争品牌的同类产品低得多。

其主摄像头搭载三镜头配置,主模块中带有4800万像素Quad-Bayer传感器,800万像素远摄模块带有等效53毫米镜头,以及1300万像素超广角镜头。根据规格表的信息,其超广角镜头提供了12毫米的视场(但在我们测得的视场略窄,仅15毫米)。

主要摄像头规格:

  • 三摄像头设置
  • 主摄像头:4800万像素1/2英寸Quad-Bayer传感器(1200万像素输出分辨率),等效26毫米f/1.75光圈镜头,相位检测(PDAF)激光自动对焦
  • 远摄镜头:800万像素1/4英寸传感器,等效53毫米f/2.4镜头,激光自动对焦
  • 超广角镜头:1300万像素1/3英寸传感器,等效12毫米(默认设置15毫米并启用失真校正),f/2.4镜头
  • 双LED闪光灯
  • 2160P/60fps视频(默认设置1080p/30fps)

请注意:我们所测试的手机在其机体和包装上的标记为红米K20 Pro,但是,在安卓设置和摄像头的EXIF数据中,手机名称都为小米9T Pro,因此表明两部手机是相同的。 

关于DXOMARK Camera测试DXOMARK工程师使用前置摄像头的默认设置,在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中拍摄超过1600张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,之后评鉴其拍摄结果,以便实现智能手机前置摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DXOMARK Mobile评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处。有关我们如何为智能手机摄像头评分的更多细节,请参见此处

测试摘要

102
camera
108
photo
89
video

红米K20 Pro在DXOMARK Camera评测中的总体得分为102分,并未进入本排名的前十名,但以该手机的价格而言,这样的成绩很值得称许。该手机在照片类别下的所有测试项目中都有相当坚实的表现,没有明显的缺点,因此拿下了108分。在大多数情况下,该摄像头拍出的图像曝光度通常不错,也在纹理/噪点之间取得良好的平衡。但是,在某些情况下,有限的动态范围和明显的色偏会略微抵消整体图像的积极效果。

K20 Pro的户外图像展现了良好的曝光效果和大致赏心悦目的演色性。

在大多数情况下,K20 Pro通常可始终如一地拍出准确的测标曝光。在低光条件下拍摄时,在20勒克斯下仍能保有良好的曝光效果,但在非常暗的5勒克斯下,图像会明显曝光不足。该手机在曝光方面的主要局限在于动态范围。在极难处理的高对比度场景中(例如下图),K20 Pro图像里的溢光和阴影剪切纹理比许多竟品(包括小米9旗舰产品在内)更多。

红米K20 Pro,高对比度场景,强烈的溢光和阴影剪切纹理
小米9,高对比度场景,少许溢光和阴影剪切纹理,阴影细节到位
苹果iPhone XS Max,高对比度场景,非常平衡的曝光

在户外高光条件以及室内中,该手机的演色性通常都很好,但是偶尔会出现粉红色偏,尤其是在户外拍摄时;在低光下拍摄时,图像饱和度可能会略微不足。我们的测试人员还在所有照明条件下观察到色彩渐晕,画面的一个或多个角落处显示出淡淡的粉红色,但是这在大多数情况下都不是很明显。

红米K20 Pro,户外色彩,粉红色偏
荣耀20 Pro,户外色彩,演色性略带暖色
苹果iPhone XS Max,户外色彩,演色性稍微偏冷

K20 Pro的自动对焦系统在各种条件下的表现都很好。让摄像头散焦后,在短时和长时延迟后,它在所有光线条件下都可以快速准确地锁定焦点。但是在室内条件下出现了一些对焦失败和不稳定的问题,从而稍微拉低了自动对焦分数。

谷歌Pixel

在细节和噪点方面,K20 Pro在两者之间达到了很好的平衡,但是在这两个方面都还有改进的空间。图像的细节到位,但显然被过度清晰化了,从而出现了许多伪像(例如混叠和振铃效应),有时纹理也勾勒得不太自然(例如在植被上)。

红米K20 Pro,户外细节
红米K20 Pro,裁剪图,细节到位但过度清晰化
小米9,户外细节
小米9,裁剪图,细节到位,较温和的清晰化

在光线较暗的场景中,图像噪点通常控制得非常好,在这种情况下该摄像头也仍然可以设法保有细节。但是,在高对比度图像的阴影区域中,噪点可能会非常明显。例如,在下面的样张中,桥下存在相当强烈的亮度噪点。小米9和iPhone在此场景中对于噪点的控制都比红米更好。

红米K20 Pro,户外噪点
红米K20 Pro,裁剪图,阴影区域的噪点
小米9,户外噪点
小米9,裁剪图,阴影区域的噪点控制得当
苹果iPhone XS Max,户外噪点
苹果iPhone XS Max,裁剪图,阴影区域的噪点控制得当

红米图像中出现了许多伪像,从而拉低了它的伪像得分。振铃效应和混叠伪像已经在上面提及,此外,红米在图像上应用了强烈的清晰化处理,因此产生了非常明显的摩尔纹效应,如下面的样张所示。我们的测试人员还在整个画面的某些低对比度纹理中观察到细节丢失的问题。

红米K20 Pro,摩尔纹效应
红米K20 Pro,砖楼上出现了很强烈的摩尔纹效应

在低光下拍摄时,K20 Pro可以很好地控制噪点,在我们新的夜间测试项目中的总体表现还不错。在自动闪光模式下拍摄人像时,如果拍摄对象没有被光源照亮,闪光灯通常会触发。正如您在下面的样张中看到的那样,这会在被摄体上留下相当到位的细节,但其表现比不上荣耀20 Pro。

红米K20 Pro,自动闪光
红米K20 Pro,裁剪图,不错的细节
小米9,自动闪光
小米9,裁剪图,细节丢失
荣耀20 Pro,自动闪光
荣耀20 Pro,裁剪图,精彩的细节

闪光灯未触发时,背景中会显示更多细节,同时该摄像头也会在噪点/细节之间保持很好的平衡。

红米K20 Pro,自动闪光
红米K20 Pro,裁剪图,噪点不多
小米9,自动闪光
小米9,裁剪图,一些亮度噪点
苹果iPhone XS Max,自动闪光
苹果iPhone XS Max,裁剪图,强烈的亮度噪点

关闭闪光灯后,测标曝光可能会略低,但细节保留效果仍然非常好,演色性依旧宜人。K20 Pro带有夜间模式,但测试人员发现它在低光下的表现并没有比标准模式更好。在夜间模式下拍摄人像时,拍摄对象通常会强烈曝光不足,但在风景照中,其差异并不明显,因此不值得使用。

K20 Pro的变焦性能属于一般水平。K20 Pro摄像头的远摄模块配备了比小米9更小、分辨率更低的传感器,因此大大减少了它在2倍短距变焦上所拍出的细节。iPhone XS Max也比红米勾勒出更好的纹理。

红米K20 Pro,短距变焦
红米K20 Pro,裁剪图,细节丢失
小米9,短距变焦
小米9,裁剪图,不错的细节
苹果iPhone XS Max,短距变焦
苹果iPhone XS Max,裁剪图,不错的细节

变焦图像里也出现了相当强烈的振铃效应和一些噪点。我们的测试人员还在一系列变焦照片中观察到纹理勾勒不稳定的问题,随着变焦系数增加,细节的损失和噪点都变得更加明显。

红米的超广角摄像头也还有一些改进的余地。小米宣称该摄像头具有12毫米等效焦距,但我们实际测得的焦距为15毫米,细究其因,该镜头也许覆盖了12毫米的视角,但在拍摄后会略微裁剪图像以减少畸变、角落清晰度降低和其他伪像问题。不过,K20 Pro的超广角视场比16毫米的小米9或荣耀20 Pro略宽。

红米K20 Pro,超广角,15毫米
小米9,超广角,16毫米
荣耀20 Pro,超广角,16毫米

尽管该摄像头对畸变和变形(靠近画面边缘的脸部变形)进行了一些校正,但这些问题仍然比本次比较中的手机更加严重;此外,我们还在一些超广角图像中观察到相当强烈的色像差。从好的方面来说,该超广角摄像头通常可以提供良好的色彩和曝光度,但是有时图像饱和度可能会不足或缺乏动态范围。

红米K20 Pro能够在散景模式下拍出不错的效果。被摄体隔离度相当好,前景被摄体周围只有很少的错误,模拟散景的形状也漂亮,渐变层次相当宜人;美中不足的是,前景被摄体上的噪点比大多数竟品更明显。此外,在散景模式下没有HDR处理,因此在高对比度场景中拍摄散景图像时,可能会出现相当强烈的溢光剪切纹理。

红米K20 Pro,散景模式
红米K20 Pro,裁剪图,强烈的噪点,缺乏动态范围
小米9,散景模式
小米9,裁剪图,噪点不多,缺乏动态范围
苹果iPhone XS Max,散景模式
苹果iPhone XS Max,裁剪图,少许噪点,宽广的动态范围

在视频模式下,K20 Pro以每秒30帧的速度录制1080p视频。K20 ProB的整体视频得分为89分,其表现与某些稍旧的旗舰产品(如iPhone X和小米8)的水平相当,但比不上目前最好的机型。测标曝光通常很好,但是在动态范围方面,我们看到与静止图像相同的问题:在录制棘手的高对比度场景时,出现了很强烈的溢光和阴影剪切纹理。在室内拍摄时,场景改变也可能导致明显的曝光步进痕迹。

在户外录制时,演色性通常很好,但是我们的测试人员在典型室内照明下观察到白平衡色偏和不稳定的问题。细节是K20 Pro视频最弱的环节之一,在所有光照级别上几乎都会丢失所有细腻纹理。从好的方面来说,降噪在所有光线条件下都可以发挥很好的作用,提供了清晰的画面。

视频纹理比较。在所有光照水平下,K20 Pro的细节水平均低于竟品。
视觉噪点比较。K20 Pro在所有光线条件下都能很好地控制噪点。

我们的测试人员在检查样本视频影片时,也观察到许多伪像。摇拍时,在垂直线上可观察到抖动效应;视频中也有一些振铃效应;我们还在手持摄像头拍摄静态场景时看到了运动纹理伪像。之前,我们也在其他手机上看到这种相当不寻常的效果:在这些手机上,纹理区域似乎与周围环境略微分开而自个儿移动着。

自动对焦系统在视频模式下的总体表现良好,具有良好的跟踪和可重复性,以及快速的适应性,只有在室内照明下,我们才会偶尔观察到自动对焦的呼吸效应。但是,视频防抖系统仍有一些改进的余地,因为它不能有效地抵消边走边拍或静止手持摄像头拍摄时的影响。摇拍时,垂直线上的抖动效应也相当明显。

红米K20 Pro户外边走边拍视频

结论

红米K20 Pro在DXOMARK测试中拿下了102分,无法挤入本排名的前几名,但是鉴于这款手机的价格还不到众多竞争品牌的旗舰产品的一半,这样的结果仍然值得称许。它的焦距范围涵盖了超广角到2倍远摄的焦距,在大多数情况下都能够拍出不错的静止图像和视频。红米在某些方面(例如,动态范围、白平衡和视频细节)仍有改进的空间,但是从摄影的角度来看,它的确是一款物有所值的手机,值得任何预算不多的手机摄影者仔细考虑。

照片优点

  • 准确且可重复的测标曝光
  • 散景模式下产生不错的被摄体隔离
  • 噪点在低光下和夜间摄影中得到了很好的控制
  • 超广角摄像头可以很好地控制畸变

视频优点

  • 在明亮的日光下可呈现良好的演色性
  • 所有条件下的噪点都不多
  • 自动对焦响应敏捷而可重复

照片不足

  • 动态范围有限
  • 所有条件下都可以看到一些色彩渐晕
  • 连续进行变焦拍摄时,偶尔会出现不一致的纹理勾勒
  • 在散景模式下,被摄体和背景的噪点水平明显不同

视频不足

  • 动态范围有限
  • 室内的白平衡偶尔不稳定
  • 所有条件下缺乏细节
  • 抖动效应
  • 在室内偶尔会出现对焦不稳定的问题

Videos

Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro camera review

Reading Time: 15 min read
102
camera

The K20 Pro is the flagship model in Chinese manufacturer Xiaomi’s budget-friendly Redmi line of smartphones. And looking at the Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro’s product sheet, it indeed comes with most of the headline specs of a true flagship, including a 6.39-inch FHD+ AMOLED display, a Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 chipset, and a motorized popup selfie camera—and all this at a significantly lower price point than comparable models from most competitors.

The main camera uses a triple-lens setup with a 48Mp Quad-Bayer sensor in the primary module, an 8Mp tele-module with a 53mm-equivalent focal length lens, and a 13Mp ultra-wide lens that according to the spec sheet, provides a 12mm field of view (but which in our measurements comes out as a slightly more narrow 15mm).

Key camera specifications:

  • Triple-camera setup
  • Primary: 48Mp 1/2″ Quad-Bayer sensor (12Mp output resolution), 26mm-equivalent f/1.75-aperture lens, PDAF and laser AF
  • Tele: 8Mp 1/4″ sensor, 53mm-equivalent f/2.4-aperture lens, laser AF
  • Ultra-wide: 13Mp 1/3″ sensor, 12mm (15mm with distortion correction which is enabled by default)  f/2.4-aperture lens
  • Dual-LED flash
  • 2160p at 60fps video (1080p at 30fps at default settings)

Please note: Our test device is labeled as a Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro on the device body and packaging. However, in both the Android settings and in the camera EXIF data, the device name is listed as Xiaomi Mi 9T Pro, thus indicating that both phones are identical. 

About DXOMARK Camera tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DXOMARK engineers capture and evaluate over 1600 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DXOMARK Camera test protocol, click here. More details on how we score smartphone cameras are available here.

Test summary

102
camera
108
photo
89
video

With an overall DXOMARK Camera score of 102, the Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro does not make it into the top ten of our ranking, but achieves a respectable score for a device in its price bracket. The Photo score of 108 is based on a solid performance across all test categories, without any glaring weaknesses. In general, the camera is capable of producing images with good exposure and a good texture/noise balance in most situations. However, limited dynamic range and visible color casts in some conditions slightly negate the overall positive picture.

K20 Pro outdoor images show good exposure and generally pleasant color rendering.

The K20 Pro usually delivers consistently accurate target exposure in most situations. When shooting in low-light conditions exposure, is still good at 20 lux but underexposure becomes quite noticeable in very dim light at 5 lux. The device’s main limitation in terms of exposure is dynamic range, though. In very challenging high-contrast scenes, such as the one below, K20 Pro images show more highlight and shadow clipping than many competitors, including Xiaomi’s own Mi 9 flagship.

Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro, high-contrast scene, strong highlight and shadow clipping
Xiaomi Mi 9, high-contrast scene, some highlight clipping, good shadow detail
Apple iPhone XS Max, high-contrast scene, well-balanced exposure

The device’s color rendering is generally good in bright outdoor conditions as well as indoors. However, occasionally a pink color cast is quite noticeable, especially in outdoor shots, and images can be slightly undersaturated when shooting in low light. Our testers also observed color shading in all lighting conditions, with one or more corners of the frame showing a slight pink tint. However, the latter is not very noticeable in most instances.

Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro, outdoor color, pink color cast
Honor 20 Pro, outdoor color, slightly warm color rendering
Apple iPhone XS Max, outdoor color, slightly cool color rendering

The K20 Pro’s autofocus system performs well in all conditions. It locks on quickly and accurately in all light conditions, after both short and long delays after unfocusing the camera. This said, some failures and instabilities in indoor conditions caused a slight reduction of the Autofocus score.

Autofocus comparison in low light (20 lux)

In terms of detail and noise, the K20 Pro strikes a good balance, but there is room for improvement in both areas. Images show good detail but are noticeably oversharpened, resulting in a number of artifacts, including aliasing and ringing, and sometimes unnatural texture rendering—on vegetation, for example.

Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro, outdoor detail
Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro, crop, good detail but oversharpening
Xiaomi Mi 9, outdoor detail
Xiaomi Mi 9, crop, good detail, less sharpening

Image noise is generally very well controlled in low-light scenes, where the camera still manages to maintain decent detail as well. Noise can be quite visible in shadow areas of high-contrast images, however—for example, there is fairly strong luminance noise on the underside of the bridge in the samples below. Both the Mi 9 and the iPhone control it better in this scene than the Redmi.

Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro, outdoor noise
Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro, crop, noise in shadow areas
Xiaomi Mi 9, outdoor noise
Xiaomi Mi 9, crop, noise well-controlled in shadow areas
Apple iPhone XS Max, outdoor noise
Apple iPhone XS Max, crop, noise well-controlled in shadow areas

A number of image artifacts reduce the Redmi’s Artifacts score. We’ve already mentioned ringing and aliasing above; the strong sharpening the Redmi applies to its images can also result in a very noticeable moiré effect, as you can see in the sample below. Our testers also observed a loss of detail across the frame in some low-contrast textures.

Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro, moiré effect
Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro, very strong moiré on the brick building

When shooting in low light, the K20 Pro controls noise very well and overall does fairly well in our new Night test category. When shooting in flash-auto, mode the flash usually triggers for portrait shots when the subject is not illuminated by a light source. This results in fairly good detail on the subject, as you can see in the samples below, but not quite at the same level as the Honor 20 Pro.

Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro, flash-auto
Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro, crop, decent detail
Xiaomi Mi 9, flash-auto
Xiaomi Mi 9, crop, loss of detail
Honor 20 Pro, flash-auto
Honor 20 Pro, crop, excellent detail

When flash does not trigger, more detail is visible in the background and the camera maintains a pretty good noise/detail balance.

Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro, flash-auto
Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro, crop, low levels of noise
Xiaomi Mi 9, flash-auto
Xiaomi Mi 9, crop, some luminance noise
Apple iPhone XS Max, flash-auto
Apple iPhone XS Max, crop, strong luminance noise

With the flash switched off, target exposure can be slightly low, but detail retention is pretty good and color rendering remains pleasant. The K20 Pro comes with a Night mode, but out testers did not find it to be an improvement over standard mode in low light. Night mode images often showed strong underexposures on portrait subjects, and in landscape shots, the difference was not significant enough to make it worthwhile.

The K20 Pro delivers an average zoom performance. The camera’s tele-module comes with a smaller and lower-resolution sensor than the Mi 9, so the K20 Pro results show a drop-off in detail at a short-range 2x zoom-distance. The iPhone XS Max also renders better textures than the Redmi.

Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro, short-range zoom
Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro, crop, loss of detail
Xiaomi Mi 9, short-range zoom
Xiaomi Mi 9, crop, decent detail
Apple iPhone XS Max, short-range zoom
Apple iPhone XS Max, crop, decent detail

Zoom images also show fairly strong ringing as well as some noise. Our testers also observed instabilities in terms of texture rendering across a series of zoom shots. Loss of detail and noise both become more noticeable as the zoom factor increases.

The Redmi’s ultra-wide camera leaves some room for improvement as well. The lens covers a 12mm-equivalent field of view but at default settings distortion correction is enabled which slightly crops the image in order to reduce distortion, corner softness, and other artifacts. This means means the effective field of view is 15mm. Still, the K20 Pro’s ultra-wide is very slightly wider than the Mi 9 or the Honor 20 Pro at 16mm.

Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro, ultra-wide, 15mm
Xiaomi Mi 9, ultra-wide, 16mm
Honor 20 Pro, ultra-wide, 16mm

Despite some correction, distortion and anamorphosis (deformation of faces close to the edge of the frame) are still stronger than on the comparison devices, and we also observed pretty strong chromatic aberrations in some ultra-wide images. On the plus side, the ultra-wide camera delivers generally good color and exposure; this said, sometimes images can be undersaturated or show a lack of dynamic range.

The Redmi K20 Pro is capable of achieving decent results in bokeh mode. Subject isolation is fairly good, with only minor inacurracies around the foreground subject, and the simulated bokeh effect comes with a nice shape and pleasant gradient. On the downside, noise on the foreground subject is noticeably more intrusive than for most competitors. In addition, no HDR processing is available in bokeh mode, meaning that you are likely going to see some fairly strong highlight clipping when capturing bokeh images in high-contrast scenes.

Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro, bokeh mode
Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro, crop, strong noise, lack of dynamic range
Xiaomi Mi 9, bokeh mode
Xiaomi Mi 9, crop, low noise, lack of dynamic range
Apple iPhone XS Max, bokeh mode
Apple iPhone XS Max, crop, some noise, wide dynamic range

In video mode, the K20 Pro records 1080p video at 30 frames per second by default. At an overall Video score of 89, performance is on the level of some slightly older flagships, such as the iPhone X and the Xiaomi Mi 8, but not quite up with the very best current models. Target exposure is generally good, but we saw the same dynamic range issues as for still images, with quite strong highlight and shadow clipping when recording challenging high-contrast scenes. When filming indoors, a change of scene can also result in noticeable exposure stepping.

Color rendering is generally good in outdoor recording, but our testers observed white balance casts and instabilities under typical indoor lighting. Detail is one of the K20 Pro’s weakest points for video, with almost all fine textures lost across all light levels. On the plus side, noise reduction is pretty efficient in all light conditions, providing clean footage.

Video texture comparison. The K20 Pro delivers lower levels of detail than the competition at all light levels.
Video noise comparison. The K20 Pro controls noise very well in all light conditions.

Our testers also observed a number of artifacts when examining our sample video clips. A jitter effect is visible on vertical lines during panning; there is some ringing; and we also saw moving texture artifacts on handheld static scenes. This last is a fairly unusual effect that we have previously seen on other devices—one where textured areas appear to be moving slightly independently from their surroundings.

The autofocus system performs overall well in video mode, with good tracking and repeatability as well as fast adaptation. Only in indoor lighting did we observe some occasional AF breathing. The video stabilization system leaves some room for improvement, though, as it’s not too efficient in counteracting either walking motion or hand-shake when holding the camera still. There is also a fairly noticeable jello effect on vertical lines when panning.

Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro, outdoor video walking

Conclusion

The Xiaomi Redmi K20 Pro’s DXOMARK score of 102 doesn’t get the device a top position in our ranking, but it is still a respectable result for a phone that is less than half the price of many flagships from the competition. It covers focal lengths from ultra-wide to 2x telephoto and is capable of recording decent still images and video in most situations. There is room for improvement in some areas—for example, dynamic range, white balance and video detail—but from a photography point of view, the Redmi is a great value for the money overall and worth a close look from any mobile photographer on a limited budget.

Photo pros

  • Accurate and repeatable target exposure
  • Good subject isolation in bokeh mode
  • Well-controlled noise in low light and night shots
  • Well-controlled distortion with ultra-wide camera

Video pros

  • Good color rendering in bright daylight
  • Low noise levels in all conditions
  • Responsive and repeatable autofocus

Photo cons

  • Limited dynamic range
  • Some color shading in all conditions
  • Occasionally inconsistent texture rendering across consecutive zoom shots
  • Noticeably different noise levels on subject and background in bokeh mode

Video cons

  • Limited dynamic range
  • Occasionally unstable white balance indoors
  • Lack of detail in all conditions
  • Jello effect
  • Occasional focus instabilities indoors

Videos

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.