DxOMark Selfie测试基准简介

牛津词典将“自拍照”(Selfie)一词定义为:“一张为自己拍摄的照片,通常以智能手机或网络摄像头拍摄,然后通过社交媒体分享。”2013年,此单词获得最着名的英语权威词典的正式认可,表明这一摄影形式已经在短时间内变得非常流行。

自拍照的兴起无疑与近年来社交媒体应用的快速增长密切相关:您只需滚动浏览社交媒体应用的订阅源即可发现,如今大部分的照片无疑都是使用智能手机的前置摄像头拍摄的某种自拍人像。在诸如Facebook、Instagram、Snapchat或WhatsApp等平台上,共享自拍照广受公众欢迎,而许多应用程序也将前置摄像头设置为默认选择,因此很难否认社交媒体应用和平台已经从根本上改变了我们使用摄像头和照片的方式。

用户可以在活动中与朋友一起拍摄、分享集体自拍照,或在旅行时在自拍照的背景中显示城市或风景,也可以单纯地使用特写自拍照来记录自己当前的心情。此外,使用Skype或FaceTime等应用程序进行视频通话也是使用智能手机前置摄像头来拍照的另一个重要用例。

集体自拍照
集体自拍视频

这种现象已在全球广为流传,其范围涵盖了各大文化和国家。然而,即使前置摄像头的使用量已大幅增加,但在新智能手机款型推出时,对于主摄像头的规格和功能的讨论却往往比前置摄像头要多得多。即使如此,随着用户行为的改变以及前置摄像头的使用逐日增长,其性能已在过去几年中快速改进了。

较早的前置摄像头向来使用小型图像传感器和定焦系统,即使在高光下也会拍出模糊而带有颗粒的图像,在昏暗条件下拍摄时更可能完全无法拍出任何图像,不过,这都已成为过去:许多先进的成像技术,例如高动态范围(HDR)模式、相位检测(PDAF)和飞行时间(TOF)自动对焦等,已从主摄像头迁移到前置摄像头,从而大大提高了对焦性能和图像质量。前置摄像头的改进与手机芯片组更强大的处理能力相结合,扩展了诸如多帧处理、物体和场景识别、实时美肤和4K视频等密集处理型任务的范围。

现代高端智能手机,如华为P20 Pro(左)和苹果iPhone X(右)的前置摄像头均采用先进的成像技术。

然而,目前并非所有制造商都采用这些最新的前置摄像头技术,而且在前置摄像头的图像质量、图像处理和性能方面,不同手机之间也存在很多差异,如下面的样张所示。这三张图像拍摄了相同的场景,但在色彩响应、皮肤和细节的勾勒,以及动态范围方面存在非常明显的差异。(请注意,某些前置摄像头在默认模式下拍摄镜像,这在下面的样张中也很明显。)

美图V6
苹果iPhone X
华为 P20 Pro

有鉴于所有这些因素,我们推出DxOMark Selfie测试基准,在智能手机前置摄像头性能和图像质量方面为消费者和其他相关方提供中立、靠谱的综合测试数据。请继续阅读,以了解我们如何使用新开发的DxOMark前置摄像头测试基准,以可靠而可重复的方式测试智能手机前置摄像头,并为其评分。

测试和评分

前置摄像头的测试和评分方法与我们的DxOMark Mobile智能手机主摄像头测试基准非常相似。我们在实验室和现实世界中使用各种被摄体,在不同的光照条件进行测试。我们根据完全客观的测试结果来评分,并由测试设备直接计算测试结果;我们还使用一套复杂的度量标准来进行感知测试,然后由一群图像专家针对需要人为判断的图像质量进行各方面的比较。

我们在测试过程中拍摄大约1,500张图像和数十个视频片段,总计超过两个小时。在完全相同的实验室布局中,我们使用相同的程序、相同的场景以及相同的软件和评估方法,对每个手机进行完全相同的测试。这意味着新的前置摄像头测试基准与我们久经考验的DxOMark Mobile基准一样具有可靠而可重复的特点。

街上的前置摄像头测试。
DxOMark影像实验室内的前置摄像头测试。

虽然新的前置摄像头测试基准和DxOMark Mobile测试基准均是基于相同的程序和方法,但我们还对前者做了一些重要的修改以反映前置摄像头的使用方式。前置摄像头所拍的都是自拍人像或“自拍照”。根据定义,这意味着至少有一个人类被摄体——摄影者本人,出现在图像中,因此应该针对相对较短的拍摄距离来优化前置摄像头,即介于30厘米(拍摄特写人像时,拍摄对象占据了画面大部分的空间)和120厘米(集体合照或包括重要背景元素的图像)之间的距离,后者通常是在自拍杆的帮助下完成的。

特写人像
人像
用自拍杆所拍的人像

我们在30、55和120厘米三个被摄体距离上进行测试,以涵盖尽可能多的用例。对于前置摄像头而言,要在这三个距离上都能拍出良好的图像质量可说是一项极大的挑战,因此,如果您大多数的自拍照都是在相同或相似的拍摄距离下拍摄的,我们的测试结果可以帮助您按照您特有的拍摄风格找出最佳智能手机。

为了使测试结果适用于所有地区和文化,DxOMark选择了为各大种族市场而设计的国际固件版本,在其默认模式下进行测试,并且评估不同肤色的人像图像质量。

为了评估这些特定人像用例的图像质量,我们开发了一系列新的人像测试专用设备:

  • 一个散景图卡,用于评估具有散景效果的人像,特别是检查景深估计和散景形状
  • 一个特写枯叶图卡,用于分析近距离(45厘米)拍摄的噪点和细节
  • 一个高仿真人头模型,用于测试45厘米距离上的可重复性和准确度
  • 一个HDR人像布局,用于辅助逆光人像场景的客观测量

一如DxOMark Mobile主摄像头测试,DxOMark Selfie自拍测试也是一个非常全面而彻底的测试过程。测试智能手机前置摄像头时,需要由几个人组成的团队进行一周左右的测试,完成所有测试并分析结果之后,我们会分别进行照片和视频质量评分,然后统合所有分数以计算总体得分,以便快速比较不同机型的性能。

一如DxOMark Mobile主摄像头测试基准,DxOMark Selfie测试基准的“照片”和“视频”类别会采用许多测试项目的评分,然后将这些分数统合成每个手机的Selfie总体分数。

新的DxOMark前置摄像头测试基准旨在通过全面评估最新手机前置摄像头的真正性能(我们有时会对原始设备制造商的营销声明提出质疑),以帮助消费者在购买时做出明智的决定。我们希望这一新测试基准的简要概述对您有所帮助,我们也希望您能够借此了解我们如何测试智能手机前置摄像头并为其评分。有关前置摄像头测试和评分的更多详细信息,请阅读以下文章:

要查看我们最新的前置摄像头评测和测试结果,请点击我们的DxOMark Selfie前置摄像头评测。

Introducing the DXOMARK Selfie test protocol

Reading Time: 5 min read

The Oxford English Dictionary defines a selfie as “a photograph that one has taken of oneself, typically one taken with a smartphone or webcam and shared via social media.” The fact that the best-known authoritative dictionary of the English language validated the term in 2013 shows just how quickly this form of photography has become very popular.

It will be obvious to anyone scrolling through the feeds of their social media apps that a huge proportion of photos these days are self-portraits of some kind that have been captured with the front camera of a smartphone. It is hard to deny that social media has fundamentally changed the way we use cameras and photography. On platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, and WhatsApp, sharing selfies is extremely popular, and many of those apps select the front camera by default. It is obvious that the rise of the selfie is strongly linked to the rapid growth of these social media applications and platforms over recent years.

Users capture and share group selfies with their friends at events; selfies that show cityscapes or landscapes in the background while traveling; and closeup selfies simply to document their current mood. Video calls with applications such as Skype or FaceTime are another important use case for smartphone front cameras.

Group selfie
Group selfie video

The phenomenon is truly global, encompassing all cultures and countries; but despite the significant increase in front camera use, there tends to be a lot more talk about the specifications and capabilities of the main camera than the front camera when new smartphone models are launched. Even so, in line with changing user behavior and increased front cam use, front camera performance has increased at a fast pace in the last few years.

Given their tiny sensors and fixed-focus systems, earlier front cameras used to capture blurry and grainy images, even in bright light, with downright unusable output when shooting in dimmer conditions. That’s a thing of the past, though: a number of advanced imaging technologies, such as High Dynamic Range (HDR) modes, phase-detection autofocus (PDAF), and time-of-flight (TOF) autofocus have migrated from the main camera to the front units, greatly improving both performance and image quality. These improvements to the front camera are joined by the increased processing power of mobile chipsets, which have expanded such processing-intensive tasks as multi-frame processing, object and scene identification, live beautification, and 4K video.

Modern high-end smartphones, such as the Huawei P20 Pro (left) and the Apple iPhone X (right),
come with sophisticated imaging technologies in the front camera.

This said, not all manufacturers deploy these latest front camera technologies, and there is a lot of variation between devices in terms of front camera image quality, image processing, and performance, as you can see in the samples below. All three images capture the same scene, but there are very visible differences in color response, in skin and detail rendition, and in dynamic range as well. (Note that some front-facing cameras take mirror images in default mode, which is also apparent in the sample photos below.)

Meitu V6
Apple iPhone X
Huawei P20 Pro

All of these factors are why we are introducing the DXOMARK Selfie protocol—to provide comprehensive, neutral, and reliable test data about smartphone front camera performance and image quality to consumers and other interested parties. Read on to find out how we use our newly-developed DXOMARK front camera protocol to test and score smartphone front cameras in a reliable and repeatable way.

Testing and scores

Front camera testing and scoring follows very similar methodologies to those in our DXOMARK Mobile test protocol for smartphone main cameras. The tests take place in both lab and real-world situations, using a wide variety of subjects and light conditions. Scores are generated both from purely objective tests for which the results are calculated directly by the test equipment, and from perceptual tests based on a sophisticated set of metrics that allow a panel of image experts to compare various aspects of image quality that require human judgment.

The testing process includes shooting approximately 1,500 images and dozens of clips totaling more than two hours of video. Every device is tested in exactly the same way, in identically-configured lab setups, using the same procedures, the same scenes, and the same software and evaluation methodologies. This means that the new front camera protocol is just as reliable and repeatable as our tried and trusted DXOMARK Mobile protocol.

Front camera testing in the street.
Front camera testing in the DxOMark imaging lab.

While the new front camera protocol and DXOMARK Mobile are based on the same procedures and methodologies, we have made some important modifications to the former in order to reflect the way front cameras are used. Front cameras are all about self-portraits or “selfies,” which means that by definition at least one human subject—the photographer herself or himself—appears in the image. Therefore a good front camera should be optimized for portraiture at relatively short shooting distances, between 30cm for a close-up portrait (one in which the subject’s face takes up the largest part of the frame), and 120cm for group portraits or images that include an important element in the background and are typically captured with the help of a selfie-stick.

Close-up portrait
Portrait
Portrait with selfie-stick

To cover as many use cases as possible, we test at three subject distances: 30, 55 and 120cm. It is a real challenge for front cameras to produce good image quality at all three of these subject distances; so if you capture most of your selfies at the same or similar subject distances, our test results will help you pick the best smartphone for your particular style of selfie shooting.

We also make sure our test results are valid across all regions and cultures. DXOMARK tests the default modes of international firmware versions that are designed for ethnically diverse markets, and we evaluate portrait image quality for a range of skin tones.

To evaluate image quality for these specific portrait use cases, we have developed a range of new dedicated portrait test equipment:

  • A Bokeh chart to evaluate portraits shot using a bokeh effect, specifically examining depth estimation and bokeh shape
  • A Close-up Dead Leaves chart for noise and detail analysis at close distance (45cm)
  • A realistic mannequin to test for repeatability and accuracy at a distance of 45cm
  • An HDR portrait setup to facilitate objective measurements of backlit portrait scenes

Just like the DXOMARK testing for main cameras, DXOMARK selfie testing is a very comprehensive and thorough process. Testing a smartphone’s front camera involves a team of several people for approximately a week. Once we have run all the tests and analyzed the results, we score the Photo and Video quality separately, and then combine them into an Overall score for quick comparison between different models.

As with DxOMark Mobile main camera scoring, a number of sub-scores feed into Selfie Photo and Video scores, which are then combined into an overall Selfie score for each device.

The new DXOMARK front camera test protocol was designed to help consumers make informed buying decisions by thoroughly evaluating the front camera performance of the latest mobile devices (sometimes challenging OEM marketing claims).

We hope you found this brief overview of our new protocol useful and that it has given you some understanding of how we test and score smartphone front cameras. For more details about testing and scoring of front cameras, please read the following articles:

Click through to see our DXOMARK Selfie front camera reviews and test results.

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.