更新:联想Z6 Pro摄像头评测

Reading Time: 5 min read
97
camera

请注意:2019年9月,我们更新了DXOMARK Mobile测试基准,以涵盖超广角性能,并将其重新命名为DXOMARK Camera基准。我们还扩展了低光测试的内容,并创建了新的“夜间摄影”评分,其中包含了之前的“闪光灯”分数。我们使用新的“广角”和“夜间摄影”测试基准,重新测试了该手机,并相应地更新了分数和评测文本。更新的元素和分数位于顶部;您仍然可以在页面下方找到原始评测。有关更多信息,请参阅有关新的“广角”“夜间摄影”测试基准的文章。

Z6 Pro是中国制造商联想的最新旗舰手机,拥有一系列令人印象深刻的规格,包括6.39英寸AMOLED显示屏和高通骁龙855芯片组,价格极具竞争力。Z6 Pro的主摄像头采用4800万像素1/2英寸Quad-Bayer传感器,搭配f/1.8广角镜头(等效28毫米);在变焦摄影方面,它采用了一颗800万像素远摄摄像头;一颗1600万像素广角摄像头,可以让您在镜头中挤入更多场景。

更新摘要

97
camera
107
photo
79
video

Z6 Pro的广角摄像头具有16毫米等效焦距,一如许多竞争品牌的智能手机摄像头,但有些摄像头(例如,Galaxy S10+)的视角甚至宽达12毫米焦距。联想的广角摄像头在我们的新测试中表现良好,是我们迄今测试过最好的摄像头之一。联想手机的曝光度和动态范围在高光下的表现非常好,在细节方面也是表现最好的手机之一。但是,它也有一些伪像,测标曝光在低光条件下可能会略低,还可以看到一些细小的亮度噪点。

遗憾的是,Z6 Pro在我们的新夜间摄影测试中的表现不佳,目前排名垫底。这主要是由于关闭闪光灯时所拍摄的照片的曝光度太暗,而使用自动闪光设置时,曝光度则严重不一致。它也有一个专用的夜间模式,但我们不太推荐:因为它的图像噪点很多,并且根据场景的不同,其曝光表现可能比标准模式更好或更差。

总体而言,在我们扩充了测试基准后,Z6 Pro在新推出的DXOMARK Camera评测中的分数比之前多了两分,在我们整体排名中大致保持了居中的位置。该联想手机能够获得不错的静态图像质量、良好的曝光度、可接受的色彩,以及不错的变焦和散景。然而,其总体得分受到无效的防抖和不稳定的自动对焦的拖累,导致视频表现不达标。

广角

Lenovo Z6 Pro

35

一如许多竞品,Z6 Pro的广角摄像头具有16毫米等效焦距,但并不是我们所见过最宽广的视角。不过,联想在广角模式下表现不错,在新的广角排名中名列前茅。

联想Z6 Pro,轻微的晕影
联想Z6 Pro,裁剪图
联想Z6 Pro,有些细节损失
联想Z6 Pro,裁剪图

在户外高光条件下,测标曝光和动态范围的表现都非常好。在户外细节保留方面,Z6 Pro也拍出了最佳效果之一,但仍然失去了一些更精细的细节。同时,该摄像头的图像噪点也得到很好的控制,产生了悦目的色彩,但时而略微欠饱和。我们的测试人员还在所有测试条件下观察到了一些晕影。其他伪像则包括一些强烈的畸变、振铃效应和彩色边纹。

在典型的室内照明下,该联想摄像头能够产生良好的白平衡,但测标曝光可能略低,并且可以看到一些细微的亮度噪点。在下面的比较中,您可以看到Z6 Pro产生的曝光明显比Galaxy S10+更暗,也比小米9稍暗了些。

联想Z6 Pro,室内场景
三星Galaxy S10+,室内场景
小米9,室内场景

夜间摄影

Lenovo Z6 Pro

42

Z6 Pro在低光下表现不佳,目前在我们的新夜间摄影测试中排名垫底,主要是因为在闪光灯模式下拍摄的照片曝光不足,而使用闪光灯拍摄时,曝光则严重不一致。

将闪光灯设置为自动闪光模式,意味着它有时会在拍摄风景时触发,但这并不是理想的情况,因为闪光照射的距离不足以照亮场景,而且还会产生一些耀斑。此外,该摄像头还可以调整一些图像参数(例如白平衡),以供闪光灯使用。曝光表现也不错,但可能会出现一些溢光剪切纹理;我们还观察到轻微但还算可以接受的白平衡色偏。照片上还可察觉到一些亮度噪点。可重复性也是需要改进的地方,因为我们的测试人员对着相同场景拍摄一系列照片时,观察到照片之间出现了严重的曝光变化。

联想Z6 Pro,自动闪光模式,耀斑
联想Z6 Pro,自动闪光人像

如果关闭闪光灯,城市景观的曝光通常太暗,而且在曝光不足之外,往往还伴随着画面高光位缺乏细节,并出现了强烈的剪切纹理等问题。在下面的比较中,您可以看到联想图像明显比华为P30 Pro和小米9的图像输出更暗,细节也较少。

联想Z6 Pro,夜间场景
联想Z6 Pro,裁剪图
华为P30 Pro,夜间场景
华为P30 Pro,裁剪图
小米9,夜间场景
小米9,裁剪图

在拍摄人像时,我们注意到,拍摄对象在拍摄过程中移动时,脸部会曝光不足并出现严重的运动模糊。在所有图像区域都可以看到亮度噪点,典型的街道照明通常会产生橙色白平衡色偏。

Z6 Pro确实有专用的夜间模式,但在低光下拍摄时,该模式的表现并不比默认模式更好,因为图像有噪点,并且根据场景的不同,其曝光表现可能比标准模式更好或更差。

强制打开闪光灯拍摄人像时,图像展现了准确的测标曝光,噪点控制合宜,细节保留到位,但曝光时间长会导致运动模糊。在仅使用闪光灯(0勒克斯)和使用混合光照(5勒克斯)拍摄时,都可以在角落处看到一些渐晕,导致角落处的噪点略微增加,并且有一些较小的色彩渐晕,但这些问题大体上处理得很好。最大的问题是混合闪光灯与钨丝灯照明时,图像出现了浓烈的青色色偏,使得肤色偏绿,看起来有些不好看。

联想Z6 Pro 摄像头评测(最初版本发表于2019年7月16日)

2019年4月上市的联想Z6 Pro是中国制造商联想最新推出的旗舰机,以极具竞争力的价格,装配令人印象深刻的规格。这款手机采用6.39英寸AMOLED大型显示屏,同时还顺应当前的设计潮流,配置了水滴形凹口的自拍摄像头,以及相当窄的底部边框,让屏幕的实际使用空间达到最大。

搭载最新八核骁龙855芯片组(7 nm)的Z6 Pro,具备了足够的处理能力,且针对摄影爱好者的需求,这款智能手机标榜着备置了四组摄像头:标准的广角摄像头、远摄像头、超广角摄像头以及200万像素视频专用摄像头。如果包括在人像模式下用来感测深度的飞时测距(TOF)3D传感器,那么,这款手机可说是装置了五组摄像头。

Z6 Pro的主摄像头采用4800万像素 1/2英寸Quad-Bayer传感器,搭配f / 1.8广角(28mm等效焦距)镜头。Quad-Bayer传感器主要是用来改善色彩、细节和动态范围,是通过将四个相邻像素的信号合并为一后,最终输出为1200万像素(4000×3000像素)。拍摄变焦照片时,则可运用具f / 2.4远摄镜头的800万像素辅助摄像头,和主摄像头一样,都配有PDAF自动对焦的功能。

1600万像素的超广角镜头增加了一些额外的成像功能,但目前尚未含括在我们的评测基准中。

摄像头主要规格:

  • 设置四组摄像头
  • 主摄像头: 4800万像素Quad-Bayer 1/2 英寸传感器 (1200万像素输出) ,搭配28mm 等效焦距、f/1.8镜头
  • 远摄像头:800万像素传感器,搭配f/2.4 镜头
  • 超广角摄像头:1600万像素传感器,搭配12mm 、f/2.2 镜头
  • 200万像素视频专用摄像头
  • PDAF 自动对焦
  • 双LED闪光灯
  • 2160p(4K)/30fps 视频 (默认模式下为1080p/30fps)
联想Z6 Pro 视频与图像示范

有关 DxOMark评测:我们的智能手机摄像头评测中的评分与分析,是由DxOMark的工程师在控管中的实验室环境里,以及室内和室外的自然场景中,使用相机的默认模式,拍摄并评估1500组以上的照片和2小时以上的视频。本文旨在强调我们测试中最重要的结果。有关DxOMark评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处。关于我们如何评分智能手机前置摄像头的更多细节,请追踪此连结

测试摘要

95
camera
103
photo
79
video

在DxOMark Mobile评测中整体得分为95分的联想Z6 Pro,在我们的评比排名中,名列中间位置,是一款可与OnePlus 6(96分)和Apple iPhone 8 Plus(94分)的稍旧机型相媲美的手机。不过,Z6 Pro在照片和视频上的表现差异颇大,相较之下,静态性能优异许多,在照片项目获取了103分,而视频项目只得到79分。因此,更适合喜欢拍摄静态照片的摄像者。虽然在照片项目拿下了103分,但并没有威胁到我们评测排名中表现亮眼的机型,像是华为P30 Pro和OnePlus 7 Pro(分别为119和118分),不过,Z6 Pro在静态项目上,仍是一款功能强大的机种。

在所有照明条件下,Z6 Pro的目标曝光表现不错,在实验室受控管且均衡的条件中进行测试,呈现出高水平的对比度。在极低光下,图像略显曝光不足,但仍可接受;即使在只有1勒克斯、几近黑暗的环境中,还是有些曝光的效果。

联想Z6 Pro 在光线均匀的户外场景中,展现出精确的曝光性能、完好的细节与令人赏心悦目的演色性。

在我们的自然场景评测图像分析中,光线均匀的状况下,目标曝光表现佳。对比度高的明亮条件下,动态范围并不如一些优质机种那么大,从我们的比较中,可以看到谷歌 Pixel 3和OnePlus 6T在天空的部份,保留了更多细节。联想Z6 Pro确实在阴暗区域呈现出完好的细节,整体的对比度也维持的相当不错,展示出合宜的(如果对比不会过于强烈)HDR效果。在逆光人像中,得到了同样的分析结果,Z6 Pro呈现出曝光度精确的人像,但在明亮的背景细节里,会出现一些非常明显的高光剪贴。

联想 Z6 Pro,高对比度场景
谷歌Pixel 3,高对比度场景
OnePlus 6T,高对比度场景

色彩是Z6 Pro的弱点,在户外和低光条件下,饱和度相当低且白平衡失效,例如户外图像中会有稍许的黄/绿色色偏以及一些色彩渐晕的现象。平心而论,单就图像来看,Z6 Pro的色彩仍可接受,而且室内图像的饱和度相当好。不过,户外且特别是在低光环境中,一一比较图像时,饱和度不足的状况尤其明显。

联想 Z6 Pro,演色性
谷歌Pixel 3,演色性
OnePlus 6T,演色性

Z6 Pro在纹理与噪点间的平衡处理的相当不错,是这款手机的主要优势。室内和户外图像的细节保存的格外良好,我们评测出超过80%的高锐度分数。整个图像所呈现的细节,也相当一致,因此,图像角落和中央的细节水平会是同等级的;并非智能手机的图像都能有这样的表现。

低光下,纹理不是那么分明,精细的细节明显减少,尽管如此,Z6 Pro的细节表现还是相当出色。所有照明条件下的视觉噪点都处理的很好,在比较单纯的区域(例如天空),色彩也很均匀;即使在极低光下,亮度噪点也相对较低,而且几乎没有任何有问题的色度噪点。

联想 Z6 Pro,细节保留
联想 Z6 Pro,裁剪图
谷歌Pixel 3,细节保留
谷歌Pixel 3,裁剪图
OnePlus 6T,细节保留
OnePlus 6T,裁剪图

增设的远摄像头可确保近距离拍摄(放大倍率约为2倍)时,变焦效果良好,且户外照片的细节保存完美,同时室内照片也令人满意。所有照明条件下,中距离(放大倍率约为4倍)及长距离(放大倍率约为8倍)的拍摄都会丢失精细的细节,但分辨率仍可接受。变焦照片中的噪点通常控制的很不错,虽然仔细检视时,会发现有些轻微的振铃效应与边纹伪像,但并不是严重的缺失。

联想 Z6 Pro,近距离变焦
联想 Z6 Pro,裁剪图
谷歌Pixel 3,近距离变焦
谷歌Pixel 3,裁剪图
小米 Mi 9,近距离变焦
小米 Mi 9,裁剪图

Z6 Pro在人像模式下的散景模拟效果相当不错,能让背景呈现模糊状。景深效果颇令人满意,而散景点光也呈现出良好的对比和漂亮的圆形形状。也就是说,当散景点光发生在不需要显现的时候,会造成图像看起来不自然,好像背景有洞(如下例图示)。

重复性很好,因此一直都能在需要时发挥效果,鲜明和柔和区域的噪点水平很一致,呈现出自然的效果。深度估计可稍加改善,因为在复杂区域处理的不是很好,像是下面图示中人物所戴的眼镜。边缘伪像有时也清楚可见,模糊渐变的层次也不怎么协调。

联想 Z6 Pro,散景模拟
联想 Z6 Pro,裁剪图
谷歌Pixel 3,散景模拟
谷歌Pixel 3,裁剪图
OnePlus 6T,散景模拟
OnePlus 6T,裁剪图

运用Z6 Pro的双LED闪光灯拍摄人像时,可展现出精准的目标曝光,同时有效的控制噪点,并且保留完好的细节,不过,曝光时间相当慢,会造成动态模糊的现象。在仅有闪光灯(0勒克斯)以及混合灯源(5勒克斯)的状况下拍摄,明显产生暗角,导致角落有稍多的噪点,还有一些轻微的色彩渐晕,但总体来说,还是处理得很好。最大的问题在于使用闪光灯加上钨灯光源时,会产生严重的青色色偏,会让肤色变得偏绿,看起来不太舒服。

联想 Z6 Pro,闪光灯 0 勒克斯
联想 Z6 Pro,闪光灯加5 勒克斯钨灯

明显的伪像或质量不佳的图像,使我们扣了点Z6 Pro的分数。而最不利的缺失是严重的振铃效应,沿着边缘有明显的晕轮与轮廓线,虽然通常只有在近距离观看图像时才会非常清楚,但严重的振铃效应会让图像有做假或「被修过」的感觉。对于一些耀斑、畸变、青色色偏、摩尔纹以及重影,我们也稍稍减低评分,不过,这些问题并不常发生,对图像质量的影响也不大。

联想 Z6 Pro,振铃伪像
联想 Z6 Pro,裁剪图
联想 Z6 Pro,摩尔纹伪像
联想 Z6 Pro,裁剪图

Z6 Pro 的PDAF系统使其对焦功能在我们所有的评测基准中表现的快速又精准,在自然场景评测的分析期间,也能一直拍出对焦正确的照片,因此在自动对焦项目得到亮眼的分数。在实验室中进行连续图像的拍摄,于每次拍摄之间让摄像头散焦,然后在延迟短(500毫秒)或长(2000毫秒)时间后再进行对焦,Z6 Pro始终能在极短的时间内对焦。所有照片的对焦也很准确,不过这也就是说,此摄像头会有些过度锐化(如图中锐度分数超出100%所示),看起来稍显不自然,特别是在低光中所拍摄的图像。

联想 Z6 Pro,低光下(20勒克斯)自动对焦的性能表现

联想Z6 Pro的视频性能明显较弱,所以对于要求高质量静态图像与动态视频的多媒体创作者来说,并不适合。除了在极低光的环境以外,视频的曝光度整体而言是可接受的,尤其在均匀的照明条件下,目标曝光表现良好。大多数光照条件下,动态范围有限,并且会出现高光与阴影剪贴,特别是在明亮或高对比度度的场景中。在自然场景测试中的曝光度也可能稍微不稳定,摄像头的位置或是照明的条件有些微的变动都会影响到曝光效果。

联想 Z6 Pro,各种照明条件下视频的目标曝光分析

Z6 Pro视频的另一项优点是保留了完好的细节,在室内(100 勒克斯)到户外(1000 勒克斯)的照明条件下所拍摄的视频中,都呈现出不错的纹理。即使在低光中,边缘的细节也保存的非常好;尽管随着光源的亮度降低,纹理的分数也跟着减少,但其表现依旧令人可接受,不过,低光视频中的阴影区域所形成粗大的空间噪点相当显眼。

联想 Z6 Pro,各种照明条件下视频的细节分析

然而,视频最大的问题点在于其稳定度,所有条件下,Z6 Pro的Gyro-EIS系统似乎无法发生效用。即使是静态手持所拍摄的视频,也明显看得出摆动和抖动。大多数情况下,自动对焦都很快速,却非常不稳定,追踪效果也不佳,导致不断的重新对焦与超调,在播放时可能会非常不流畅。

联想 Z6 Pro,亮光下所拍摄的视频

结论

标榜着搭载了最新的骁龙855芯片组、拥有优质的设计、配置6.39英寸AMOLED大屏幕,还有四组(可说是五组)摄像头,Z6 Pro具有顶尖旗舰机种的所有特点,价格还颇富竞争力。摄像机的静态图像性能明显优于视频,虽然无法与我们测试过的高端旗舰机种相比拟,但其良好的曝光度、适宜的色彩及出色的闪光灯效果、变焦和散景功能,使其整体的性能堪称可圈可点。然而,稳定度不佳和自动对焦不稳定都影响了视频的性能,使得Z6 Pro的整体得分因表现较差视频项目受到拖累。因此,对于要求优质静态图像的摄像者来说,联想Z6 Pro有很多功能可供选择;但如果您想要的是一款全能的手机,那么有其它更好的选项可挑选。

照片优点

  • 目标曝光通常很准确
  • 室内的演色性令人赏心悦目
  • 细节保留的相当完好
  • 无需额外光源,只使用闪光灯时的曝光度与色彩都很精准
  • 户外变焦拍摄时的细节良好
  • 散景点光的形状和对比都很出色

视频优点

  • 均衡的照明条件下曝光良好
  • 亮光下细节保存佳
  • 自动对焦通常快速

照片不足

  • 高对比度度条件下的动态范围有限
  • 户外和低光条件下色彩不饱和
  • 使用闪光灯混合钨灯照明下,白平衡失效且有严重的色彩渐晕

视频不足

  • 稳定功能无效
  • 自动对焦不稳定,追踪效果不佳
  • 动态范围有限
  • 低光视频中有粗大的噪点
  • 振铃、抖动、青色色偏以及混迭伪像全明显可见

Updated: Lenovo Z6 Pro camera review

Reading Time: 20 min read
97
camera

Please note: In September 2019, we updated the DXOMARK Mobile test protocol to cover ultra-wide-angle performance and have renamed the protocol DXOMARK Camera. We also expanded our low-light testing and created the new Night sub-score, which incorporates the previous Flash score. We have retested this device using the new Wide and Night test protocols and updated this review. The updated elements and scores are right at the top; you can still find the original review further down the page. For more information, please see the articles about our new Wide and Night test protocols.

The Lenovo Z6 Pro is the Chinese manufacturer’s latest flagship phone and boasts an impressive set of specifications, including a 6.39-inch AMOLED display and Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 chipset, at a competitive price. For its main camera, the Z6 Pro utilizes a 48Mp 1/2-inch Quad-Bayer sensor coupled to a wide-angle (28mm equivalent) f/1.8 lens. For zoom shots, there’s an 8Mp tele-camera, and a 16Mp wide-angle camera allows you to squeeze more scene into your shot.

Update summary

97
camera
107
photo
79
video

The Z6 Pro’s wide-angle camera offers an equivalent focal length of 16mm, which is a similar field of view to many competing smartphone cameras, but some—for example, the Galaxy S10+ —go even as wide as 12mm. The Lenovo’s wide-angle camera performs well in our new tests and is among the best we have tested so far. Exposure and dynamic range are very good in bright light, and the Lenovo is one of the best devices in terms of detail. There are some artifacts, though, and in low light, target exposure can be slightly low, and some fine luminance noise is visible as well.

Unfortunately, things look a little different in our new Night test, in which the Z6 Pro does not perform well and currently ranks last. This is largely due to dark exposures in flash-off mode and strong exposure variation using flash-auto settings. There is also a dedicated Night mode, but we can’t really recommend using it: images are noisy, and depending on the scene, exposure can be better or worse than in standard mode.

Overall, the Z6 Pro DXOMARK Camera score is lifted by two points with our new expanded test protocol and the device roughly maintains its mid-table position in our overall ranking. The Lenovo is capable of achieving decent still image quality, with good exposures, acceptable color, and good zoom and bokeh. However, the overall score is dragged down by a sub-par video performance marred by ineffective stabilization and unstable autofocus.

Wide

The Z6 Pro’s wide-angle camera offers an equivalent focal length of 16mm, which is in line with many competitors, but is not the widest we have seen. The Lenovo performs well in wide-angle mode, though, and ranks among the best in our new Wide ranking.

Lenovo Z6 Pro, slight vignetting
Lenovo Z6 Pro, crop
Lenovo Z6 Pro, some loss of fine detail
Lenovo Z6 Pro, crop

In bright outdoor conditions, target exposure and dynamic range are very good. The Z6 Pro also achieves one of the best results for outdoor detail preservation, but it still loses some finer details. At the same time, image noise is well-controlled, and the camera produces pleasant but sometimes slightly undersaturated colors. Our testers also observed some vignetting across all test conditions. Other artifacts include some strong distortion as well as ringing and color fringing.

Under typical indoor lighting, the Lenovo’s camera is capable of producing good white balance, but target exposure can be slightly low and some fine luminance noise is visible. In the comparison below, you can see that the Z6 Pro produces an exposure that is noticeably darker than that of the Galaxy S10+ and slightly darker than the Mi 9’s.

Lenovo Z6 Pro, indoor scene
Samsung Galaxy S10+, indoor sene
Xiaomi Mi 9, indoor scene

Night

The Z6 Pro does not perform well in low light and currently ranks last in our new Night test, due mainly to underexposure in flash-off mode and strong exposure variation when using flash.

Setting the flash to auto mode sometimes triggers it for landscape shots, which is not ideal, as the flash does not reach far enough to illuminate the scene but can create some flare; moreover, the camera may adjust some image parameters, such as white balance, for flash use. Exposure is not bad, but some highlight clipping can occur, and we have observed slight but still acceptable white balance casts. There is also some luminance noise. Repeatability is also a point for improvement, as our testers observed strong exposure variations between shots in a series of the same scene.

Lenovo Z6 Pro, flash auto mode, flare
Lenovo Z6 Pro, flash auto portrait

With the flash switched off, exposure for cityscape scenes is often too dark, and the underexposure is often accompanied by a lack of detail and strong clipping in the highlight areas of the frame. In the comparison below, you can see that the Lenovo image is noticeably darker than the image output from the Huawei P30 Pro and the Xiaomi Mi 9. Levels of detail are lower, too.

Lenovo Z6 Pro, night scene
Lenovo Z6 Pro, crop
Huawei P30 Pro, night scene
Huawei P30 Pro, crop
Xiaomi Mi 9, night scene
Xiaomi Mi 9, crop

In portrait shots, we noted underexposure on faces and strong motion blur when the subject is moving during capture. Luminance is visible in all image areas, and typical street lighting often creates an orange white balance cast.

The Z6 Pro does offer a dedicated Night mode, but it is not really an improvement over the default mode when shooting in low light, as images are noisy, and depending on the scene, exposure can be worse than in standard mode.

Shots with the flash forced on display accurate target exposure in portraits, with well-controlled noise and good detail preservation, although a fairly slow exposure time can result in motion blur. Some corner shading is visible in both flash-only (0 lux) and mixed-lighting (5 lux) shots, resulting in slightly more noise in the corners and some minor color shading, but it’s handled well on the whole. The most problematic issue is a strong cyan color cast in flash shots mixed with tungsten lighting, which turns skin tones greenish and looks a little unpleasant.

Lenovo Z6 Pro camera review (originally published July 16, 2019)

Launched April 2019, the Lenovo Z6 Pro is the Chinese manufacturer’s latest flagship phone and boasts an impressive set of specifications at a competitive price. The device features a large 6.39-inch AMOLED display and follows recent design trends with a discrete water-drop notch for the selfie camera, alongside a fairly thin chin to maximize the screen real estate.

Including the latest octa-core Snapdragon 855 (7 nm) chipset, the Z6 Pro comes with plenty of processing power, and for photography enthusiasts, the smartphone is advertised as a quad-cam device, with a standard wide-angle camera, a telephoto-lens camera, an ultra-wide-angle camera, and a dedicated 2Mp video camera. If you include the additional Time Of Flight (TOF) 3D sensor used for depth sensing in Portrait Mode, though, you could say it houses five cameras.

The Z6 Pro’s main camera utilizes a 48Mp 1/2-inch Quad-Bayer sensor coupled to a wide-angle (28mm equivalent) f/1.8 lens. Quad-bayer sensors aim to improve color, detail, and dynamic range by combining the signal from four adjacent pixels into one, which results in a final 12Mp (4000×3000 pixels) output. For zoom shots, there’s an 8Mp secondary camera with a f/2.4 tele-lens that, like the primary camera, comes with PDAF autofocus.

The 16Mp ultra-wide-angle lens adds some additional imaging functionality but isn’t currently included in our testing protocols.

Key camera specifications:

  • Quad-camera setup
  • Primary: 48Mp Quad-Bayer 1/2-inch sensor (12Mp output) with 28mm-equivalent f/1.8 lens
  • Telephoto: 8Mp sensor with f/2.4 lens
  • Ultra-wide: 16Mp sensor with 12mm f/2.2 lens
  • 2Mp dedicated video camera
  • PDAF autofocus
  • Dual LED flash
  • 2160p (4K)/30fps video (1080p/30fps at default settings)
Lenovo Z6 Pro Video and Image Samples

About DxOMark Mobile tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DxOMark Mobile test protocol, click here. More details on how we score smartphone cameras are available here.

Test summary

95
camera
103
photo
79
video

With an overall DxOMark mobile score of 95 points, the Lenovo Z6 Pro achieves a mid-range score in our rankings, one that’s comparable to slightly older devices such as the OnePlus 6 (96 points) and the Apple iPhone 8 Plus (94 points). There’s a strong difference between the Z6 Pro’s photo and video performance, however, with its performance much stronger for stills, achieving a Photo score of 103 points, compared to just 79 points for video. As such, it’s better suited for stills-orientated photographers. Although a Photo score of 103 doesn’t challenge the very best performers in our database, such as the Huawei P30 Pro and the OnePlus 7 Pro (with 119 and 118 points, respectively), the Z6 Pro is a capable device for stills.

Target exposures are good in all lighting conditions, with high levels of contrast when tested under controlled and well-balanced conditions in the lab. Images are slightly underexposed in very low light, but remain usable; and even in near-dark conditions of only 1 lux, they’re just about exploitable.

The Lenovo Z6 Pro provides accurate exposures of uniformly-lit outdoor scenes, with good detail and reasonably pleasant color rendering.

In our analysis of natural test scene images, target exposure is good in uniformly-lit scenes. Dynamic range in bright high-contrast conditions isn’t quite as wide as some of the best performers, and you can see in our comparison that the Google Pixel 3 and OnePlus 6T maintain more detail in the sky. The Lenovo Z6 Pro does preserve nice detail in the shadow regions while maintaining good overall contrast, however, which provides a pleasant (if not overly strong) HDR effect. In backlit portraits, the same analysis is borne out, with the Z6 Pro providing an accurately-exposed portrait, but with some very noticeable highlight clipping in the bright background details.

Lenovo Z6 Pro, high-contrast scene
Google Pixel 3, high-contrast scene
OnePlus 6T, high-contrast scene

Color is something of a weakness for the Z6 Pro, with fairly low saturation in outdoor and low-light conditions, as well such white balance failures as a slight yellow/green color cast and some color shading in outdoor images. It’s fair to say that viewing images in isolation, color on the Z6 Pro is mainly acceptable, and saturation is quite good in indoor images. Outdoors and especially in low-light conditions, however, the lack of saturation is particularly noticeable when comparing images side-by-side. 

Lenovo Z6 Pro, color rendering
Google Pixel 3, color rendering
OnePlus 6T, color rendering

The Z6 Pro handles the texture-versus-noise trade-off well, making it a key strength for the device. Detail is especially well-preserved in indoor and outdoor images, where we recorded high acutance scores of over 80%. Detail preservation is also consistent across the image field, so you can expect the same level of detail in the corners and in the center, which isn’t always the case with smartphone images.

It’s not quite as strong for texture in low-light conditions, where a noticeable loss of fine detail is evident, but the Z6 Pro is a good performer for detail nonetheless. It manages visual noise well in all lighting conditions, too, with relatively clean areas of uniform color (such as the sky); and even in very low light, luminance noise is relatively low, with little sign of any problematic chromatic noise.

Lenovo Z6 Pro, detail preservation
Lenovo Z6 Pro, crop
Google Pixel 3, detail preservation
Google Pixel 3, crop
OnePlus 6T, detail preservation
OnePlus 6T, crop

The addition of a tele-camera ensures good zoom results at close range (~2x magnification), with well-preserved details in outdoor shots and very acceptable results indoors, too. Fine details are lost in medium range (~4x magnification) and long range (~8x magnification) shots in all lighting conditions, but resolution remains acceptable. Noise is well-controlled in zoom shots generally, and although some minor ringing and fringing artifacts are visible under close inspection, they’re not too detrimental overall.

Lenovo Z6 Pro, close-range zoom
Lenovo Z6 Pro, crop
Google Pixel 3, close-range zoom
Google Pixel 3, crop
Xiaomi Mi 9, close-range zoom
Xiaomi Mi 9, crop

The Z6 Pro implements a fairly effective bokeh simulation for blurring backgrounds in Portrait mode. The depth-of-field effect is reasonably pleasant, and the bokeh spotlights show good contrast and a nice circular shape. That said, sometimes it renders bokeh spotlights when it should not, with results that appear unnatural, as though there are holes in the background (such as in the example below).

Repeatability is good, so the effect is consistently applied when requested and levels of noise are uniform across both the sharp and smoothed areas for a natural effect. Depth estimation could be slightly improved, as it doesn’t always handle complex areas well, such the glasses on the model in the example below. Edge artifacts are sometimes visible, too, and the blur gradient can be a little jarring.

Lenovo Z6 Pro, bokeh simulation
Lenovo Z6 Pro, crop
Google Pixel 3, bokeh simulation
Google Pixel 3, crop
OnePlus 6T, bokeh simulation
OnePlus 6T, crop

Shots using the Z6 Pro’s dual-LED flash display accurate target exposure on portraits, with well-controlled noise and good detail preservation, although a fairly slow exposure time can result in motion blur. Some corner shading is visible in both flash-only (0 lux) and mixed-lighting (5 lux) shots, resulting in slightly more noise in the corners and some minor color shading, but on the whole it’s well handled. The most problematic issue is a strong cyan color cast in flash shots mixed with tungsten lighting, which turns skin tones greenish and looks a little unpleasant.

Lenovo Z6 Pro, flash shot at 0 lux
Lenovo Z6 Pro, flash shot with 5 lux tungsten lighting

We deducted points for obvious artifacts, or image quality flaws. The most problematic issue is heavy ringing that appears as a halo or outline along contrast edges, and while it’s usually only really noticeable when viewing images at close quarters, heavy ringing can give images a fake or “photoshopped” feel. We applied some smaller penalties for some flare, distortion, cyan shift, moiré, and ghosting, but these issues occurred either less frequently or had less of an overall impact on image quality.

Lenovo Z6 Pro, ringing artifact
Lenovo Z6 Pro, crop
Lenovo Z6 Pro, moiré artifact
Lenovo Z6 Pro, crop

A good score for autofocus, with the Z6 Pro’s PDAF system ensuring fast and accurate results in all our benchmark tests, and consistently delivering in-focus shots during our natural test scene analysis. Shooting consecutive images in the lab, defocusing the device between shots and then waiting either a short (500ms) or long (2000 ms) delay before requesting focus, the Z6 Pro consistently snapped into focus in super-quick time. All the shots were in focus, too—but this said, the device tends to over-sharpen a little (as indicated by acutance scores over 100%), which can look a little unnatural, particularly in low-light images.

Lenovo Z6 Pro, autofocus performance in low light (20 lux)

The Lenovo Z6 Pro is noticeably weaker in video performance, so it isn’t ideal for multimedia content creators after both high-quality stills and movies. Video exposure on the whole is acceptable, and particularly in well-balanced, uniformly-lit conditions, target exposures are pretty good, except in extreme low-light conditions. Dynamic range is limited in most lighting conditions, though, and both highlight and shadow clipping occur, especially in bright or high-contrast scenes. Exposure can be a little unstable in natural test scenes, too, where minor changes to the camera position or in lighting conditions cause fluctuations in exposure.

Lenovo Z6 Pro, video target exposure analysis by lighting condition

Another relative strength for the Z6 Pro’s video is detail preservation, with good texture evident in movies shot under indoor (100 lux) to outdoor (1000 lux) lighting conditions. Edge detail is particularly well-preserved, even in low light; and although texture scores drop off somewhat as the lighting is reduced, they remain acceptable, although a build-up of coarse spatial noise is fairly prominent in the shadow areas in low-light videos.

Lenovo Z6 Pro, video detail analysis by lighting condition

The most problematic issue for video is stabilization, however, with the Z6 Pro’s Gyro-EIS system seemingly ineffective in all conditions. Significant wobbles and judders are visible, even in static handheld videos. Autofocus is fast in most conditions, but it’s very unstable, with poor tracking that results in constant refocusing and overshoots that can be quite distracting on playback.

Lenovo Z6 Pro, video in bright light

Conclusion

Boasting the latest Snapdragon 855 chipset, a premium design, with a large 6.39-inch AMOLED screen and four (arguably five) cameras, the Z6 Pro has all the hallmarks of a top-end flagship at a very competitive price. The camera performance is noticeably better for stills than for video, and while it doesn’t quite challenge the best flagship devices we’ve tested, it puts in an admirable performance across the board, with decent exposures, acceptable color, and good flash, zoom, and bokeh shots. The Z6 Pro’s overall score was dragged down by its weaker video capabilities, however, which are dogged by ineffective stabilization and unstable autofocus. So if it’s an all-rounder that you desire, there are better options, but for the classic stills photographer, the Lenovo Z6 Pro has plenty to offer.

Photo pros

  • Generally accurate target exposures
  • Pleasant color rendering indoors
  • Fairly well-preserved detail
  • Accurate exposure and color using flash without additional lighting
  • Good detail on outdoor zoom shots
  • Nice shape and contrast to bokeh spotlights

Video pros

  • Good exposure in well-balanced lighting
  • Well-preserved detail in bright light
  • Generally fast autofocus

Photo cons

  • Limited dynamic range in high-contrast conditions
  • Desaturated color in outdoor and low-light conditions
  • White balance failures and strong color shading using flash mixed with tungsten lighting

Video cons

  • Ineffective stabilization
  • Autofocus instabilities, poor tracking
  • Limited dynamic range
  • Coarse noise in low-light videos
  • Ringing, judder, cyan shift, and aliasing artifacts all visible

Videos


In the Press

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.