小米10 Pro 摄像头评测

124
camera
小米10 Pro是这家中国制造商的全新高端机型,提供全面且优越的规格,包括高通的最新高端芯片组骁龙865,具有FHD+分辨率的6.67英寸显示器。在相机部分,新旗舰使用与去年重磅机型小米CC9 Pro 尊享版极为相似的硬件——1.08亿像素、1/1.33英寸大型图像传感器的主摄像头,结合2000万像素的超广角镜头和双远摄镜头,可在各种变焦倍率下提供优越的表现。
用于近距变焦的远摄镜头配有1200万像素传感器和50毫米等效焦距镜头。当进一步增加变焦倍数时,会启用配有94毫米等效镜头和800万像素传感器的第二远摄镜头。今年是小米智能手机业务的十周年庆。小米10 Pro是否足以庆祝这一盛事?请阅读我们的完整评论以了解更多信息。
小米10 Pro的摄像头配置和CC9 Pro尊享版十分相似
小米10 Pro是我们测试的第一款搭载骁龙865的手机

请注意:我们测试的小米10 Pro的固件版本将会由小米通过在线更新的方式(OTA)在3月5日前提供给手机用户。用于此测试的手机是一个预生产设备。一如我们一直遵循的规则,我们将使用市售的设备再进行一次测试,以确认图像质量是否相同。 

主要摄像头规格:

  • 主摄像头:1.08亿像素、1/1.33英寸图像传感器,25毫米等效焦距、f/1.69光圈镜头, 光学防抖 (2500万像素实际输出分辨率)
  • 近距远摄:1200万像素、1/2.6英寸图像传感器,50毫米等效焦距、f/2光圈镜头
  • 远距远摄:800万像素、1/4.4英寸图像传感器,94毫米等效焦距、f/2光圈镜头,光学防抖
  • 超广角摄像头:2000万像素、1/2.8英寸图像传感器,16毫米等效焦距、f/2.2光圈镜头
  • 高通骁龙865芯片组
小米10 Pro摄像头评测视频

关于DXOMARK Camera测试DXOMARK工程师使用摄像头的默认设置,在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中拍摄超过1600张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,之后评鉴其拍摄结果,以实现智能手机摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DXOMARK Camera评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处。有关我们如何为智能手机摄像头评分的详情,请参见此处

测试概要

124
camera
134
photo
104
video

小米10 Pro在DXOMARK Camera测试中得到124分的高分,这使其成为我们智能手机后置摄像头图像质量排名的新榜首。总体而言,图像效果与去年的CC9 Pro尊享版较为相似,更好的效果则得益于功能更强大的骁龙865芯片组以及在照片和视频两方面的更精进的调试,尤其是在纹理渲染,夜间性能和角落清晰度方面的进步。小米10 Pro的性能无论在照片还是视频方面都非常出色,在照片方面与目前的最高分同分,且在视频方面创造了新高。

小米10 Pro的图像在绝大多数情况下具有良好的曝光,宜人的色彩和出色的细节。
与去年的CC9 Pro 尊享版相比,小米10 Pro拍摄照片时目标曝光稳定且准确,并且动态范围得到了改善,在困难的高对比度场景中高光剪切减少了,在明亮的室外和典型的室内拍摄条件下总体上具有更好的HDR处理。
在下面的比较中,您可以看到小米10 Pro的照片比华为Mate 30 Pro 5G和苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max具有更好的动态范围,尤其是在高光区域明显保留了更多的细节。 同时,我们的测试人员发现在某些背光室内场景中,动态范围受到了轻微的限制,在这些场景中,明亮光线周围的剪切更为明显。
小米10 Pro,高动态范围场景下出色的动态范围表现
华为 Mate 30 Pro 5G,高动态范围场景下良好的动态范围表现,但背景中有一些高光剪切
苹果 iPhone 11 Pro Max,高动态范围场景下,背景中有强烈的剪切,但阴影部分细节较好

总体而言,色彩表现非常出色,在室内和明亮的户外条件下进行拍摄时,白平衡通常准确。 在某些场景中,我们的测试人员发现色彩看起来有些变淡(色度变暗),而饱和度低于某些竞品。

小米10 Pro,户外色彩,精准的白平衡
华为Mate 30 Pro 5G,户外色彩,宜人的色彩
苹果 iPhone 11 Pro Max,户外色彩,自然的演色性

小米10 Pro能够捕捉出色的细节,并以85分创造了细节子项目的新高。这方面的性能再次非常类似于CC9 Pro尊享版,而小米10 Pro具有的一分优势则体现在低光条件下的改进。在下面的高光场景样图中,您可以看到与Mate 30 Pro 5G相比,小米10 Pro如何能够在此场景中还原出少量的额外细节。CC9 Pro尊享版的变现非常接近,但是拍摄主体的曝光略微不足。

小米10 Pro,户外细节和纹理
小米10 Pro,裁剪图,出色的细节
华为Mate 30 Pro 5G,户外细节和纹理
华为Mate 30 Pro 5G,裁剪图,很好的细节
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,户外细节和纹理
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,裁剪图,较好的细节,拍摄主体曝光略微不足

小米10 Pro与CC9 Pro尊享版在细节方面的区别不大,但在下面20勒克斯的实验室场景中可以看出进步。 在这些低光条件下,小米10 Pro可以在测试场景的精细纹理和图案中分辨出略微更好的低对比度细节。

小米10 Pro,实验室场景(20勒克斯)
小米10 Pro,裁剪图,出色的细节
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,实验室场景(20勒克斯)
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,裁剪图,很好的细节

小米10 Pro还可以很好地管理噪点,但是在画面的阴影区域中通常会看到一些精细的亮度噪点,尤其是在室内条件下拍摄时。 总体而言,噪点水平几乎与CC9 Pro尊享版相同,而小米10 Pro具有出色的纹理和噪点之间的平衡。

小米10 Pro,室内细节和纹理
小米10 Pro,裁剪图,一些精细的亮度噪点
华为Mate 30 Pro 5G,室内细节和纹理
华为Mate 30 Pro 5G,裁剪图,噪点较少
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,室内细节和纹理
苹果iPhone 11 Pro Max,裁剪图,一些亮度噪点

小米10 Pro的自动对焦性能非常好,与CC9 Pro尊享版非常接近。在我们的实验室测试中,自动对焦系统始终如一地准确且迅速,可以在长短两种散焦延迟情况下都立即锁定目标。但是,在我们的真实生活场景测试中,我们发现了一个需要改进的地方。有时,人像脸部会出现轻微的对焦错误,将焦点设置在脸部后面,更接近背景(例如,您可以在色彩章节的人像样片中发现这一点)。 这是小米超大图像传感器的一个小缺点,其较窄的景深使轻微的对焦误差比较小传感器的竞品来得更明显。

低光下自动对焦表现对比(20勒克斯)
小米10 Pro配备了超广角镜头,是自然风光和城市景观拍摄的绝佳选择。 16毫米等效焦距的镜头在视场角方面属于中段,比华为Mate 30 Pro宽广,与最新的iPhone处于同一水平,但比三星目前的高端机型狭窄。
在图像质量方面,小米在CC9 Pro尊享版基础上改善了细节水平和HDR处理,使小米10 Pro成为广角拍摄者的绝佳选择,并使其与三星Galaxy Note 10+在广角子项目上并列最高分。小米整体细节非常好,适合超广角拍摄,并且曝光准确,动态范围也不错。但仍然会有一些高光剪切,HDR偶尔看起来可能有些许不自然,不过总体而言,小米的超广角镜头是迄今为止我们测试过的最好的镜头之一。
小米10 Pro,超广角场景
小米10 Pro,裁剪图,非常好的细节
华为 Mate 30 Pro 5G,超广角场景
华为 Mate 30 Pro 5G,裁剪图,较好的细节
苹果 iPhone 11 Pro Max,超广角场景
苹果 iPhone 11 Pro Max,裁剪图,略微缺少细节

与CC9 Pro尊享版一样,小米10 Pro配备了双变焦远摄镜头,但性能得到了进一步提高,在变焦子项目中创造了新的最高分(110分)。在细节和纹理渲染方面的改进尤为显著,例如下面的5倍变焦肖像样张。

小米10 Pro,5倍变焦
小米10 Pro,裁剪图,非常好的细节
小米 CC9 Pro尊享版,5倍变焦
小米 CC9 Pro尊享版,裁剪图,较好的细节

当以较低的变焦倍数拍摄时,小米10 Pro在与竞品的比对中也毫不逊色。同时在下面的中距离变焦样张中显示了(在变焦拍摄前提下的)良好的细节和曝光,以及准确的白平衡。有待进步的地方是某些变焦拍摄会有高光剪切和振铃效应。

小米10 Pro,中距变焦
小米10 Pro,裁剪图,良好的细节
华为 Mate 30 Pro 5G,中距变焦
华为 Mate 30 Pro 5G,裁剪图,良好的细节
苹果 iPhone 11 Pro Max,中距变焦
苹果 iPhone 11 Pro Max,裁剪图,缺少细节

小米10 Pro的散景模式表现与CC9 Pro尊享版几乎相同,虽然不错,但并不是顶尖的。正如我们在下面的示例中看到的那样,深度估计是相当不错的,但是在拍摄对象周围仍然可以看到一些小错误。目标曝光往往很好,细节也很好地呈现,但是对比度有些过强,这对于人像摄影来说并不理想,并且此特定样本还显示出非常明显的粉红色偏。

小米10 Pro,散景模拟
小米10 Pro,裁剪图,良好的深度估计和细节
华为 Mate 30 Pro 5G,散景模拟
华为 Mate 30 Pro 5G,裁剪图,良好的深度估计
苹果 iPhone 11 Pro Max,散景模拟
苹果 iPhone 11 Pro Max,裁剪图,轻微的深度估计错误
与CC9 Pro尊享版相比,新机型的夜间拍摄性能再次得到改善,具有更好的动态范围和细节。低光下的整体细节渲染非常出色,但在极低光下图像可能会曝光不足,并且在闪光灯人像拍摄中曝光可能不是最佳的,这使小米未能在夜景子项目中位列榜首。
尽管如此,在下面的闪光灯关闭的人像样张中,您仍可以看到小米10 Pro具有出色的动态范围,在背景和前景中较暗的目标对象上均具有良好的曝光。华为的表现也很不错,但CC9则有明显的落差。
小米10 Pro,闪光灯关闭的人像
华为 Mate 30 Pro 5G,闪光灯关闭的人像
小米CC9 Pro尊享版,闪光灯关闭的人像

下面这张夜景照片还显示出良好的曝光和动态范围,并且噪声得到很好的控制,仅损失了一点点细节。

小米10 Pro,闪光灯关闭的城市风景
小米10 Pro,裁剪图,良好的细节和动态范围

小米10 Pro的伪像控制地较好,但是眩光和青色色偏扣了一些分数。例如下面的某些图像中,沿高对比度边缘则显示出一些非常明显的色差。

小米10 Pro,紫边现象
小米10 Pro,裁剪图

从积极的一面看,与CC9 Pro尊享版相比,小米10 Pro的边角模糊已得到明显改善,如下面的样张所示。

小米10 Pro,边角模糊测试
小米10 Pro,裁剪图

小米10 Pro的视频得分为104分,是我们视频排行榜的最新榜首。4K视频模式在CC9 Pro尊享版的出色基础上更进一步,具有更好的细节渲染和更有效的视频防抖功能。

视频细节的对比

总的来说,在明亮的光线下或在典型的户外条件下录制时,小米10 Pro的视频片段显示出令人愉悦的色彩,良好的曝光和非常好的细节。它还提供了广泛的动态范围,在困难的高对比度场景下录制时很有帮助。它的动态范围虽然比不上同类领先的iPhone 11 Pro Max,但接近或超越三星的最新机型们(这些都是出色的视频拍摄手机)。

视频噪点的对比

自动对焦系统在所有光线条件下都是快速而准确的,但是拍摄照片时一样,小米的大型图像传感器意味着与较小传感器的手机相比,轻微的对焦误差会更加明显。在某些场景下,人像面部看起来会轻微模糊。除此之外自动对焦非常出色,甚至具有视角校正功能,这意味着与大多数其他设备相比,视频拍摄过程中的重新对焦动作不会那么明显。

小米10 Pro,户外行走视频

视频防抖是小米10 Pro的另一项优势,可以在站立拍摄和行走拍摄时保持画面平稳,使得这款机型成为视频录制的首选设备。在下面的示例中,您可以看到小米防抖功能在视频录制时比苹果手机的性能要更好一些。

小米10 Pro,户外视频
苹果iPhone11 Pro Max,户外行走视频

总结

如果有人仍然需要在去年的CC9 Pro尊享版的出色表现后得到更进一步的确认,小米10 Pro的表现无疑肯定且巩固了小米作为顶级手机摄像头设计者之一的地位。尽管使用了与CC9 Pro尊享版非常相似的成像硬件,但因为结合了更优良的调试和骁龙865芯片组处理能力的提高,小米设法在几个关键领域提升了小米10 Pro的表现。
新设备的相机几乎在所有测试类别中均提供出色的(有时甚至是领先的)结果,使其成为任何移动摄影或摄像爱好者的首选,同时也是DXOMARK相机排名中当之无愧的新领导者。

照片

优点

  • 良好的细节,均衡的纹理和噪点折衷,尤其是在高光下
  • 准确和稳定的曝光和白平衡
  • 中长距离变焦时的细节良好
  • 散景模式下准确的深度估计和良好的细节
  • 超广角拍摄时,在明亮的光线下具有良好的细节

不足

  • 人像面部偶尔会失焦
  • 偶尔有些暗淡的色彩,尤其是红色调
  • 在画面阴影区域可见细微的亮度噪声
  • HDR超广角和夜间模式下经常出现鬼影

视频

优点

  • 非常高效的视频防抖
  • 在高光和低光下快速准确地自动对焦
  • 在明亮的光线下和室内条件下保持良好的细节

不足

  • 略微有限的动态范围会导致高光或阴影剪切
  • 偶尔出现红色调的不自然还原
  • 在低光下,时域噪点可能会非常恼人
  • 高光和低光片段中偶尔会出现锯齿和嘈杂的边缘伪像

Videos

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro camera review

Reading Time: 15 min read
124
camera

The Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro is the Chinese manufacturer’s brand-new high-end device, offering premium specs all around, including Qualcomm’s new top-end Snapdragon 865 chipset and a 6.67-inch display with FHD+ resolution. In the camera department, the new flagship uses hardware very similar to last year’s heavy-hitting Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition — a 108MP primary shooter with a large 1/1.33 image sensor, combined with a 20MP ultra-wide camera and dual tele-lenses for optimized performance across a wide range of zoom factors.

The short-range tele module comes with a 50mm-equivalent focal range lens and a 12MP sensor. (The camera uses a 8MP module with a 94mm-equivalent lens when increasing the zoom factor.)

This year marks Xiaomi’s 10th anniversary in the smartphone business. Is the Mi 10 Pro an adequate device for celebrating the occasion? Read our full camera review to find out.

The Mi 10 Pro’s camera setup is very similar to that of the CC9 Pro Premium Edition.
The Mi 10 Pro is our first tested device with a Snapdragon 865 chipset.

Please note: We tested the Mi 10 Pro using firmware that Xiaomi plans to provide to customers via an Over The Air (OTA) update by March 5th, thus the device we tested is a pre-production unit. As we always do in these cases, we will repeat the test with a commercial device when available to confirm that the image quality is identical. 

Key camera specifications:

  • Primary: 108MP, 1/1.33-inch sensor with 25mm-equivalent, f/1.69-aperture lens, OIS (25MP output resolution)
  • Short telephoto: 12MP, 1/2.6-inch sensor with 50mm-equivalent, f/2-aperture lens
  • Long telephoto: 8MP, 1/4.4-inch sensor with 94mm-equivalent, f/2-aperture lens, OIS
  • Ultra-wide: 20MP, 1/2.8-inch sensor with 16mm-equivalent, f/2.2-aperture lens
  • Qualcomm Snapdragon 865 chipset

About DXOMARK Camera tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DXOMARK engineers capture and evaluate over 1600 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DXOMARK Camera test protocol, click here. More details on how we score smartphone cameras are available here.

Test summary

124
camera
134
photo
104
video

The Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro achieves an outstanding DXOMARK Camera score of 124, making it the new leader in our smartphone camera image quality ranking. Overall, image results are quite similar to last year’s CC9 Pro Premium Edition, but thanks to the more powerful Snapdragon 865 chipset and refined tuning (especially in terms of texture rendering, night performance, and corner sharpness), the Mi 10 Pro’s performance is excellent for Photo and Video alike, matching the current high score for the former and setting a new best for the latter.

Mi 10 Pro images show good exposure, pleasant color, and excellent detail in most shooting situations.

When capturing still images, target exposure is stable and accurate; further, Xiaomi has improved the dynamic range over last year’s CC9 Pro Premium Edition, with slightly less highlight clipping in difficult high-contrast scenes and better HDR processing overall in bright outdoor and typical indoor shooting conditions.

In the comparison below, you can see that the Mi 10 Pro image shows better dynamic range than the Mate 30 Pro 5G and the iPhone 11 Pro Max, especially in the highlight regions of the frame, where the Mi 10 Pro preserves noticeably more detail. This said, our testers found its dynamic range to be a little more limited in some backlit indoor scenes, where clipping around bright lights was more intrusive.

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, high-contrast scene, excellent dynamic range
Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5G, high-contrast scene with good dynamic range, but some highlight clipping in background
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, high-contrast scene with strong clipping in the background, but good shadow detail

Color is excellent overall, with generally accurate white balance when shooting outdoors in bright light and in indoor situations. Our testers found colors looking a little washed out in some scenes, though, with lower saturation than some competitors.

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, outdoor color, accurate white balance
Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5G, outdoor color, pleasant color
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, outdoor color, natural color rendering

The Mi 10 Pro is capable of capturing excellent detail and at 85 points, earns itself the new top score for Texture. Performance is again very similar to the CC9 Premium Edition, but the Mi 10 Pro has just an edge with a slight improvement that is most noticeable in low light. In the bright-light sample below, you can see how the Mi 10 Pro is capable of squeezing a small amount of extra detail out of the scene when compared to the Mate 30 Pro 5G. The CC9 Pro Premium Edition is very close, but slightly underexposes the subjects in this shot.

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, outdoor detail and texture
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, crop, excellent detail
Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5G, outdoor detail and texture
Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5G, crop, very good detail
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro PE, outdoor detail and texture
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, crop, very good detail, underexposure on subject

The difference between the Mi 10 Pro and the CC9 Pro Premium Edition is not huge, but is just visible in the 20 lux lab shot below. In these low-light conditions, the Mi 10 Pro resolves slightly better low-contrast detail in the fine textures and patterns of our test scene.

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, lab scene (20 lux)
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, crop, excellent detail
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, lab scene (20 lux)
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, crop, very good detail

The Mi 10 Pro also manages noise very well, but some fine luminance noise tends to be visible in the shadow regions of the frame, especially when shooting under indoor conditions. Noise is pretty much on the same good level as on the CC9 Pro Premium Edition overall, though, and the Mi 10 Pro delivers an excellent texture/noise balance.

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, indoor detail and noise
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, crop, some fine luminance noise
Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5G, indoor detail and noise
Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5G, crop, low noise
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, indoor detail and noise
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, crop, some luminance noise

The Mi 10 Pro’s autofocus performance is very good and quite close to what we already saw from the CC9 Pro Premium Edition. In our lab tests, the autofocus system was consistently accurate and swift to lock on following both long and short delays after unfocusing. But we did find a point to criticize in our real-life testing: slight focus errors are sometimes noticeable on faces, with the focus point set behind the face towards the background (you can spot this in the portrait shot back up in the color section, for example). This is a slight drawback of the Xiaomi’s unusually large image sensor, as its narrower depth of field makes slight focus errors more noticeable in its stills than in stills from competing devices with smaller sensors.

Autofocus performance comparison in low light (20 lux)

The Mi 10 Pro comes with an ultra-wide camera that is a great option for landscape and cityscape shots. With a 16mm-equivalent lens, it is in the middle of the pack in terms of field of view — wider than the Huawei Mate 30 Pro, and on the same level as the latest iPhones, but not quite as wide as Samsung’s current high-end devices.

In terms of image quality, Xiaomi has managed to improve the level of detail and HDR processing over the CC9 Pro Premium Edition, making the device a very good option for wide-angle shooters and earning it a joint top score in the Wide category with the Samsung Galaxy Note 10+. Overall detail is very good for an ultra-wide, and exposure is accurate with decent dynamic range. Some highlight clipping can still occur and the HDR can occasionally look a little unnatural, but the Xiaomi’s ultra-wide is nonetheless one of the best we have tested to date.

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, ultra-wide camera
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, crop, very good detail
Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5G, ultra-wide camera
Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5G, crop, good detail
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, ultra-wide camera
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, crop, slight lack of detail

Like the CC9 Pro Premium Edition, the Mi 10 Pro comes with dual-zoom cameras, but their performance has been further improved, making for a new top score of 110 in the Zoom category. Better detail and texture rendering is quite noticeable in the 5x zoom portrait below.

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, 5x zoom
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, crop, very good detail
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, 5x zoom
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, crop, good detail

The Mi 10 Pro also looks good next to the competition when shooting at a lower zoom range. The medium-range shot below shows good detail (for a zoom shot), with good exposure and accurate white balance. On the downside, some zoom shots can show highlight clipping and ringing.

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, medium-range zoom
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, crop, good detail
Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5G, medium-range zoom
Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5G, crop, good detail
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, medium-range zoom
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, crop, lack of detail

The Mi 10 Pro’s bokeh mode results are pretty much the same as CC9 Pro Premium Edition’s — good but not class-leading. As we can see in the samples below, depth estimation is pretty good, but some minor errors are still visible around the subject. Target exposure tends to be good and the Mi 10 Pro renders detail nicely, but contrast can be a little strong, which is not ideal for portrait images; further, this particular sample also shows a quite noticeable pinkish cast.

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, bokeh simulation
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, crop, good depth estimation and detail
Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5G, bokeh simulation
Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5G, crop, good depth estimation
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, bokeh simulation
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, crop, minor depth inaccuracies

The new model’s Night performance again shows improvement over the CC9 Pro Premium Edition, with better dynamic range and detail. Overall detail rendering in low light is excellent, but in very low light, images can be underexposed, and exposure can be suboptimal in flash portraits, which keeps the Xiaomi off the top spot in the Night category.

Still, in the flash-off portrait sample below, you can see that the Mi 10 Pro offers excellent dynamic range with good exposure of both the background and the darker subject in the foreground. The Huawei does similarly well, but the difference between the Mi 10 Pro and the Mi CC9 is quite noticeable.

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, flash-off portrait
Huawei Mate 30 Pro 5G, flash-off portrait
Xiaomi Mi 9 CC Pro Premium Edition, flash-off portrait

The night landscape shot below also shows good exposure and dynamic range, with well-managed noise and only a slight loss of detail.

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, flash-off cityscape
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, crop, good detail and dynamic range

Image artifacts are fairly well under control on the Mi 10 Pro, but we applied some penalty points for flare and cyan shift. Some images, such as the one below, also show some noticeable chromatic aberrations along high-contrast edges.

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, purple fringing
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, crop

On the plus side, corner softness has been noticeably improved over the CC9 Pro Premium Edition. There is still some noticeable corner softness, but it’s less intrusive than on the older device; this may have been achieved through improved lens quality and/or processing.

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, corner softness
Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, crop
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, corner softness
Xiaomi Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition, crop

With a Video score of 104, the Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro is our new top-ranked device for moving image capture. Its 4K video mode is even better than the already excellent implementation on the CC9 Pro Premium Edition, with improved detail rendering and even more efficient video stabilization.

Video texture comparison

Overall, the Mi 10 Pro’s video footage shows pleasant color, good exposure, and very good detail when recording in bright light or under typical indoor conditions. It also offers a wide dynamic range, which helps when recording difficult high-contrast scenes. Its range is not quite as wide as on the class-leading iPhone 11 Pro Max, but it’s close, and it is better than Samsung’s latest models — all of which are excellent for capturing video.

Video noise comparison

The autofocus system is fast and accurate in all light conditions, but just like for stills, the Xiaomi’s larger image sensor means that slight focus errors are more noticeable in Mi 10 Pro footage than in footage from cameras with smaller sensors; this is particularly true in some scenes where faces can look slightly soft. The autofocus is otherwise excellent, though, and even features a field-of-view correction that makes refocusing actions much less noticeable in video clips than for most other devices.

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, outdoor video

Video stabilization is an additional strength, keeping things smooth and steady when walking while recording or when holding the camera still — and all of these positive points make the Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro the current device of choice for mobile video recording. In the samples below, you can see how the Xiaomi stabilization does a slightly better job than the Apple equivalent when running while recording.

Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, outdoor video
Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max, outdoor video

Conclusion

If anyone still needed convincing that Xiaomi is one of the top camera designers in the mobile business after the Mi CC9 Pro Premium Edition’s stellar performance at the end of last year, the Mi 10 Pro should definitely cement Xiaomi’s reputation. Despite using very similar imaging hardware as the Premium Edition, Xiaomi managed to improve the Mi 10 Pro in several key areas, thanks to a combination of refined tuning and the processing boost of the Snapdragon 865 chipset.

The new device’s camera delivers excellent (and sometimes class-leading) results in virtually all test categories, making it a top choice for any mobile photography or videography enthusiast, as well as a very deserving new leader in our DXOMARK Camera ranking.

Photo

Pros

  • Good detail and a well-balanced texture/noise compromise, especially in bright light
  • Accurate and stable exposure and white balance
  • Good detail at medium- and long-range zoom
  • Accurate depth estimation and good detail in bokeh mode
  • Good detail in bright light when shooting with the ultra-wide camera

Cons

  • Faces are occasionally out of focus
  • Occasional slightly dull colors, especially red tones
  • Fine luminance noise visible in shadow areas of the frame
  • Frequent ghosting in HDR ultra-wide images and in Night mode

Video

Pros

  • Very efficient video stabilization
  • Fast and accurate autofocus in bright and low light
  • Good detail in bright light and under indoor conditions

Cons

  • Slightly limited dynamic range can lead to highlight or shadow clipping
  • Occasional unnatural rendering of red tones
  • Temporal noise can be quite intrusive in low light
  • Aliasing and noisy edges artifacts are occasionally noticeable in bright and low-light clips

Videos

DXOMARK invites our readership (you) to post comments on the articles on this website. Read more about our Comment Policy.