史无前例的DxOMark Selfie评分揭晓!

今天,我们正式推出DxOMark Selfie新智能手机前置摄像头测试基准。继广受好评的DxOMark Mobile主摄像头测试基准之后,我们为前置摄像头设计了相同的测试基准,为消费者和其他感兴趣的各方人士提供中立靠谱的测试数据,以了解智能手机前置摄像头的性能和图像质量。

DxOMark Selfie以DxOMark Mobile的测试程序和方法为基础,但做了一些重要的修正以反映前置摄像头特有的使用方式。如果您想了解更多信息,请阅读我们的DxOMark Selfie简介,深入了解我们如何测试前置摄像头的静态图像视频质量的详细文章。

推出Selfie测试基准后,我们必须对DxOMark网站的页面编排进行一些小改动,希望您能很快习惯。在下面的屏幕截图中,您可以看到新的Selfie元素被标记为红色。在顶部导航栏中,我们已将Mobile(手机)部分更改为Smartphone(智能手机)部分,以便将所有的DxOMark Mobile主摄像头和DxOMark Selfie前置摄像头测试报告整合至页面中。您现在可以在评测缩略图上看到一个Mobile分数、一个Selfie自拍分数,或两个分数(如果某款手机的前后摄像头均已经过我们的测试)。在右侧面板中,您可以看到Mobile和Selfie排名并排显示。您可以通过单击顶部的图标切换排名类别。

添加了DxOMark Selfie的新网站布局

除了网站布局的变更外,本文的主要目的在于为前置摄像头测试的第一批结果提供一些概述。DxOMark Selfie评测推出时包含12款智能手机评测,涵盖了从入门级到旗舰型各价格段手机的测试报告。DxOMark Selfie排行榜最先出炉的榜首是谷歌Pixel 3和三星Galaxy Note 9,两者都拿下了92分。尽管两款前置摄像头的总体得分相同,但两者之间存在很大差异——这意味着消费者应该仔细阅读我们详细的测试报告,方能找出哪款机型最适合其拍摄需求。

谷歌Pixel 3在对焦系统略胜一筹,Note 9则给出了更好的曝光和色彩。谷歌拍摄的照片对比度略高且白平衡偏冷色,而三星则在脸部曝光上更好,略低的脸部对比度使得照片看起来更自然些。

两台手机在细节和噪点的取舍上也不一样,Pixel 3仅仅在室内和低光环境下险胜。两个摄像头的图像效果都非常出色,在纹理再现和降噪之间取得了很好的平衡。然而,由于谷歌非常注重纹理和细节,因此Pixel 3图像中出现了一些噪点;反观三星工程师则决定提供更清晰的图像,在细节方面做出了一些牺牲。

谷歌 Pixel 3
三星 Galaxy Note 9

正如您在单个图表中看到的照片和视频分数,我们很欣赏Pixel 3静止图像的质量,其成绩比Note 9稍微好一点,这款谷歌手机的静止图像质量也是照片类别的第一名;然而Note 9的视频防抖系统优于Pixel,在自拍视频类别中摘冠。这两款手机都配备了自动对焦系统,而目前配备自动对焦系统的智能手机前置摄像头并不多见;此外,无论是特写人像还是自拍杆上的摄像头拍出的图像,这两款手机都能够在任何摄距上拍出清晰的图像,但谷歌的PDAF系统性能比Note 9的对比度检测自动对焦系统更加靠谱,特别是在较长的摄距上更是如此。

此外,值得一提的是,Pixel 3前置摄像头配有一个辅助超广角摄像头,虽然这对DxOMark Selfie的评分没有影响(因为我们的测试基准未涵盖第二和第三摄像头模块的测试),但如果您在这两款手机之间犹豫不决,您也许可以考虑这一因素并根据您的需求做出决定。

在我们的新排行榜中,小米Mi MIX 3在这两大顶级手机的滑流之间勇夺第二名,它的前置双摄像头可以通过散景模拟拍出出色的人像照片,其视频得分也与Note 9相当。然而,小米手机缺乏HDR处理,导致照片中的高光位出现一些溢光剪贴纹理,其定焦镜头的焦距范围也比这些顶级手机稍小。但它的演色性很好。

苹果公司的旗舰手机iPhone XS Max在高光条件下拍出了一些最佳静止图像和视频质量,但当光线变暗时,它的表现比其他高端竞争机型更加力不从心,因此在我们的评测中拿下81分,其排名与三星Galaxy S9 Plus相同。后者的硬件规格与较新的三星Note 9完全相同,但新机型在经过更好的调校后,整体性能更好。三星S9 Plus的得分比其前款Galaxy S8高出8分,其他品牌的新一代与旧一代手机之间的改进也非常明显;谷歌Pixel 3的成绩比其上一代Pixel 2高了15分;华为Mate 20比P20 Pro多拿了3分;2018年的iPhone XS Max则比2017年的iPhone X多出了10分,呈现稳定的态势。

其他诸如美图V6和intex Aqua Selfie等手机则排名垫底。美图V6稍微让人失望,因为它是一款高价手机,在市场上被定位为自拍专家手机,而且在DxOMark Selfie第一轮测试中,它的前置摄像头的硬件规格是所有测试机型中最令人印象深刻的,例如其1/2.55英寸图像传感器甚至可以用于主摄像头,然而,V6前置摄像头存在许多问题,其令人印象深刻的硬件规格并没有转化为高端性能,但是,只需要更好的调校,美图前置摄像头的性能也许可以大大提升。

Intex Aqua Selfie在第一轮比赛中垫底,但鉴于它是目前本排行榜中价格最实惠的手机,这并不是出人意料之外的事;尽管如此,它仍然是我们测试中有用的参考点,也是未来测量入门级机型的有效参考点。

这12款智能手机仅仅是我们新推出的DxOMark Selfie评分系统的开始。一如主摄像头评测,我们也打算经常添加最新高端、中端和入门级机型的前置摄像头的测试结果,并时时更新排名。因此请经常回来DxOMark.com看看,以获取更多自拍评测信息。为了帮助您入门,以下是我们今天发布的12个Selfie评测的完整链接列表:

First-ever DXOMARK Selfie scores revealed!

Reading Time: 5 min read

Today we have launched our new DXOMARK Selfie test protocol for smartphone front cameras. We have designed this protocol to do the same for front cameras as our well-established DXOMARK Mobile protocol does for main cameras: offer neutral and reliable test data about smartphone front camera performance and image quality to consumers and other interested parties.

DXOMARK Selfie is based on the same procedures and methodologies as DXOMARK Mobile, but we have made some important modifications to reflect the way front cameras are used. If you would like to find out more, please read our Introduction to DXOMARK Selfie, our in-depth look at how we test still image quality, and our detailed article about testing video for front cameras.

To accommodate the Selfie protocol on the DXOMARK website, we have made a few small changes to the layout that we hope you will get used to very quickly. In the screen shot below, you can see the new Selfie elements outlined in red. In the top navigation bar, we have replaced the Mobile section with the Smartphone section, which now combines all our DXOMARK Mobile main camera and DXOMARK Selfie front camera test reports. On the review thumbnails, you now see a Mobile score, a Selfie score, or both if we have tested the device’s front and rear cameras. In the right-hand panel, you see the Mobile and Selfie rankings side by side. You can switch between the ranking categories by clicking on the icons at the top of the list.

New website layout with DxOMark Selfie elements

In addition to the changes to our website layout, the main purpose of this article is to give you an overview of the first results of our front camera testing. We have launched DXOMARK Selfie with test reports for 12 smartphones that cover all brackets of the market—from entry-level devices to flagship models. The first joint leaders of the DXOMARK Selfie ranking are the Google Pixel 3 and the Samsung Galaxy Note 9, which both scored 92 points. Despite achieving the same overall score, there are a lot of differences between the two front cameras, which means that consumers should take a close look at our detailed test reports to find out which model is best suited to their selfie-shooting requirements.

The Google Pixel 3 has the edge in terms of focus system, but the Note 9 achieves better results for exposure and color. Images captured with the Google device show slightly stronger contrast and a cooler white balance. The Samsung is a little better at exposing for faces and applies a little less contrast to faces, making for a slightly more natural look

The noise-versus-detail trade-off is also very different between the two cameras, with the Pixel 3 just taking the win under typical indoor lighting conditions and in low light. Image results from both cameras are excellent, but the Google puts a lot of emphasis on texture and detail and therefore accepts some noise in Pixel 3 images, while Samsung engineers have opted for a cleaner image and made some sacrifices in terms of fine details.

Google Pixel 3
Samsung Galaxy Note 9

As you can see in the individual graphs for Photo and Video scores, we liked the Pixel 3’s still image quality just a touch better than the Note 9’s, meaning that the Google phone is also the number one front camera for selfie still image quality. However, the Note 9 takes the crown for selfie videos, thanks primarily to a better stabilization system than the Pixel’s. Per above, both devices come with autofocus systems, which are still found only in a few smartphone front cameras; moreover, they are both capable of producing sharp images at any shooting distance, from close-up portraits to images shot with the camera mounted on an extended selfie-stick. The Google comes with a PDAF system, however, which is a little more reliable than the Note 9’s contrast-detection AF, especially at longer shooting distances.

It’s also worth mentioning than the Pixel 3 comes with a secondary super-wide-angle camera at the front. This doesn’t have an impact on its DXOMARK Selfie score (as testing secondary and tertiary camera modules is not part of our protocol), but if you are undecided between the two devices, it could be an important decision factor, depending on your requirements. Overall, though, the Pixel 3 and Note 9 are good examples of the fact that image output from two cameras can look very different, despite achieving the same overall score in our testing.

Right in the slipstream of the two leaders, the Xiaomi Mi MIX 3 secures the next position in our new ranking. Its front dual-cam captures great portrait shots with bokeh simulation, and the Xiaomi’s video score is on par with the Note 9’s. A lack of HDR processing results in some highlight clipping, though, and with a fixed-focus lens, the focus range is a little more limited than on the top devices, resulting in softness on subjects towards the back in group shots, and when shooting with an extended selfie-stick. Color rendering is very good, however.

Apple’s flagship iPhone XS Max produces some of the best still image and video quality in bright-light conditions, but struggles more than its high-end competitors when the light gets dimmer. In our rankings, it ties at 81 points with the Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus. The latter comes with pretty much identical hardware specifications to its newer cousin, the Note 9, but improved tuning on the newer model has resulted in a better performance overall. In turn, the S9 Plus scores 8 points higher than its predecessor, the Galaxy S8. The improvements from one generation to the next are quite noticeable for other brands’ devices as well. The Google Pixel 3 is 15 points improved over its predecessor Pixel 2; the Huawei Mate 20 is 3 points better than the P20 Pro; and the 2018 iPhone XS Max beats the iPhone X from 2017 by a solid margin of 10 points.

Towards the bottom of our rankings, we find devices such as the Meitu V6 and the Intex Aqua Selfie. The Meitu V6 is a slight disappointment insofar that it comes with a premium price tag and is marketed as a selfie-specialist device. It comes with arguably the most impressive front-camera hardware specifications of all the models in this first round of DXOMARK Selfie testing: its 1/2.55″ image sensor would not look out of place on a main camera, for example. However, its impressive specs don’t translate into high-end performance, as the V6 front camera suffers from a number of problems. This said, with improved tuning, the Meitu’s front camera performance could likely be significantly enhanced.

The Intex Aqua Selfie comes in last in this first round. Given that it is by far the most affordable phone in this list, this is not much of a surprise; it is nevertheless a useful reference point in our testing and something to measure future entry-level models against.

The 12 smartphones in the launch edition of our new DXOMARK Selfie scores are only the beginning. As for main cameras, we plan to update the ranking frequently with the latest high-end, mid-range, and entry-level models, so keep checking DXOMARK.com regularly for more Selfie reviews. To get you started, here is the full list of links to the 12 Selfie reviews we have published today:

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.