Oppo Find X2 Pro 摄像头评测

124
camera

Oppo Find X2 Pro是中国制造商Oppo在高端市场中推出的最新产品,配备有高通骁龙865芯片组和120Hz QHD+显示器。Oppo是一家以移动影像创新而闻名的制造商,而Find X2 Pro也沿袭这一传统。其三摄像头配置的规格看起来令人印象深刻,结合了标准的5倍远摄镜头和16毫米超广角摄像头。

该Oppo手机的主摄像头内置非常大的1/1.4英寸4800万像素传感器,可输出1200万像素图像,同时搭载等效焦距26毫米的f/1.7镜头。其超广角镜头的等效焦距为16毫米,这并非我们所见过最宽广的超广角镜头,不过其规格与其许多最接近的竟品差不多。它配备了相当大的1/2英寸传感器和PDAF自动对焦;1300万像素远摄摄像头提供了惊人的5倍光学变焦倍率和光学影像防抖功能,但f/3光圈的速度比大多数竞品慢。

尽管如此,与任何竟品相比之下,该Oppo手机的摄像头硬件规格都令人印象深刻。请阅读我们的DXOMARK Camera评测,了解这些规格是否可以在现实生活和实验室中转化为出色的表现。

请注意:用于此次测试的手机是一个预生产设备,本次测试使用的固件版本OPPO将在4月中旬前提供给手机用户,一如我们一直遵循的规则,我们将使用市售的设备再进行一次测试,以确认图像质量是否相同。

摄像头主要规格:

  • 三摄像头设置
  • 主摄像头:4800万像素1/1.4英寸Quad-Bayer传感器,f/1.7镜头,等效焦距25.46毫米,光学影像防抖
  • 超广角镜头:4800万像素1/2英寸Quad-Bayer传感器,f/2.2镜头,等效16.5毫米
  • 远摄镜头:1300万像素1/3.4英寸传感器,f/3镜头,等效焦距128.77毫米,光学影像防抖
  • 所有摄像头均配备有相位检测自动对焦
  • 双色LED闪光灯
  • 4K/60fps(实际测得帧率为4K/30fps)HDR视频

关于DXOMARK Camera测试DXOMARK工程师使用摄像头的默认设置,在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中拍摄超过1600张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,之后评鉴其拍摄结果,以实现智能手机前置摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DXOMARK Camera评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处。有关我们如何为智能手机摄像头评分的更多详情,请参见此处

测试结果

124
camera
134
photo
104
video

全新的Oppo Find X2 Pro的DXAMARK Camera总体得分为124分,与我们当前排行榜中的顶级手机Xiaomi 10 Pro同分。两款手机的照片和视频得分也都相同(分别为134分和104分),但其优缺点却略有不同。尽管小米在一些关键项目(例如,纹理勾勒和变焦性能)上表现出色,但也有一些小弱点。相比之下,该Oppo手机的表现更加四平八稳,在几乎所有的照片和视频测试项目中,其测试结果都接近我们看到过的最佳结果。因此,如果您在两者之间犹豫不决,难以下抉择,请仔细阅读我们在此处提供的详细测试结果,以便选择最适合您的特定需求的手机。

该Oppo手机的总体表现非常四平八稳。而特别值得一提的是,它的自动对焦系统在所有条件下都能快速而可靠地进行静态图像拍摄和视频录制,其出色的视频防抖在边走边录制时也拍出了非常流畅的影片,这也给我们的测试人员留下了深刻的印象。视频曝光是Find X2 Pro另一个表现优异的领域,该手机可在低光下拍出良好的测标曝光。

Oppo Find X2 Pro图像在几乎任何条件下均展现了绝好的色彩和良好的曝光效果。

Oppo Find X2 Pro摄像头的曝光系统在所有光照条件下(甚至到非常微弱的光线下)都可以拍出良好的测标曝光度。该摄像头的动态范围也很广,可以有效地应对棘手的高对比度场景的挑战,在画面的高光位和阴影区域都可以拍到出色的细节。

Oppo Find X2 Pro,良好的曝光和动态范围
小米10 Pro,良好的曝光和动态范围
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,良好的曝光和动态范围

色彩是该摄像头的另一项优势,在明亮的户外条件下以及典型的室内拍摄情况下,其图像均具有出色的演色性、良好的饱和度和准确的白平衡。只有在低光下,我们才会看到白平衡准确度有所下降,偶尔会出现一些轻微的色偏。

Oppo Find X2 Pro,良好的演色性,准确的白平衡
小米10 Pro,良好的饱和度和白平衡
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,饱和度略低,白平衡良好

该Oppo手机摄像头在所有光照条件下都能在细节保留和噪点管理之间取得良好的平衡。不过,尽管该手机拍摄到的细节水平不错,但仍然不如在该类别中表现最佳的手机(例如小米10 Pro),如下面的户外比较样张所示。与小米手机相比,该Oppo手机在石材的精细纹理上呈现了较少的细节,不过它的表现优于iPhone。该手机在较微弱的光线下可以很好地保留整体纹理,但是在运动场景中纹理会明显变少。

Oppo Find X2 Pro,非常好的细节
Oppo Find X2 Pro,裁剪图
小米10 Pro,出色的细节
小米10 Pro,裁剪图
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,良好的细节
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,裁剪图

Find X2 Pro图像中的噪点通常得到很好的控制,在明亮的户外条件下几乎看不到噪点。在室内场景中(例如下面的样张中),您可以在阴影区域看到一些亮度噪点,但是该Oppo手机在这里的表现仍然出色:在我们的比较中,它所拍出的图像是最清晰的。如您所料,在非常微弱的光线下,噪点和细节损失都变得更加明显,但是总体而言,该Oppo手机的摄像头在所有光线条件下都能很好地控制噪点。

Oppo Find X2 Pro,噪点不多
Oppo Find X2 Pro,裁剪图
小米10 Pro,一些细微的亮度噪点
小米10 Pro,裁剪图
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,粗大的亮度噪点
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,裁剪图

Find X2 Pro在自动对焦方面获得了出色的成绩(100分)。在我们的实验室测试中,该摄像头在所有光线条件下散焦后,几乎都可以立即在测试表上准确地锁定焦点。此外,我们的测试人员还发现,在拍摄真实场景时,该手机的自动对焦表现都非常出色。

低光下(20勒克斯)的自动对焦比对

Find X2 Pro大致控制了各种图像伪像;但是,我们因为高对比度边缘上的振铃效应和一些逆光场景中的耀斑(例如下面的场景)而对它扣了一点分数。我们还在角落处观察到清晰度稍微降低,以及一些混叠效应和蓝天中因色彩通道溢光而产生的剪切纹理,但是这些问题都不大。

Oppo Find X2 Pro,明显的耀斑
小米10 Pro,非常轻微的耀斑
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,没有耀斑

Find X2 Pro的超广角摄像头的等效焦距为16毫米,与某些竟品(例如小米10 Pro)相当,但并未成为视场最广的摄像头之一(例如,iPhone 11 Pro Max和最新的三星机型分别搭载13毫米和12毫米镜头)。不过,使用它的超广角镜头所拍摄的整体图像质量非常好,测标曝光良好,白平衡准确,整个画面的畸变也得到了很好的控制。

美中不足的是,它的动态范围比主摄像头更小,在高对比度场景中可以看到一些高光位剪切。该摄像头拍摄到的细节也比主摄像头更少。此外,我们还在室内条件下观察到一些亮度噪点,角落的清晰度也有所降低。总体而言,该Oppo手机的超广角摄像头在大多数情况下的表现都非常好,但还不能完全与该项目中表现最好的手机平起平坐。

Oppo Find X2 Pro
小米10 Pro
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max

Find X2 Pro配备5倍光学远摄镜头,这是少数提供光学摄距如此远的远摄手机之一。虽然配备双远摄镜头的小米10 Pro在所有测试的变焦距离上的表现仍领先于Find X2 Pro,但该Oppo手机的整体变焦表现非常出色,尤其是在变焦的远摄端上更是如此,如下面的5倍样张所示。

该Oppo手机在画面中央拍出了最佳清晰度和最明净的图像。小米的表现也没有太逊色,反观苹果手机的图像清晰度则明显较低,细节也更少。但是,在该Oppo手机的图像中,朝向画面边缘的细节也显然有逐渐变少的趋势。您可以在下面的裁剪图中看到这样的过渡。

Oppo Find X2 Pro,5倍变焦
Oppo Find X2 Pro,裁剪图,中间的细节非常到位,但出现了融合伪像
小米10 Pro,5倍变焦
小米10 Pro,裁剪图,细节到位
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max, 5倍变焦
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,裁剪图,细节丢失

在中距变焦照片中时而可见融合伪像。在下图中,我们可以在风中飘扬的旗帜上看到重影效果。在金属圆屋顶的纹理中,我们也可以观察到画面外部区域细节不多的问题。

Oppo Find X2 Pro,5倍变焦
Oppo Find X2 Pro,裁剪图,重影,丢失细节

该Oppo手机的散景模式也取得了很高的分数。它能很好地隔离人像中的被摄体,几乎没有深度估计伪像,即使在诸如头发等复杂的图像元素上也是如此。在背景和前景上也都有不错的模糊渐变层次,背景点光的形状和对比度也都很不错。此外,散景图像也有良好的色彩和动态范围,可在更具挑战性的光线条件下进行拍摄。

Oppo Find X2 Pro,良好的被摄体隔离
Oppo Find X2 Pro,裁剪图
小米10 Pro,良好的被摄体隔离
小米10 Pro,裁剪图
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,深度估计错误
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,裁剪图

在夜间摄影测试中,Find X2 Pro的表现也是我们迄今看到过最好的之一。在关闭闪光灯的情况下,所拍摄的夜景图像呈现了良好的曝光度和色彩,但细节略有损失。在下面的样张中,您可以看到小米10 Pro拍出了最明亮的曝光度,其细节也比Find X2 Pro更好,不过总体而言,该Oppo手机在此场景中的表现非常出色。反观iPhone图像的色彩显然不那么饱和,噪点也更多。

Oppo Find X2 Pro,细节到位,噪点不多
Oppo Find X2 Pro,裁剪图
小米10 Pro,出色的细节,噪点不多
小米10 Pro,裁剪图
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,细节到位,但有些噪点
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,裁剪图

在这个场景中我们可以看到在背景高光部分OPPO处理得比小米更好,图像中的噪点也明显偏少。

Oppo Find X2 Pro, 自动闪光, 高光保留良好且噪点少
小米 10 Pro, 自动闪光, 高光剪切, 强亮度噪点

在没有闪光灯的人像拍摄下,拍摄对象有时会稍微曝光不足。但是在下面的比较中,您可以看到与小米相比,脸部的曝光更好,并且背景中的高光剪切更少。与小米10 Pro相比,OPPO Find X2 Pro 的图像更清晰,亮度噪点明显偏少。

Oppo Find X2 Pro, 闪光灯关闭, 轻微曝光不足,噪点少
小米 10 Pro, 曝光不足,亮度噪点

在不使用闪光灯的人像拍摄中,被摄对象可能曝光不足,但在自动闪光人像中,当闪光灯触发时,则可以拍出良好的细节和曝光度。在我们的实验室中,打开闪光灯时的拍摄表现也非常好,在全黑环境下拍摄时,可以拍出良好的白平衡,噪点不多,细节也到位。但是在微弱的钨丝灯光下可以看到浓烈的橙色色偏。

该手机也提供了专用的夜间模式,但与默认设置相比,其性能并没有任何实质性的改进。正如下面的夜间模式样张所示,它的对比度异常低,被摄对象的脸部也显得特别扁平。它的优点在于,其噪点水平可能低于标准模式。

Oppo Find X2 Pro,夜间模式的对比度低
小米10 Pro,良好的曝光,色调偏冷
iPhone 11 Pro Max,良好的曝光,红色色偏

由于Oppo Find X2 Pro在所有视频测试项目中都取得了出色的测试成绩,因此在当前的视频排名中拿下了高分,而其高效的影像防抖和非常好的HDR渲染更是该手机的一大亮点。后者可确保宽广的动态范围,在难处理的高对比度场景中可以最大程度地减少高光位和阴影剪切。如下面的示例剪辑所示,该手机的防抖有助于在手持摄像头或在边走边拍时录制平稳而流畅的影像。它还可以在典型的室内照明条件下确保不同的帧之间的清晰度保持一致,反观许多其他手机,这是难以克服的一大问题。

Oppo Find X2 Pro,绝好的防抖
小米10 Pro,良好的防抖
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,良好的防抖

该Oppo手机的4K视频影片在户外条件下也可以展现宜人的色彩和准确的白平衡,在低至约5勒克斯的光照水平下的噪点也不多,不过,此时画面会变得太暗,影片也开始变得曝光不足。与静止图像模式一样,视频的自动对焦效果很好,可对场景的变化做出快速反应。

美中不足的是,我们在HDR场景中看到一些曝光不稳定的问题。这通常是出现在天空中的闪烁效果,例如下面的示例所示。iPhone 11 Pro Max也将HDR渲染应用于其视频画面,其效果非常相似。

Oppo Find X2 Pro,天空中的曝光不稳定
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,天空中的曝光不稳定

此外,在录制明亮的户外场景或在室内条件下拍摄时,我们会看到高对比度边缘上出现了一些振铃效应。总体上来说,该手机的纹理和细节都不错,但比不上小米10 Pro的水平,我们的测试人员还在一些户外影片中发现了局部纹理略有损失的迹象。这些相同的影片中也可能会出现一些噪点,但问题不大。总体而言,X2 Pro是您可以掏腰包买到的最佳摄影手机之一。

视频纹理比较
视觉噪点比较

结论

之前,我们已经见识过Oppo出色的智能手机摄像头,而Find X2 Pro更是该中国公司迄今为止的一大杰作。其摄像头在所有测试项目中的表现都很好,因此与小米10 Pro一起荣登DXOMARK Camera排行榜的冠军宝座。无论您是在晴朗的户外或在光线幽暗的餐厅内,无论您以超广角或5倍变焦倍率拍摄,无论您拍摄散景照片或录制4K视频片段,Find 2X Pro都不会让您失望。因此,对于那些仰赖智能手机摄像头在各种不同的情况下拍摄的移动摄影者而言,这款手机堪为一款首选设备。

照片

优点

  • 出色的自动对焦性能
  • 良好的色彩和宽广的动态范围
  • 所有光线条件下的噪点都不多
  • 近距和远距变焦照片中的细节到位
  • 超广角照片的表现不错,几乎没有畸变
  • 逼真的散景照片,动态范围宽广

不足

  • 在中距变焦照片中,朝向边缘的细节有变少的趋势
  • 拍摄人像时,HDR有时不会触发,尤其是在室内
  • 超广角照片稍微缺乏细节

视频

优点

  • 直至低光下曝光表现都不错
  • 良好的色彩和宽广的动态范围
  • 出色的影像防抖
  • 快速而靠谱的自动对焦
  • 低光视频中出现噪点

不足

  • HDR场景中出现了一些曝光不稳定性
  • 户外影片中偶尔出现轻微的局部纹理损失
  • 户外视频中出现了一些噪点

Videos

Oppo Find X2 Pro camera review

Reading Time: 15 min read
124
camera

The Oppo Find X2 Pro is Chinese manufacturer Oppo’s latest addition to the high-end bracket of the market, and features a Qualcomm Snapdragon 865 chipset and a 120Hz QHD+ display. Oppo is a manufacturer that has long been known for innovation in mobile imaging, and the Find X2 Pro follows in this tradition. Its camera specifications look impressive, and include a triple-camera setup that combines a standard-wide with 5x tele and 16mm ultra-wide cameras.

The primary shooter has a very large 1/1.4-inch 48MP Quad-Bayer sensor that produces 12MP output and channels incoming light through a 26m-equivalent lens with a fast f/1.7 aperture. With a 16mm-equivalent lens, the ultra-wide camera isn’t the widest we have seen, but it is in line with many of the Oppo’s direct competitors. It comes with a fairly large 1/2-inch sensor and PDAF autofocus. The 13MP tele-camera offers a whopping 5x optical zoom factor and optical image stabilization, but the f/3 aperture is slower than on most competing devices.

Nevertheless, the Oppo’s camera hardware specifications look mighty impressive next to any competitor’s. Find out if these specs translate into outstanding real-life and lab performance via our DXOMARK Camera review.

Please note: We tested the Find X2 Pro using firmware that Oppo plans to provide to customers by mid-April, thus the device we tested is a pre-production unit. As we always do in these cases, we will repeat the test with a commercial device when available to confirm that the image quality is identical

Key camera specifications:

  • Triple-camera setup
  • Primary: 48M 1/1.4-inch Quad-Bayer sensor and 25.46mm-equivalent f/1.7-aperture lens, OIS
  • Ultra-wide: 48MP 1/2-inch Quad-Bayer sensor and 16.5mm-equivalent f/2.2-aperture lens
  • Tele: 13MP 1/3.4-inch sensor and 128.77mm-equivalent f/3-aperture lens, OIS
  • PDAF on all cameras
  • Dual-LED flash
  • 4K/60fps video with HDR (4K/30fps tested)

About DXOMARK Camera tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DXOMARK engineers capture and evaluate over 1600 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DXOMARK Camera test protocol, click here. More details on how we score smartphone cameras are available here.

Test results

124
camera
134
photo
104
video

With a DXOMARK Camera overall score of 124, the brand-new Oppo Find X2 Pro matches the current top device in our rankings, the Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro. Both devices also share the same Photo and Video sub-scores at 134 and 104, respectively, but have slightly different sets of strengths and weaknesses. While the Xiaomi excels in a few key categories—for example, texture rendering and zoom performance, it also has a few slightly weaker areas. By contrast, the Oppo delivers a more balanced performance, with results that are close to the best we have seen in almost all Photo and Video sub-categories. So if you’re undecided between the two, have a closer look at the detailed results we present here and make sure you pick the device that is best suited to your particular needs.

In addition to its very balanced performance overall, we want to mention that our testers were particularly impressed by the Oppo’s autofocus system, which worked swiftly and reliably in all conditions for both still image and video shooting, as well as by the excellent video stabilization, which delivers very smooth footage when walking while recording. Video exposure was another area of excellence for the Find X2 Pro, delivering good target exposures down to pretty low light levels.

Oppo Find X2 Pro images show excellent color and good exposure in almost any condition.

The Oppo Find X2 Pro camera’s exposure system delivers very good target exposures across all light levels down to very low light. Dynamic range is also wide, allowing the camera to deal efficiently with challenging high-contrast scenes, capturing good detail in both the highlight and shadow regions of the frame.

Oppo Find X2 Pro, good exposure and dynamic range
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, good exposure and dynamic range
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, good exposure and dynamic range

Color is another strength of the camera, with images showing nice color rendering, good saturation, and accurate white balance in bright outdoor conditions as well as in typical indoor shooting situations. Only in low light did we see white balance accuracy drop a little, with some slight color casts occasionally becoming visible.

Oppo Find X2 Pro, good color rendering, accurate white balance
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, good saturation and white balance
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, slightly lower saturation, good white balance

The Oppo camera manages a good balance between detail retention and noise management in all light conditions, but while the level of captured detail is good, it’s not quite as high as on the best in class—for example, the Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro—as you can see in the outdoor comparison samples below. The Oppo resolves less detail in the fine texture of the stone than the Xiaomi, but it just edges out the iPhone. Overall texture is well maintained in lower light, but decreases noticeably in moving scenes.

Oppo Find X2 Pro, very good detail
Oppo Find X2 Pro, crop
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, outstanding detail
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, crop
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, good detail
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, crop

Noise is generally well controlled in Find X2 Pro images and hardly noticeable in bright outdoor conditions. In indoor scenes, such as in the sample below, you can see some luminance noise in shadow areas, but the Oppo still does very well here, producing the cleanest image in our comparison. As you would expect, both noise and a loss of detail become more obvious in very low light, but overall, the Oppo camera controls noise very well across all light conditions.

Oppo Find X2 Pro, low noise
Oppo Find X2 Pro, crop
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, some fine luminance noise
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, crop
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, coarse luminance noise
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, crop

The Find X2 Pro earned an excellent Autofocus sub-score of 100. In our lab tests, the camera locked onto the test charts accurately and pretty much immediately after defocusing in all light conditions. In addition, our testers found the autofocus performance to be excellent while capturing real-life scenes.

Autofocus comparison in low light (20 lux)

The Find X2 Pro generally controlled all kinds of image artifacts well; however, we applied some penalty points for flare, which can be visible in some contre-jour scenes, such as the one below, as well as for ringing along high-contrast edges. We also observed some slight corner softness, aliasing effects, and channel clipping in blue skies, but these problems were fairly minor.

Oppo Find X2 Pro, noticeable flare
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro,  very slight flare
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, no flare

The Find X2 Pro’s ultra-wide camera offers a 16mm-equivalent focal length that is in line with some competitors, such as the Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, but is not one of the widest out there (for example, the iPhone 11 Pro Max and the latest Samsung models feature 13mm and 12mm lenses, respectively). Overall image quality when shooting with the ultra-wide is very good, though, with good target exposure, accurate white balance, and well-controlled distortion across the frame.

On the downside, dynamic range is more limited than for the primary camera, with some highlight clipping visible in high-contrast scenes. Levels of detail are also lower than on the main camera, and we observed some luminance noise in indoor conditions, as well as some corner softness. The Oppo ultra-wide performs very well in most conditions overall, but cannot quite match the best in class.

Oppo Find X2 Pro
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max

The Find X2 Pro comes with a 5x optical tele lens, making it one of only a small handful of phones to offer such a long optical telephoto reach. The Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro with its dual-tele lenses is still ahead of the Oppo across all tested zoom distances, but the Find X2 Pro’s overall zoom performance is excellent, especially at the long end of the zoom, as you can see in the 5x samples below.

The Oppo delivers the best sharpness and cleanest image at the center of the frame. The Xiaomi is not far off, but the Apple image is noticeably softer and less detailed. However, in the Oppo image there’s also a very noticeable drop in detail towards the edges of frame. You can see the transition in the crop below.

Oppo Find X2 Pro, 5x zoom
Oppo Find X2 Pro, crop, very good detail at center, but fusion artifacts
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, 5x zoom
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, crop, good detail
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, 5x zoom
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, crop, loss of detail

Fusion artifacts are also sometimes visible in medium-range zoom shots. In the image below, we can see a ghosting effect on the flag moving in the wind. The lack of detail in the outer areas of the frame can again be see in the texture of the metal roof of the dome.

Oppo Find X2 Pro, 5x zoom
Oppo Find X2 Pro, crop, ghosting and loss of detail

The Oppo also scores well for its bokeh mode, which creates very good background isolation of portrait subjects and few depth estimation artifacts, even on complex image elements such as hair. There’s also a nice blur gradient both in the background and foreground, and background spotlights are nicely shaped and contrasted. In addition, bokeh images show good color and dynamic range, making the mode usable in more challenging light conditions.

Oppo Find X2 Pro, good subject isolation
Oppo Find X2 Pro, crop
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, good subject isolation
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, crop
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, depth estimation errors
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, crop

The Find X2 Pro delivers one of the best performances for the Night category that we have seen so far. Night cityscape images shot with the flash switched off show good exposure and color, but display a slight loss of detail. In the samples below, you can see that the Mi 10 Pro delivers the brightest exposure and slightly better detail than the Oppo, but overall, the Find X2 Pro does very well with this scene. The iPhone image is noticeably less saturated and shows more noise.

Oppo Find X2 Pro, good detail, lownoise
Oppo Find X2 Pro, crop
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, excellent detail, low noise
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, crop
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, good detail, but some noise
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, crop

In this scene we can see that the Oppo deals better than the Xiaomi with highlights in the background. The Oppo image is also considerably less noisy.

Oppo Find X2 Pro, flash-auto, good highlight-retention and low noise
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, flash-auto, highlight clipping, strong luminance noise

Subjects can be slightly underexposed in portrait shots without flash but in the comparison below you can see that exposure on the face is better and there is less highlight clipping in the background than on the Xiaomi. The Oppo image is also cleaner, with noticeably less luminance noise than in the Mi 10 Pro image.

Oppo Find X2 Pro, flash-off, slight underexposure and low noise
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, underexposure and luminance noise

Flash-auto portraits also show good detail and exposure when the flash triggers. Flash-on performance in our lab is also excellent, with good white balance, low noise, and good detail when shooting in total darkness. But under low tungsten light a strong orange cast becomes visible.

The Oppo also offers a dedicated night mode, but it doesn’t really offer any improvement over the default settings. As you can see in the night mode samples below, contrast is unnaturally low, and the subject’s face looks especially flat. On the plus side, noise levels can be lower than in standard mode.

Oppo Find X2 Pro, low contrast in night mode
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, good exposure, cool cast
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max,, good exposure, reddish cast

At 104 points, the Oppo Find X2 Pro matches the current high score for video, thanks to excellent test results across all categories, but its efficient image stabilization and very good HDR rendering are particular highlights. The latter ensures a wide dynamic range and minimizes highlight and shadow clipping in difficult high-contrast scenes. The stabilization helps keep things smooth and steady when hand-holding the camera or when walking while recording, as you can see in the sample clips below. It also provides good sharpness consistency between frames under typical indoor lighting, something many other devices can struggle with.

Oppo Find X2 Pro, excellent stabilization
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, good stabilization
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, good stabilization

Footage from the Oppo’s 4K video mode also shows pleasant colors and accurate white balance in outdoor conditions, and low noise levels down to approximately 5 lux. At that point, things get too dark and footage starts being underexposed. Like with still image mode, the autofocus performs well and reacts swiftly to changes in the scene.

On the downside, we saw some exposure instabilities in HDR scenes. These are often noticeable as a kind of blinking effect in the sky, such as in the sample below. The iPhone 11 Pro Max, which also applies HDR rendering to its video footage, shows a very similar effect.

Oppo Find X2 Pro, exposure instabilities in the sky
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, exposure instabilities in the sky

In addition, we saw some ringing along high-contrast edges when recording bright outdoor scenes or when shooting under indoor conditions. Texture and detail are good overall, but not on the same level as the Mi 10 Pro, and our testers also spotted some signs of a slight loss of local texture in some outdoor clips. Those same clips can also show some noise, but these are minor quibbles; overall, the X2 Pro is one of the best devices for mobile shooting that your money can buy.

Video texture comparison
Video noise comparison

Conclusion

We’ve seen excellent smartphone cameras from Oppo before, but the Find X2 Pro is the Chinese company’s masterpiece so far. It joins the Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro in the top spot of our DXOMARK Camera rankings, thanks to its camera delivering in all areas. Whether you shoot on a sunny day outside or in a dimly-lit restaurant, or shoot with the ultra-wide angle or the 5x zoom, or record a bokeh shot or a 4K video clip, the Find X2 Pro is highly unlikely to disappoint, making it the go-to device for mobile photographers who rely on their smartphone camera in a wide variety of situations.

Photo

Pros

  • Excellent autofocus performance
  • Nice colors and wide dynamic range
  • Low noise levels in all light conditions
  • Good detail in close- and long-range zoom shots
  • Nice ultra-wide shots with little distortion
  • Realistic bokeh shots with wide dynamic range

Cons

  • Detail drops towards the edges of medium-range zoom shots
  • HDR sometimes does not trigger for portrait shots, especially indoors
  • Slight lack of detail in ultra-wide shots

Video

Pros

  • Good exposure down to low light
  • Good color and wide dynamic range
  • Excellent image stabilization
  • Fast and reliable autofocus
  • Low noise in low light clips

Cons

  • Some exposure instabilities on HDR scenes
  • Occasional slight local loss of texture in outdoor clips
  • Some noise in outdoor videos

Videos

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.