红米 Note 8 Pro 摄像头评测

84
camera

红米Note 8 Pro是中国制造商小米的平价红米手机系列的最新旗舰机型,具有6.53英寸IPS FHD+大型显示屏和玻璃机壳。Android 9操作系统由联发科Helio G90T芯片组驱动,采用八核CPU设计。

后置摄像头有四个独立模块:6400万像素广角主摄像头搭配800万像素超广角镜头(13毫米等效焦距)和200万像素专用深度传感器。该红米手机未搭载远摄摄像头,但提供一颗专用的200万像素微距摄像头(DXOMARK Camera测试基准未涵盖该摄像头的测试)。

在视频模式下,该摄像头以高达每秒30帧的速度录制4K视频。继续阅读本文,以了解这款中端摄像头如何与竞品较量。

摄像头主要规格:

  • 四摄像头
  • 主摄像头:6400万像素1/1.7英寸传感器,f/1.9镜头,等效焦距26毫米,相位检测自动对焦(PDAF
  • 超广角镜头:800万像素传感器,等效13毫米,f/2.2镜头
  • 200万像素微距摄像头
  • 200万像素深度传感器
  • LED闪光灯
  • 2160p/30fps视频

关于DXOMARK Camera测试DXOMARK工程师使用摄像头的默认设置,在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中拍摄超过1600张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,之后评鉴其拍摄结果,以实现智能手机摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DXOMARK Camera评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处。有关我们如何为智能手机摄像头评分的详情,请参见此处

测试摘要

84
camera
87
photo
78
video

红米Note 8 Pro在DXOMARK Camera测试中取得84分,在本排行榜中排名于后半部分,次于诸如摩托罗拉Moto One变焦版和三星Galaxy A50等其他平价机型,其得分与游戏机型黑鲨2相同。

该手机的曝光在户外条件下表现得不错,但是在天空的明亮部分可以看到一些高光位剪切和色相偏移。

在静止图像模式下,该手机在自动对焦测试中的表现相对较好,在散景模式下提供了良好的被摄体隔离,在低环境光照下使用闪光灯时也可以提供良好的测标曝光,因此获得87分的照片成绩。但是,我们的测试人员也发现该红米手机有几个地方还需要改进:尽管该手机具有高分辨率传感器,但图像仍缺乏精细细节,在典型的室内条件下拍摄时会加剧这种情况。

红米Note 8 Pro, night scene
红米Note 8 Pro,裁剪图,曝光良好,动态范围小,有噪点

该手机的动态范围也不大,在棘手的高对比度情况下拍摄时,会产生非常明显的高光位剪切。此外,靠近剪切区域的地方(例如在蓝天中)也可以看到色相偏移。红米Note 8 Pro没有搭载专用的远摄摄像头,因此变焦照片缺少细节。超广角镜头的视场不错,但是一如主摄像头,其图像动态范围不大,细节也不多。

红米Note 8 Pro,远距变焦
红米Note 8 Pro,裁剪图,缺乏细节,出现振铃效应

红米Note 8在视频方面的得分为78分,在我们排行榜中排名靠后。在户外或在典型的室内条件下录制时,视频影片通常可以呈现良好的测标曝光。色彩在高光下很鲜艳,通常也很漂亮;电子视频防抖功能可以有效地抵消静止握持手机录制时的摄像头抖动。

然而,与静态照片一样,该红米手机的视频影片也存在一系列问题:在变化的光照条件下,我们的测试人员观察到白平衡和曝光不稳定以及明显的步进痕迹。此外,一如静止图像,视频的动态范围不大,在明亮的高对比度场景中会出现明显的高光位剪切。尽管该摄像头的分辨率为4K,但细节仍然很少,在所有光照条件下都可以看到噪点。

结论

观察红米Note 8的分数和样张,这款小米手机的摄像头显然无法与当前同类产品中的佼佼者平起平坐,在照片和视频模式下也都有许多需要改进的地方。但是这款红米是一款预算型手机,其价格远低于当前高端智能手机。考虑到这一点,它的表现毕竟也还算不错,如果您愿意接受它的缺点,那么红米Note 8 Pro可以让您在预算内享有许多智能手机摄影功能。

照片

优点

  • 自动对焦在良好的光线下快速而准确
  • 低光下和夜间的曝光不错
  • 闪光灯下的测标曝光不错
  • 散景模式下产生不错的被摄体隔离

不足

  • 动态范围有限,出现溢光剪切
  • 变焦照片中缺乏细节,并出现了一些伪像
  • 色相偏移、振铃效应和角落清晰度降低等伪像
  • 室内照片缺乏精细细节
  • 缺乏细节,动态范围小
  • 自动对焦响应慢

视频

优点

  • 静态场景中的防抖表现不错
  • 在高光和室内条件下均能获得良好的测标曝光
  • 户外视频的色彩很漂亮

不足

  • 动态范围有限
  • 室内和户外视频的曝光振荡
  • 在所有条件下都会出现噪点
  • 室内影片的白平衡偏橙色
  • 自动对焦跟踪在低光下出现问题

Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro camera review

Reading Time: 5 min read
84
camera

The Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro is the latest flagship model in the Chinese manufacturer’s affordable Redmi line of devices, and features a large 6.53-inch IPS display with FHD+ resolution and a glass-covered back. The Android 9 operating system is powered by a Mediatek Helio G90T chipset with octa-core CPU.

The rear camera comes with four separate modules. A 64MP primary wide-angle camera is accompanied by an 8MP ultra-wide with a 13mm-equivalent focal length and a 2MP dedicated depth sensor. There is no tele-camera, but the Redmi offers a 2MP dedicated macro camera (not covered by our DXOMARK Camera test protocol).

In video mode, the camera is capable of recording 4K footage at 30 frames per second. Read on to find out how the camera of this mid-ranger stacks up against the competition.

Key camera specifications:

  • Quad-camera
  • Primary: 64MP 1/1.7-inch sensor with 26mm-equivalent f/1.9-aperture lens, PDAF
  • Ultra-wide: 8MP sensor with 13mm-equivalent f/2.2-aperture lens
  • 2MP macro camera
  • 2MP depth sensor
  • LED flash
  • 2160p/30fps video

About DXOMARK Camera tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DXOMARK engineers capture and evaluate over 1600 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DXOMARK Camera test protocol, click here. More details on how we score smartphone cameras are available here.

Test summary

84
camera
87
photo
78
video

With a DXOMARK Camera score of 84, the Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro occupies a spot in the bottom half of our ranking, just below such other affordable models as the Motorola Moto One Zoom and the Samsung Galaxy A50, and matches the score of the gaming-oriented Black Shark 2.

Exposure is good in outdoor conditions, but some highlight clipping and hue shifts are visible in bright parts of the sky.

Its performance in still image mode earns it a Photo score of 87. The score is based on a relatively good performance in our autofocus tests, good subject isolation in bokeh mode, as well as good target exposure when using the flash at low ambient light levels. However, our testers also found several areas for improvement on the Redmi. Despite the high-resolution sensor, images show a lack of fine detail, which is exacerbated when shooting under typical indoor conditions.

Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro, night scene
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro, crop, good exposure but limited dynamic range and noise

Dynamic range is also limited, which results in very noticeable clipping of highlights when shooting in difficult high-contrast situations. In addition, hue shifts can be seen close to clipped areas—in blue skies, for example. The Redmi Note 8 Pro doesn’t come with a dedicated tele-camera; as a result, zoom shots lack detail. The ultra-wide covers a good field of view, but like the primary camera, its images lack dynamic range and levels of detail are low, too.

Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro, long-range zoom
Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro, crop, lack of detail and ringing

The Redmi Note 8 scores 78 for Video, which is at the lower end in our ranking. Video footage usually shows good target exposure when recording outdoors or under typical indoor conditions. In bright light, colors are vivid and generally pleasant, too, and the electronic video stabilization is effective at counteracting camera-shake when holding the device still while recording.

However, just as with still photos, the Redmi’s video footage shows a range of problems. In changing light conditions, our testers observed white balance and exposure instabilities as well as noticeable stepping. As with stills, dynamic range is limited, with noticeable highlight clipping in bright high-contrast scenes. Despite the 4K resolution, levels of detail are low and at the same time, noise is visible in all light conditions.

Conclusion

Looking at the Redmi Note 8’s scores and sample images, it’s clear the Xiaomi device’s camera cannot compete with the current best in class models, and shows a range of areas for improvement in both photo and video modes. This said, the Redmi is a budget model that costs only a fraction of the price of a current top-end smartphone. With this mind, it’s fair to say the device does a decent job, and if you’re willing to accept its shortcomings, the Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 Pro provides a good amount of smartphone camera bang for your buck.

Photo

Pros

  • Fast and accurate autofocus in good light
  • Decent exposure in low light and at night
  • Good target exposure with flash
  • Good subject isolation in bokeh mode

Cons

  • Limited dynamic range and highlight clipping
  • Lack of detail and artifacts in zoom shots
  • Hue shift, ringing, and corner softness artifacts
  • Lack of fine detail in indoor shots
  • Lack of detail and dynamic range
  • Slow autofocus response times

Video

Pros

  • Good stabilization in static scenes
  • Good target exposure in bright light and under indoor conditions
  • Pleasant color in outdoor videos

Cons

  • Limited dynamic range
  • Exposure oscillations in outdoor and indoor clips
  • Noise in all conditions
  • Orange white balance cast in indoor footage
  • Autofocus tracking issues in low light

In the Press

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.