DxOMark Selfie:我们如何测试智能手机前置摄像头的静态图像

Reading Time: 0 min read

介绍了适用于智能手机前置摄像头的新DxOMark Selfie测试基准之后,在本文中,我们希望深入探讨并更加详细地说明我们如何测试前置摄像头,以便您更好地了解我们的处理方式和方法,以及测试的细节层次。我们将首先介绍测试和评分方法的一般信息,然后深入说明各个测试项目。本文将着眼于静态图像的说明,如果您想了解更多关于我们如何测试智能手机前置摄像头的视频功能的信息,请点击这里

测试和评分

一如DxOMark Mobile主摄像头测试基准,我们在手机前置摄像头的国际固件版本的默认模式下进行测试,以确保测试结果适用于大多数地区。在测试前置摄像头的过程中,我们的工程师在DxOMark图像质量实验室中拍摄了超过1500个样张,并录制了几个小时的测试图表和场景视频,同时在DxOMark总部内及其周遭环境进行室内和户外的“真实”场景测试。为了测试其结果的可重复性和一致性,我们对相同的测试场景拍摄一系列图像,而非仅是单张图像而已。

原则上,DxOMark的前置摄像头测试与我们的DxOMark Mobile智能手机主摄像头测试基准非常相似,只不过我们根据前置摄像头的使用方式做了一些重要的修改。自拍照是在户外高光下或在室内各种人工照明下拍摄的,而且根据定义,自拍照中必须至少显示一个被摄人——即摄影师本人,因此前置摄像头应该在相对较短的拍摄距离和各种照明条件下针对人像进行优化。

被摄体距离和不同类型的自拍照

在自拍照测试中,被摄体距离非常重要。不过,被摄体距离的差异也可能很大,因为一些用户喜欢对着脸部拍摄特写人像,在这种图像中,注意力倾向于集中在被摄体上,而背景的显像几乎是无关紧要的;另一个典型的用例是在手臂可及的距离内拍摄的自拍人像,在这种类型的自拍照中,被摄体是最突出的元素,但背景也可能包含一些重要元素,例如城市景观或自然景观中的景物;此外,许多用户也喜欢将智能手机安装在自拍杆上,以便摄入尽可能多的背景,在得到的图像中,背景是构图的重要元素,因此应该与前景被摄体一样享有良好的曝光和清晰度。

为了涵盖这些最典型的前置摄像头用例,我们在三个不同的被摄体距离下进行DxOMark Selfie测试:

  • 30厘米的特写人像
  • 55厘米的人像
  • 120厘米的人像与景观(用自拍杆拍摄)
特写人像(30厘米)
人像(55厘米)
用自拍杆拍摄的人像(120厘米)

对于大多数前置摄像头而言,要在这三个被摄体距离上都拍出良好的图像质量可说是一项真正的挑战,因为对焦、曝光和其他摄像头参数必须取得非常好的平衡方能在如此多样的拍摄情况中拍出很好的效果。

此外,在自拍摄影中可能发生变化的不仅是摄像头和被摄体之间的距离而已,被摄体的数量和其本身的肤色也可能有所不同,因此我们在摄影棚和户外创建和进行评估的测试场景不仅包括个别的被摄体,还包括一群人。拍摄集体自拍照可以让我们评估摄像头的对焦、白平衡和曝光系统如何处理多个不同肤色的被摄体位于不同焦平面的场景。

户外自拍测试,有各种肤色
用于测试集体自拍的几个摄影棚布局的其中之一

照明条件

一如DxOMark Mobile主摄像头测试基准,我们在相当于昏暗的烛光到晴天的极高光等不同的光线水平下执行所有的测试。我们的光照条件定义如下:

  • 户外(高光、1000 – 10000勒克斯)
  • 室内(典型的室内光照条件,100 – 300勒克斯)
  • 低光(酒吧或夜间音乐会场地的典型光照条件,1 – 20勒克斯)
DxOMark Selfie在各种光照条件下进行测试

我们的“真实”场景的测试样张则是在高光和阳光充足的天气下,在几个户外场地以及在DxOMark办公室内的典型人工室内照明下拍摄的。

自拍照评分

DxoMark Selfie评分采用测试设备进行大量的客观测量,并由该设备的测量结果直接计算得分;此外,我们还使用一套复杂的度量标准来进行感知测试,并由一群图像专家对需要人为判断的图像质量的各个方面进行比较,然后使用一套复杂的公式和加权系统将这些客观和感知测量值浓缩成每个测试项目的分数。在最后的步骤中,我们使用测试项目的分数来计算照片和视频分数以及自拍照的总分。

总分是根据许多测试项目的分数和属性测量值计算出来的。

DxOMark Selfie各个测试项目的分数

本节深入说明有关我们测试、分析的所有图像属性的更多详细信息,以便计算我们的测试项目的分数。我们还将向您展示我们为DxOMark Selfie基准新开发的一些定制测试设备,以及我们用于呈现测试结果的一系列真实场景的样张和图表。

曝光与对比度

一如我们大多数的评分,曝光和对比度的分数是通过混合客观和感知测量的结果计算出来的。在测量自拍照的曝光和对比度时,我们非常强调脸部的测标曝光,同时考虑图像的整体曝光和摄像头拍摄HDR场景的能力,因为当场景的前景比背景亮得多时,HDR能力很重要,反之亦然。我们还测量图像的整体对比度,不过,由于对比度主要是个人品味的问题,因此我们只报告测试结果,但未将其结果记入分数中。

我们开发了一种专用的加权系统,以对在不同被摄体距离上拍摄的图像进行许多感知和客观测量,并计算曝光和对比度的分数。在曝光和对比度的测试项目中,我们测量、分析以下图像质量属性:

  • 面部测标曝光
  • 集体自拍照中,多个面部测标曝光的一致性
  • 总体测标曝光
  • 肤色上的溢光剪贴纹理
  • 背景中的高光位和阴影细节

我们在深入的技术报告中提供了客观测量和感知分数的概述,如下所示。我们还准备了各种图形来显示客观测量值,例如右下方的曝光图表。该图表显示在1至1000勒克斯的光照水平和一系列光源(包括日光和钨丝灯)下的测标曝光。

曝光技术概述
一系列光源下的曝光

除了实验室测试之外,我们还使用我们的感知数据库来评估曝光和对比度,其中包括不同肤色、被摄体距离、光照条件和集体照的场景。例如,我们可以在左下方的埃菲尔铁塔照片检查脸部与背景曝光,并且在背景比被摄体更亮时获取很多关于摄像头动态范围的信息。

我们也会在室内低光下拍摄样张。在右下方的示例中,我们使用侧方照明来了解摄像头的曝光系统处理各种肤色的强烈对比的能力好坏。

埃菲尔铁塔测试场景
低光测试场景与侧方照明

在我们对集体自拍照的感知分析中,我们检查曝光系统在同一场景中处理多个被摄体和不同肤色的能力。在左下方的样张中,肤色上出现了一些溢光和阴影剪贴纹理,但在整体上,摄像头将曝光处理得很均衡。在右边照片中,由于曝光系统使用前景中的被摄体的深色肤色作为测标,因而使其过度曝光。

曝光良好的集体自拍照
曝光过度的集体自拍照

若想避免肤色上的溢光和阴影剪贴纹理,或者在背景比图像的主要被摄体更亮时,摄像头必须应用宽广的动态范围。在逆光人像场景中,我们测试曝光系统如何处理高光背景前不同肤色的被摄体。像往常一样,面部曝光是最重要的,但我们也很重视前景和背景曝光之间的平衡。正如您在右下方的图像中所看到的,当前的前置摄像头机型在此场景中提供了截然不同的结果。

肤色上的溢光剪贴纹理
具有浅色和深色肤色的逆光人像,不同摄像头的拍摄结果

色彩

测试前置摄像头图像的色彩时,我们会专注于被摄体脸部和肤色的色彩,以及演色性、白平衡和画面其他部分的更多色彩指标。在色彩测试项目中,我们测量、分析以下图像质量属性:

  • 白平衡准确度和可重复性
  • 演色性和可重复性
  • 肤色色调演色性
  • 色彩渐晕

我们使用24色图卡、枯叶图卡和DxOMark自有的定制摄影棚图卡,在不同光照水平和不同光源下进行客观的色彩测量,并为演色性、白平衡准确度和色彩渐晕等元素制作测量图表。此外,考虑到漂亮、可接受的色彩是一个具有不同层次的频谱而不是一个固定值,因此我们开发了一种椭圆体评分系统来评估白平衡和色彩饱和度:落在小绿色椭圆体内的任何色调(右下图)都相当接近测标色彩,因此可获得最高分;落在稍大的红色椭圆体内的色彩仍然可以接受,但得分较低。

不同光源和光照水平下的演色性
用于评估白平衡和色彩饱和度的椭圆体评分系统示例

在我们深入的技术报告中,我们还以图表表示测试结果,显示“被嵌入”测标色彩(下图中的较大方块)中的摄像头演色性(小方块),这样一来就可以快速找出问题区域和需要改进之处。可以预期的是,我们的Selfie基准主要关注的是肤色的演色性(左上角的“色块”),不过我们也会查看所有色调的演色性,并予以评分。

摄像头演色性图表

在色彩感知分析方面,我们使用许多用于评估曝光和其他指标的户外场景,不过,我们也另外制造了几个特定于色彩感知分析的场景,例如下图中的室内布局。在左侧场景中,我们可以看到摄像头如何在低光下处理各种颜色的光源。由于白平衡系统可能会被纯色背景所影响,因此我们设计了右侧场景,并在其中使用一系列色彩各异的背景和人工照明。

室内色彩测试,画面中有彩色光源
室内色彩测试,带有特定背景色彩

对焦

在对焦测试项目中,我们使用一个含有人像照的对焦范围图卡在实验室中测试,以及许多在真实场景中拍摄的人像来测量和分析以下图像质量属性:

  • 对焦范围
  • 景深
  • 对焦可重复性和拍摄时间(仅适用于带自动对焦系统的前置摄像头)

对焦范围可显示摄像头在不同拍摄距离下对被摄体进行对焦时的表现。在我们的评分中,我们把最多的权重放在距离较近的30和55厘米拍摄距离上,因为它们在现实生活中被使用的次数最频繁,不过我们也测试了摄像头在自拍杆拍摄距离(120厘米)上的表现。另外, 我们测试具有自动对焦功能的前置摄像头时,通过反复多次拍照来评测重复性和一致性。

实验室中的对焦测试

景深是照片中清晰显示的物体所处的最近和最远距离。对于一张图像来说,如果背景很重要的话(例如在人像中,被摄体背后有旅游景点),或者我们希望清晰地呈现集体自拍照中位于不同的焦平面上的所有被摄体,那么景深就是一项必不可少的元素;反观距离较近的特写人像中仅露出了非常少的背景,景深问题并不重要,因此我们的评分比较重视较长距离上的拍摄表现。

一如往常,我们在不同的光照水平下进行对焦测试,并且综合各种客观和感知测量的结果来计算得分。在实验室中,我们使用一张对焦图表和一张在三个不同被摄体距离处所拍摄的人像照片。

含有人像照的对焦图卡

在感知分析方面,我们在不同的拍摄距离上拍摄个人和群体,以便检查在真实场景中所拍摄的图像的焦距和景深。

在真实场景中测试不同被摄体距离

 

图像背景中如果有重要元素,或集体人像中的被摄体位于不同焦平面上时,大景深的用处就很大了。
裁剪图:焦平面上的脸获得正确的对焦,并得以清晰呈现
裁剪图:场景后面的脸部清晰度明显较低。

纹理和噪点

在这个测试项目中,我们对图像进行客观测量和感知分析,以找出精细细节和纹理的显像程度,以及在图像的不同部分可观察到的噪点数量。纹理和噪点是一体两面的东西:在图像处理中,强烈的降噪会减少可见的噪点,但也会降低图像的细节水平,因此,我们必须同时检查这两个属性。拿下了最佳纹理分数或最佳噪点分数的摄像头未必是最好的摄像头,反之,在两者之间取得最佳平衡的才是最好的摄像头。

全自动纹理测试套件,包含一个抖动模拟平台以及一个运动模拟图卡
控制台

在纹理和噪点测试项目中,我们在受控的实验室条件下使用枯叶图卡和定制的高仿真人体模型,以及用于感知评估的真实图像,以测量和分析以下图像质量属性:

  • 纹理锐度
  • 视觉噪点
纹理和噪点的技术概述

像往常一样,所有测试都在不同的光线水平下进行。此外,我们还为静态(风景)和移动(家庭)场景设计了纹理测试。后者通常会对某些摄像头造成问题,尤其是在低光下更是如此,因为缓慢的快门速度可能会使移动的被摄体变得模糊,而摄像头抖动也会对被摄体造成同样的问题。我们在实验室中使用自动液压平台来模拟第二种情况。

我们测量静态(风景)和移动(家庭)场景中的纹理清晰度。
两者的亮度和色度噪点都被计入噪点分数中

除了真人被摄体之外,我们也会在DxOMark实验室中的定制仿真人体模型上进行感知分析。感知分析侧重于脸部的特定细节,例如眼睛、眉毛、睫毛、嘴唇和胡须。许多手机制造商对自拍对象的皮肤应用平滑效果,从另一方面来说,过度锐化的皮肤纹理和过强的微对比度会导致不自然的皮肤细节效果,因而我们对此密切关注,并检查皮肤效果是否在整个脸上保持一致。

我们使用仿真的人体模型来测试细节和噪点
在不同的拍摄距离和光照水平下对纹理进行感知分析

伪像

在伪像测试项目中,我们在摄影棚内使用MTF、圆点和灰色图卡进行客观测试,并对在真实场景中拍摄的图像进行感知分析。在我们的Selfie测试基准中,我们查找的伪像问题与DxOMark Mobile主摄像头测试相同,包括以下列表中的伪像以及测试图像中的任何其他异乎寻常的效果:

  • 景深内的清晰度(角落的清晰度损失)
  • 镜头渐晕(晕影)
  • 横向色差
  • 畸变
  • 面部透视畸变(变形)
  • 彩色边纹
  • 色彩量化
  • 耀斑
  • 重影

在我们的技术报告中,伪像技术概述对于伪像的所有客观测量和感知分析提供了简要的说明。我们根据伪像的严重性和其出现频率,从满分100分开始扣分,以计算整体伪像分数。

色差
脸部皮肤的不自然效果
裁剪图
裁剪图

闪光灯

在闪光灯方面,我们在完整的Selfie测试基准中执行一个子测试,查看我们未使用闪光灯拍摄时的大多数图像质量属性。我们在黑暗的室内环境中拍摄真实场景图像,并使用实验室中的24色图卡、枯叶图卡和灰色图卡测量和分析以下图像质量属性:

  • 测标曝光(准确性和可重复性)
  • 白平衡(准确性和可重复性)
  • 演色性
  • 色彩渐晕
  • 闪光落差
  • 纹理和噪点
  • 伪像
  • 红眼

在实验室的客观测量中,我们在55厘米距离和0和5勒克斯光照水平下进行拍摄。

闪光灯白平衡和肤色色彩图表
闪光灯纹理图表

进行感知测试时,我们手动激活前置摄像头的闪光灯(LED或显示屏闪光灯),并在距离55厘米处和光线水平0和5勒克斯下进行拍摄,然后检查所得图像的面部曝光、白平衡、肤色演色性、皮肤上的噪点,以及诸如眉毛或胡须等面部特定元素的细节表现。

谷歌Pixel
苹果 iPhone 8 Plus

散景

现在有一些手机的前置摄像头能模拟单反相机的散景和窄景深效果。正如后置摄像头,有些机型使用第二个副摄像头来测试场景深度,另一些则使用单镜头和纯计算方法来分析深度信息。我们在实验室环境中测试散景,观察散景质量(景深和光斑形状)以及分离主体和背景时产生的伪像。以下使我们散景测试的子项目:

  • 等效光圈(景深)
  • 景深估计伪像
  • 散景形状
  • 可重复性:
  • 拍摄期间的运动
  • 噪点一致性

我们全部通过感知测试来评测散景质量,场景包括实验室套件,室内以及户外真实场景。我们设计的测试场景可以运用在不同的光照条件下,并帮助图像专家评估以上所有的图像质量指标。

三星 Galaxy S9 Plus,标准前置摄像头照片
三星 Galaxy S9 Plus,带有散景模拟的前置摄像头照片

 

谷歌 Pixel
苹果 iPhone 8 Plus
谷歌 Pixel 2
剪裁图,深度图错误
剪裁图,前景模糊
剪裁图,模糊转换

希望您喜欢我们这篇前置摄像头的静态图片质量的测试和评估概述。我们另外准备了三篇介绍文章,为您呈现我们新的DxOMark Selfie测试基准,多年来的自拍演变,以及我们如何评测前置摄像头的视频质量,请点击以下链接继续阅读:

DxOMark Selfie: How we test smartphone front camera still image quality

We’ve already introduced you to our new DxOMark Selfie test protocol for smartphone front cameras. In this article, we want to dive a little deeper and explain in more detail how we test front cameras to give you a better understanding of our approach and methodology. We’ll start out with some general information about our testing methods and how the overall score is generated, and then provide more in-depth information about how we test for the individual sub-scores. (This article focuses on still images; if you’d like to find out more about how we test the video capabilities of smartphone front cameras, please click here.)

Testing and scoring

As with our DxOMark Mobile main camera test protocol, DxOMark also tests front cameras using the default modes of international firmware versions. In the process of testing a front camera, our engineers capture more than 1500 sample images and several hours of video of test charts and scenes in the DxOMark image quality laboratory, as well as a variety of indoor and outdoor “real-life” scenes in and around DxOMark HQ in Paris. To test repeatability and consistency of results, we always take a series of images of the same test scene, rather than just individual shots.

While our front camera testing is very similar to our DxOMark Mobile test protocol for smartphone main cameras, we have made some important modifications to take into account the way people primarily use front cameras. People capture selfies outdoors in bright light or indoors under many types of artificial lighting, and by definition show at least one human subject—the photographer herself or himself—in the image, which is why manufacturers should ideally optimize front cameras for portraiture at relatively short shooting distances and in a variety of lighting situations.

Subject distance and variation

Subject distance is very important in Selfie testing, but obviously it can vary: some users like to capture close-up portraits of the face. In this kind of image, the attention tends to be focused on the subject and the rendering of the background is pretty much irrelevant. Another typical use case is a self-portrait taken at arm’s length. In this type of selfie, the subject is still the most prominent feature, but the background contains elements that the user wants to capture—for example, city sights or natural features in a landscape. Further, many users like to mount their smartphones on selfie-sticks in order to capture as much of the background scenery as possible, so the background should be just as well-exposed and sharp as the subject(s) in the foreground in the image.

To cover these most-typical front camera use cases, we perform our DxOMark Selfie tests at three different subject distances:

  • 30cm, close-up portrait
  • 55cm, portrait
  • 120cm, portrait with landscape (shot with selfie-stick)
Close-up portrait (30cm)
Portrait (55cm)
Portrait shot with selfie-stick (120cm)

It is a real challenge for most front cameras to produce good image quality at all three of these subject distances, mainly because focus, exposure, and other camera parameters have to be very well-balanced to achieve good results in such a wide range of shooting situations.

It’s not only the distance between camera and subjects that can vary in selfie photography, of course, given that the subjects themselves can vary in terms of both numbers and skin tones. This is why we create and evaluate test scenes in the studio and outdoors not only with individual subjects but also with groups of people. Shooting group selfies allows us to evaluate how a camera’s focus, white balance, and exposure systems deal with scenes that feature multiple human subjects in several focal planes and with a range of skin tones.

Outdoor selfie testing with a variation of skin tones
One of several studio setups for group selfie testing

Light conditions

As with our DxOMark Mobile main camera test protocol, we perform all lab studio tests at light levels that range from the equivalent of dim candlelight to a very bright sunny day, as follows:

  • Outdoor (Bright light, 1000–10000 lux)
  • Indoor (typical indoor light conditions, 100–300 lux)
  • Low light (typical light conditions in a bar or concert venue at night, 1–20 lux)
We undertake DxOMark Selfie testing under a wide range of light conditions.

We capture our real-life test samples at several outdoor locations on bright and sunny days, as well as inside the DxOMark offices under typical artificial indoor lighting.

The Selfie score

We generate the DxOMark Selfie scores from large number of objective measurements obtained and calculated directly by the test equipment, and from perceptual tests for which we use a sophisticated set of metrics to allow a panel of image experts to compare various aspects of image quality requiring human judgment. We then use a sophisticated set of formulas and weighting systems to condense these objective and perceptual measurements into sub-scores, and then as a last step, we use the sub-scores to compute the Photo and Video scores and the Overall Selfie score.

We compute the Overall score from a large number of sub-scores and attribute measurements.

The DxOMark Selfie sub-scores

In this section you can find more detailed information about all the image attributes we are testing and analyzing in order to compute our sub-scores. We’ll also show you some of the custom test equipment we have newly developed for the DxOMark Selfie protocol in addition to a selection of real-life samples and graphs that we are using to visualize the results.

Exposure and Contrast

Like most of our scores, Exposure and Contrast is computed from a mixture of objective and perceptual measurements. When measuring exposure and contrast for selfies, we put a strong emphasis on the target exposure of the face, but we also look at the overall exposure of the image and the HDR capabilities of a camera—all of which can be important when the foreground of a scene is much brighter than the background, or vice versa. We also report if contrast is unusually high or low, but we don’t feed this information into the score, as contrast is mainly a matter of personal taste.

We have developed a dedicated weighting system that we use to compute the Exposure and Contrast sub-score from a large number of perceptual and objective measurements of images taken at different subject distances, based on the following image quality attributes:

  • Face target exposure
  • Face target exposure consistency across several faces in group selfies
  • Overall target exposure
  • Highlight clipping on skin tones
  • Highlight and shadow detail in the background

In our in-depth technical reports, we provide an overview of objective measurements (see graph below the left) and perceptual scores. We also prepare a variety of graphs to visualize objective measurements, such as the exposure graph below on the right. It shows target exposure at light levels from 1 to 1000 lux, and for a range of illuminants, including daylight and tungsten.

Exposure technical overview
Exposure across a range of illuminants

In addition to the lab tests, we evaluate Exposure and Contrast using our perceptual database of scenes covering different skin tones, subjects distances, lighting conditions and group shots. For example, the Eiffel Tower shot below on the left allows us to check exposure on the face versus the background and tells us a lot about the dynamic range of a camera as the background is brighter than the subject.

We also take sample shots indoors in low light. In the example below on the right, we use lateral lighting to see how well the camera’s exposure system deals with harsh contrasts on a variety of skin tones.

Eiffel Tower test scene
Low-light test scene with lateral lighting

In our perceptual analysis of group selfies, we check the exposure system’s ability to deal with multiple subjects and skin tones in the same scene. In the sample shot below on the left, some highlight and shadow clipping is visible on skin tones, but the camera manages a well-balanced exposure overall. The shot on the right is strongly overexposed, and the exposure system brightened the dark skin tones of the subject in the foreground too much.

Group selfie with good exposure
Overexposed group selfie

A wide dynamic range is important when trying to avoid highlight or shadow clipping on skin tones or with backgrounds that are much brighter than the main subject of the image. In our backlit portrait scenes we test how the exposure system deals with subjects of varying skin tones in front of a bright background. As usual, face exposure is the top priority, but we also value a good balance between foreground and background exposure. As you can see in the images below on the right, current front camera models deliver very different results in this scene.

Highlight clipping on skin tones
Backlit portrait with light and dark skin tones, results from different cameras

Color

When testing color in front camera images, we focus on color on the subject’s face and skin tones, but we also look at the overall color rendering, the white balance, and additional color metrics in the other parts of the frame. For the Color sub-score, we measure and analyze the following image quality attributes:

  • White balance accuracy and repeatability
  • Color rendering and repeatability
  • Skin tone color rendering
  • Color shading

We take objective color measurements using Gretag ColorChecker, Dead Leaves, and our own custom DxOMark studio charts at different light levels and under different light sources. We produce measurement charts for color rendering, white balance accuracy, and color shading (among others), and have developed an ellipsoid scoring system for evaluating white balance and color saturation. This system takes into account the fact that good and acceptable color manifests on a continuum rather than having a single fixed value. Color tones within the small green ellipsoid (chart below on the right) are close enough to the target color to score maximum points; colors within the larger red ellipsoid are still acceptable, but score lower.

Color rendering for different light sources and levels
Example of ellipsoid scoring system measurement of white balance and color saturation

In our in-depth technical reports, we also provide a visual representation of the results, showing the color rendering of the camera (small squares) embedded in the target color (larger squares in the illustration below). This allows us to quickly identify problem areas and opportunities for improvements. As one would expect for our Selfie protocol, our main focus is on skin tone rendering (top-left color array below), but we examine and score the rendering of all tones.

Visual presentation of a camera’s color rendering

For our perceptual analysis of color, we use many of the same outdoor scenes that we also use to evaluate exposure and other metrics. However, we have also created several color-specific perceptual scenes, such as the indoor setups shown in the images below. The left scene allows us to see how the camera deals with different color light sources in low light. And as white balance systems can be confused by single-colored backgrounds, we designed the scene on the right for use with a range of different-colored backgrounds and artificial lighting.

Indoor color testing with colored light sources in the frame
Indoor color testing with specific background colors

Focus

For the Focus sub-score, we use a focus range chart with a portrait in the lab and a number of real-life scenes to measure and analyze the following image quality attributes:

  • Focus range
  • Depth of field
  • Focus repeatability and shooting time (only for front cameras with autofocus systems)

The focus range tells us how good the camera is at focusing on the subject at different shooting distances. In our scoring, we put the most weight on the closer 30cm and 55cm shooting distances, as they represent the largest proportion of real-life use, but we also test at selfie-stick shooting distance (120cm). In addition, we test repeatability and shooting time for phone cameras with an autofocus system by taking multiple shots at the same subject distance and checking the consistency of the results.

Focus testing in the lab

Depth of field is the distance between the closest and farthest objects in a photo which appear acceptably sharp. Good depth of field is essential for images in which the background is an important element—for example, portraits with a tourist site behind the subject, or in group selfies, when we want good sharpness on all subjects, even if they are not in the same focal plane. Depth of field is less important for close-up portraits showing very little background, which is why we put more weight in our scoring on longer shooting distances.

As usual, we perform focus tests at different light levels, and compute scores from objective and perceptual measurements. In the laboratory, we use a focus chart with a portrait image that we capture at three different subject distances.

Focus chart with portrait in the lab

For our perceptual analysis, we capture individual and groups of subjects at different shooting distances, thus allowing us to check both focus range and depth of field in real-life images.

Real-life testing at different subject distances

 

A wide depth of field is useful for images with important elements in the background, and for group portraits with the subjects in different focal planes, such as in this example.
The face in the focal plane is well-focused and sharp (crop).
The faces towards the back of the scene are noticeably softer (crop).

Texture and Noise

For this sub-score, we analyze images objectively and perceptually to determine how well phone cameras render fine detail and textures, and how much noise is visible in different parts of the image. Texture and noise are strongly interlinked: strong noise reduction in image processing reduces visible noise, but also tends to decrease the level of detail in an image, so the two attributes should always looked at in conjunction. The best camera isn’t necessarily the one with the best texture score or the best noise score, but rather the best balance between the two.

Fully-automated texture testing with moving subjects and shaking platform
Control station

For the Texture and Noise sub-scores, we measure and analyze the following image quality attributes using a Dead Leaves chart and several custom-made lifelike mannequins in controlled lab conditions, as well as using real-life images:

Technical overview for texture and noise

As usual, we undertake all tests at different light levels. In addition, we have designed texture tests for static (landscape) and moving (family) scenes. Moving scenes often pose problems for some cameras, especially in low light, as slow shutter speeds can cause blur on moving subjects or through camera shake (we use an automated hydraulic shaking platform in the lab to simulate the latter).

We measure texture acutance for static (landscape) and moving (family) scenes.
Both luminance and chromatic noise feed into the Noise score.

In addition to human subjects, we perform our perceptual analysis using a lifelike mannequin that was custom built for DxOMark Image Labs. Perceptual analysis focuses on specific details on a face, such as the eyes, eyebrows, eyelashes, lips, and beard. Many device manufacturers choose to apply smoothing effects to the skin of selfie subjects; in the other direction, over-sharpened skin textures and too strong micro-contrast can result in an unnatural rendering of skin detail, so we keep a close eye on both those effects, and also check that skin is rendered in a consistent way across the face.

We use several lifelike mannequins for testing of detail and noise.
We perform perceptual texture analysis at different shooting distances and light levels.

Artifacts

For artifacts, we use a mixture of objective testing with MTF, Dot, and Grey charts in the studio, and perceptual analysis of real-life images. For our Selfie test protocol, we are looking for the same kinds of artifacts as for our DxOMark Mobile main camera testing (including the ones in the list below), and also for any other unusual effects in our test images:

The Artifacts section in our technical reports provides an overview of all objective and perceptual measurements. Based on the severity and frequency of artifacts, we deduct penalty points from a perfect score of 100 to compute the overall Artifacts score.

Unnatural rendering of skin texture in faces
Crop
Crop

Flash

For the Flash sub-score, we perform a subset of our full Selfie test protocol, looking at most of the image quality attributes that we evaluate for non-flash capture. Along with capturing real-life images in a dark indoor setting, we measure and analyze the following image quality attributes, using Gretag ColorChecker, Dead Leaves, and Gray charts in the lab:

  • Target exposure (accuracy and repeatability)
  • White balance (accuracy and repeatability)
  • Color rendering
  • Color shading
  • Fall-off
  • Texture and Noise
  • Artifacts
  • Red-eye effect

For these objective measurements in the lab, we shoot at a distance of 55cm at 0 and 5 lux light levels.

Flash white balance and skin tone color chart
Flash texture chart

For perceptual testing, we shoot with the front camera flash (LED or display flash), manually activated at a distance of 55cm, and at light levels of 0 and 5 lux. We then check the resulting images for exposure on the face, white balance, and rendering of skin color, as well as for noise on the skin and for details on specific elements of the face, such as eyebrows or beard.

Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus, flash shot at 0 lux
Apple iPhone X, flash shot at 0 lux

Bokeh

Some current smartphone front cameras are capable of simulating the bokeh and shallow depth of field of a DSLR camera. As on main cameras, some models use a secondary lens to estimate the depth of a scene; others rely on a single lens and use purely computational methods to analyze depth. We test bokeh simulation in a laboratory setup, looking at both the quality of the bokeh (depth of field and shape), as well as at the artifacts that are often introduced when isolating a subject.

For the Bokeh sub-score, we measure and analyze the following image quality attributes:

  • Equivalent aperture (depth of field)
  • Depth estimation artifact
  • Shape of bokeh
  • Repeatability
  • Motion during capture
  • Noise consistency

For Bokeh, we evaluate all images perceptually, using test scenes in the studio as well as indoors and outdoors. We designed our test scenes to replicate a number of light conditions and to help experts evaluate all the image attributes listed above.

Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus, standard front camera shot
Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus, front camera shot with simulated bokeh effect

 

Apple iPhone X, bokeh shot
Apple iPhone X, bokeh shot
Apple iPhone X, bokeh shot
Crop, depth estimation errors
Crop, foreground blurring
Crop, blur transition

We hope you have found this overview of our front camera still image testing and evaluation useful. For an introduction to our new DxOMark Selfie test protocol, an article on how selfies have evolved over the years, and for more information on how we test and evaluate video quality for front cameras, please click on the following links: