荣耀 20 Pro 摄像头评测

DxOMark
Mobile
111

华为旗下价格较为实惠的科技潮牌——荣耀的最新智能手机20 Pro所配备的摄像头规格同较为知名的品牌的高端机型相比毫不逊色。该手机的四摄像头配置包括一个4800万像素主摄像头(具有防抖和超快的f/1.4光圈)和3倍远摄镜头。(还有一个1600万像素超广角镜头和一个专用的200万像素微距摄像头,但两者都不在我们目前的测试基准范围内。)其图像处理和大多数其他手机功能则由海思麒麟980芯片组驱动,一如华为的旗舰产品P30 Pro。请阅读我们的完整评测,以了解荣耀20 Pro摄像头在我们的DxOMark Mobile图像质量测试中的表现。

主要摄像头规格:

  • 四镜头配置
  • 主摄像头:索尼IMX586 1/2英寸4800万像素Quad-Bayer传感器(1200万像素输出尺寸),f/1.4镜头,等效焦距28毫米,光学影像防抖(OIS
  • 远摄镜头:800万像素1/4.4英寸传感器,f/2.48镜头,80毫米等效焦距
  • 超广角镜头:1600万像素1/3.06英寸传感器,f/2.2镜头
  • 微距镜头:200万像素
  • 相位检测自动对焦(PDAF
  • 2160p(4K)/30fps视频
  • 麒麟980芯片组

关于DxOMark Mobile测试DxOMark工程师使用摄像头的默认设置,在受控的实验室环境和室内、户外自然场景中拍摄超过1500张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,之后评鉴其拍摄结果,以实现智能手机摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DxOMark Mobile评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处。有关我们如何为智能手机摄像头评分的更多细节,请参见此处

测试摘要

111
DxOMark mobile
Honor 20 Pro
117
photo
Honor 20 Pro
97
video
Honor 20 Pro

荣耀20 Pro在DxOMark Mobile评测中拿下111分的总成绩,与最近发布的OnePlus 7 Pro手机在我们的智能手机图像质量数据库中并列第二,仅比目前位居榜首的手机低了一分,在我们大多数的测试项目中都有出色的表现。

荣耀20 Pro的照片分数为117分,仅比OnePlus 7 Pro少一分,它的主要优势在于曝光、噪点和变焦,在这些类别中均获得略高的分数。它的细节表现稍微差了一点,比我们经常看到的顶级手机逊色了些,并且有一些恼人的伪像,但总体来说它仍然是一款优秀的手机。

荣耀20 Pro具有良好的曝光性能,在户外条件下可展现准确的白平衡和浓艳的色彩。

荣耀20 Pro的一些室内图像的测标曝光有点偏低,特别是与竞争机型相比更是如此,但如果单独看的话,这些图像的表现非常不错;它也拥有非常宽广的动态范围,拍出了我们看到过一些最好的高光位和暗部细节。在实验室测试时,荣耀20 Pro的色彩算法经过了很好的调整,虽然偏蓝的白平衡偶尔会影响户外图像的演色性,但它还是能够生成鲜艳悦目的色彩。噪点也是另一个关键优势,它在低光条件下拍摄的图像相当平滑;在户外图像中,诸如天空等素色区域几乎没有任何亮度噪点。然而,在纹理非常复杂的区域中,这种折衷方案导致了精细细节的损失,在仔细检查下看起来会有点模糊。

荣耀20 Pro:轻微的蓝色色偏可能会影响户外演色性。
荣耀20 Pro:强大的去噪能够在户外图像中呈现明净的天空。

变焦是荣耀20 Pro的另一个关键优势,其3倍光学远摄镜头在中等距离内提供了良好的细节。荣耀在近距上采用了类似于华为P30 Pro的“视场融合”技术,其表现非常令人激赏。在大光圈模式下,荣耀的散景模拟也是我们所见过最好的效果之一,具有良好的被摄体隔离和逼真的渐变效果,可以对被摄体前后不同距离上的物体施加不同强度的模糊效果。

荣耀20 Pro,中距变焦的表现不俗
荣耀20 Pro,散景照片具有良好的被摄体隔离和模糊渐变

荣耀20 Pro在视频类别中拿下了97分,表现非常令人激赏,与诸如华为P30 Pro和三星Galaxy S10+等手机平分秋色,仅略微落后于此类别中的最佳手机。我们的测试人员特别欣赏20 Pro的视频演色性,因为它在高光和典型的室内条件下都能产生亮丽鲜艳的色彩。防抖也是它的一大强项,可以非常有效地抵消步行运动和摄像头抖动。视频细节很不错,但考虑到该摄像头在默认下以4K分辨率录像,因此应该还有些改善的余地。总的来说,荣耀20 Pro是一款出色的录像智能手机。

荣耀 20 Pro 户外摇拍

照片评分说明

曝光与对比度(95)

荣耀20 Pro在所有照明条件下都得到了很高的分数,在我们的实验室测量中呈现大体准确的测标曝光,因此在我们数据库的曝光项目中与最佳手机同得最高分。在自然测试场景中,户外图像的测标曝光大致准确,动态范围很宽广,可在高对比度场景中为高光位和阴暗部位保留良好的细节。在下面非常难处理的测试场景中,荣耀20 Pro的表现与我们在动态范围测试中迄今看过的一些最佳手机旗鼓相当。

荣耀20 Pro,高对比场景
OnePlus 7 Pro,高对比场景
三星Galaxy S10 5G,高对比场景

室内图像的动态范围仍然很好;在我们的逆光人像中,脸部测标曝光是准确的,户外的高光细节仍然非常清晰,然而,我们在一些室内图像中观察到一些略低的测标曝光,虽然在单独观看时,荣耀20 Pro的室内曝光看起来还算可以接受,但与一些竞争机型相比,则有点曝光不足。

荣耀20 Pro,室内曝光
OnePlus 7 Pro,室内曝光
三星Galaxy S10 5G,室内曝光

主摄像头上的f/1.4大光圈镜头也可以在低光下提供非常好的曝光,在实验室5勒克斯下拍摄的照片的亮度比一些竞争机型略高一些。

荣耀20 Pro,低光(5勒克斯)
OnePlus 7 Pro,低光(5勒克斯)
三星Galaxy S10 5G,低光(5勒克斯)

色彩(86)

荣耀20 Pro在我们的实验室分析中获得不错的测量结果,色彩得分非常高,但在自然测试场景里拍摄的图像中出现了一些白平衡和演色性问题,从而影响了总体得分。白平衡可以是准确的,例如在下面的第一个例子中,但是在户外拍摄的几张图像中也出现了色彩偏冷或偏蓝的现象,在室内拍摄的图像中也可以看到轻微的粉红色偏。色彩渐晕在一些户外图像中也略微可见,画面中心和边缘之间出现了明显的色调偏移。

荣耀20 Pro,户外白平衡
荣耀20 Pro,室内白平衡
荣耀20 Pro,色彩渐晕

我们还观察到一些演色性问题,色彩略不饱和且不准确。

荣耀20 Pro,演色性
OnePlus 7 Pro,演色性
三星Galaxy S10 5G,演色性

自动对焦(99)

一如我们对高端手机的期望,荣耀20 Pro的自动对焦系统非常出色,可以与一些表现最佳的手机分庭抗礼。它在所有照明条件下都是快速、准确且可重复的,我们在基准实验室测试或现场测试中均未观察到任何对焦失败的问题。

荣耀20 Pro,300勒克斯下的自动对焦表现

纹理(68)和噪点(78)

荣耀20 Pro在纹理与噪点之间的权衡倾向于施加强烈的去噪,并以牺牲精细细节保留为代价,因此,它的纹理得分略低于我们测试过的一些最好的手机,在户外高光条件下拍摄的复杂图像区域中明显损失了细节。

荣耀20 Pro,户外细节
荣耀20 Pro,裁剪图
OnePlus 7 Pro,户外细节
OnePlus 7 Pro,裁剪图
三星Galaxy S10 5G,户外细节
三星Galaxy S10 5G,裁剪图

这种战略的优点是在所有照明条件下都能很好地控制噪点。在高光下,诸如天空等素色区域没有亮度噪点,虽然在室内和低光图像的较暗区域中可以看到一些噪点,但是它的一些测试结果与最佳手机相当。

荣耀20 Pro,户外噪点
荣耀20 Pro,裁剪图
OnePlus 7 Pro,户外噪点
OnePlus 7 Pro,裁剪图
三星Galaxy S10 5G,户外噪点
三星Galaxy S10 5G,裁剪图

在低光下,荣耀20 Pro仍能很好地控制噪点,但缺乏细节的问题变得非常明显。

荣耀20 Pro,噪点与细节,20勒克斯
荣耀20 Pro,裁剪图
华为P30 Pro,噪点与细节,20勒克斯
华为P30 Pro,裁剪图
小米9,噪点与细节,20勒克斯
小米9,裁剪图

闪光灯(99)

荣耀20 Pro的闪光灯系统非常出色,与华为P30 Pro和OnePlus 7 Pro一起获得了此测试项目的最高分。在仅使用闪光灯和使用闪光灯与其他照明的混合光源下所拍摄的图像中,荣耀20 Pro的曝光表现都不错,仅出现了极少的暗角或色彩渐晕,闪光灯照片的细节水平相当不错,其拍摄效果相当悦目。但色彩之间有一些细微的差别,在仅使用闪光灯拍摄的照片中呈现了相当中性的白平衡,但肤色看起来不太饱和。相比之下,在混合光源下拍摄的照片呈现了略带粉红色的色偏,不过肤色饱和度有所改善。

荣耀20 Pro,0勒克斯下的闪光灯照片
荣耀20 Pro,5勒克斯下的闪光灯照片

伪像(76)

荣耀20 Pro通常可以很好地控制伪像,但在某些图像中出现了一些非常明显的问题。最成问题的是画面边缘的清晰度损失,这会严重影响角落的细节保留水平。当直接对着太阳或光源拍摄时,也会出现强烈的耀斑效果,从而在图像上产生恼人的光线条纹,光源周围也出现了朦胧的虹彩效应。我们还看到了一些轻微的迷宫效应、摩尔条纹、彩色边纹和畸变,但这些问题要么就不那么频繁,要么不会降低整体图像质量,因此在我们的感知分析中只被扣了一点分数。

荣耀20 Pro,边缘锐度损失
荣耀20 Pro,裁剪图
荣耀20 Pro,耀斑
荣耀20 Pro,裁剪图

变焦(79)

荣耀20 Pro堪为一款一流的变焦手机,其得分为79分,其表现仅比华为P30 Pro杰出的潜望镜式5倍远摄镜头略逊一筹。该手机在所有照明条件下拍摄的近距变焦照片都拿下了很好的成绩,即使在低光下的细节保留也都很到位,而且噪点也不多。中距变焦照片在室内和户外的表现都不错,仅在低光下表现稍微逊色;进行远距变焦时,在所有照明条件下都开始明显地损失许多精细细节。

荣耀 20 Pro,3倍变焦
荣耀 20 Pro,裁剪图
小米 Mi 9,3倍变焦
小米 Mi 9,裁剪图
荣耀 20 Pro,5倍变焦
荣耀 20 Pro,裁剪图
小米 Mi 9,5倍变焦
小米 Mi 9,裁剪图

在相同的距离和变焦倍率下,在20勒克斯的较低光线条件下,荣耀20 Pro明显损失了精细细节,反观华为P30 Pro图像即使稍微更清晰些,但也可以更好地处理噪点和色彩。

荣耀20 Pro,中距变焦,20勒克斯
荣耀20 Pro,裁剪图
华为P30 Pro,中距变焦,20勒克斯
华为P30 Pro,裁剪图
三星Galaxy S10 5G,中距变焦,20勒克斯
三星Galaxy S10 5G,裁剪图

散景(70)

荣耀20 Pro的大光圈模式是我们测试过最好的模式之一,通常具有良好的被摄体隔离、漂亮的点光模糊形状以及逼真的渐变效果。然而它的深度估计并不完美,在人像边缘可观察到一些模糊伪像,而且偶尔会出现模糊问题,使得被摄体完全模糊了,不过这些问题主要发生在低光下。

荣耀 20 Pro,模拟散景
荣耀 20 Pro,裁剪图
OnePlus 7 Pro,模拟散景
OnePlus 7 Pro,裁剪图
三星 Galaxy S10 5G,模拟散景
三星 Galaxy S10 5G,裁剪图
荣耀 20 Pro,模拟散景
荣耀 20 Pro,裁剪图
OnePlus 7 Pro,模拟散景
OnePlus 7 Pro,裁剪图
华为 P30 Pro,模拟散景
华为 P30 Pro,裁剪图

视频评分说明

荣耀20 Pro的视频整体得分为97分,其性能与在视频类别中表现最佳的手机相去不远,仅次于三星Galaxy S10+ 5G(100分)和小米9(99分)。与照片分数一样,视频总体分数来自于该手机在下列测试项目中的表现与成绩:曝光(82)、色彩(91)、自动对焦(92)、纹理(70)、噪点(71)、伪像(82)、防抖(92)。

TL84照明下的视频测标曝光比较

在高光和典型的室内光线条件下,荣耀20 Pro视频片段的测标曝光良好。在较低的光线下(100勒克斯以下),荣耀20 Pro的测标曝光比大多数竞争机型稍暗,但仍在可接受的范围内。一如其他竞争机型,其测标曝光在10勒克斯以下的光线水平下明显变低。
光照水平持续变化时,荣耀20 Pro的曝光收敛趋于快速流畅,但动态范围有限,导致一些高对比度场景中出现溢光剪切纹理。

演色性是20 Pro视频的一大强项。在室内和户外条件下色彩亮丽鲜艳,在低光下拍摄时,色彩则变得稍微柔和些。在户外录制视频时,我们偶尔会注意到白平衡偏蓝,除此之外,其演色性则是准确的。

荣耀20 Pro,视频演色性

荣耀20 Pro的自动对焦系统在视频模式下的表现始终快速准确,几乎没有什么可抱怨的弱点。自动对焦可以快速触发,在高光下能够根据不断变化的被摄体距离而流畅快速地调整对焦。自动对焦的速度在低光条件下会略微变慢,但在这方面并不比其他竞争机型逊色。我们没有观察到对焦呼吸效应或其他不稳定的问题。

荣耀20 Pro在默认情况下以4K录制视频,因此在所有光线水平下的细节都非常丰富,仅在低于10勒克斯的低光下,细节才会显着变少。它在高光下可以很好地控制噪点,但在室内和低光下拍摄时则会变得更加明显。总体而言,20 Pro在纹理方面的表现非常好,但鉴于其4K默认分辨率,其性能仍有改进的余地。

视频纹理比较

 

视频空间噪点比较

在20 Pro视频片段中,伪像一般都被控制得非常好,但是我们针对帧率转换(主要发生在较弱的光线下)、振铃效应以及在摇拍期间可能注意到的抖动效应而扣了一些分数。从好的方面来说,荣耀的防抖系统在保持画面稳定方面的表现极佳,它有效地抵消了在边走边拍时产生的低频运动,以及握持手机时因手抖动而引起的高频振动。

结论

荣耀20 Pro在照片和视频类别中的各个测试项目中的表现优异,没有明显的弱点,因此在DxOMark Mobile测试中名列前茅。在变焦方面,它的表现仅落后于目前的最佳变焦手机——华为P30 Pro;此外,虽然我们的测试基准的测试目前尚未纳入20 Pro的超广角和微距摄像头,但这些配置也许会为许多手机摄影者提供附加价值。如果您正在市场上寻觅具有出色成像能力的新型智能手机,那么20 Pro应该会是您的一时之选,特别是如果您想要选购一款比更有名气的竞争机型稍微便宜些的手机,那么它更是您的当然之选了。

照片优点

  • 噪点控制合宜
  • 快速、准确而可重复的自动对焦
  • 大多数条件下的动态范围都很好
  • 中长距离变焦照片中的细节到位
  • 闪光灯照片的细节到位,仅有很少的闪光落差
  • 大光圈模式下的被摄体隔离不错,散景形状也相当好看

视频优点

  • 有效的防抖
  • 在高光下和室内场景中均能呈现不错的细节
  • 快速正确的自动对焦
  • 亮丽鲜艳的色彩

照片不足

  • 图像边缘较模糊
  • 缺少精细细节,特别是在高光下
  • 在一些场景下白平衡有偏差
  • 偶尔的非自然演色性

视频不足

  • 偶尔在户外视频中出现蓝色色偏
  • 低光和室内出现可见噪点
  • 低光下损失细节
  • 动态范围有限

Honor 20 Pro camera review

DxOMark
Mobile
111

The Honor 20 Pro is the latest smartphone from Huawei’s budget-friendly sub-brand and comes with camera specifications that would not look out of place on premium models from more established brands. The device’s quad-camera setup includes a 48Mp stabilized primary camera with an ultra-fast F1.4 aperture and a 3x telephoto lens. (There is also a 16Mp ultra-wide-angle option and a 2Mp dedicated macro camera, both of which fall outside our current testing protocol.) Image processing and most other device functions are powered by the Hisilicon Kirin 980 chipset, the same as in Huawei’s flagship P30 Pro. Read the full review to find out how the Honor 20 Pro camera performed in our DxOMark Mobile image quality tests.

Key camera specifications:

  • Quad-lens setup
  • Primary: Sony IMX586 1/2″ 48MP Quad-Bayer sensor (12MP output size), f/1.4 aperture lens with 28mm-equivalent focal length, OIS
  • Telephoto: 8MP 1/4.4″ sensor, f/2.48 aperture with 80mm equivalent focal length
  • Ultra-wide: 16MP 1/3.06″ sensor with f/2.2 lens
  • Macro: 2MP
  • PDAF autofocus
  • 2160p (4K) at 30fps video
  • Kirin 980 chipset
Honor 20 Pro Video and Image Samples

About DxOMark Mobile tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes, using the camera’s default settings. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DxOMark Mobile test protocol, click here. More details on how we score smartphone cameras are available here.

Test summary

111
DxOMark mobile
Honor 20 Pro
117
photo
Honor 20 Pro
97
video
Honor 20 Pro

Securing an excellent overall DxOMark mobile score of 111 points, the Honor 20 Pro muscles its way into joint second place in our database of smartphone image quality alongside the recently released OnePlus 7 Pro. At just one point behind the devices currently at the top of the table, the Honor 20 Pro put in a sterling performance across most of our tested categories.

Its Photo score of 117 points is just one point behind the OnePlus 7 Pro, but the Honor 20 Pro’s key strengths of exposure, noise, and zoom see it achieve slightly higher scores in those categories. It’s let down a little by its performance for detail, which is lower than we often see with top-end devices, and there are a couple of distracting artifacts, but overall it remains an excellent performer.

The Honor 20 Pro is capable of nice exposures with accurate white balance and strong color in outdoor conditions.

Some target exposures are a little low in indoor images, particularly when compared to its competitors, but in isolation they’re very acceptable, and the Honor 20 Pro boasts a very wide dynamic range with some of the best highlight and shadow detail preservation we’ve seen. Its color algorithms are well-tuned when tested in the lab; and although occasionally a blue white balance can affect rendering on outdoor images, the Honor 20 Pro is capable of vibrant and pleasant color. Noise is also another key strength, with smooth files in low light and barely any luminance noise in areas of uniform color like the sky in outdoor images. The trade-off is a loss of fine detail in very intricate areas, however, which can start to look a bit smudgy under close inspection.

Honor 20 Pro: a slight blue cast can affect color rendering outdoors.
Honor 20 Pro: strong denoising ensures clean skies outdoors.

Zoom is another key strength for the Honor 20 Pro, with its 3x telephoto lens providing good detail at medium range. The Honor implements a very similar technology to the “field-of-view fusion” we have first seen on the Huawei P30 Pro. The Honor’s bokeh simulation effect is also one of the best we’ve seen, with good subject isolation and a realistic gradient effect that can apply different intensities of blur to objects at varying distances both in front of and behind the subject.

Honor 20 Pro, good zoom at medium range
Honor 20 Pro, bokeh shot with good subject isolation and blur gradient

The Honor 20 Pro scores a very respectable 97 points for video, matching such devices as the P30 Pro and the Samsung Galaxy S10+, and only slightly trailing the very best in class. Our testers particularly liked the 20 Pro’s video color rendering, which produces bright and vivid colors in both bright light and typical indoor conditions. Stabilization is also a strength and is very efficient at counteracting walking motion and camera shake alike. Video detail is decent but could be better, considering that the camera records at 4K resolution footage by default. Overall, though, the Honor 20 Pro is a great smartphone for video capture.

Outdoor video

Photo scores explained

Exposure and Contrast (95)

Achieving the joint top score for exposure in our database, the Honor 20 Pro scores well in all lighting conditions, recording generally accurate target exposures in our lab measurements. In natural test scenes, target exposure is usually accurate in outdoor images and dynamic range is wide, ensuring good preservation of both highlights and shadows in high-contrast scenes. In the very challenging test scene below, the Honor 20 Pro matches some of the best-performing devices we’ve tested for dynamic range to date.

Honor 20 Pro, high-contrast scene
OnePlus 7 Pro, high-contrast scene
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, high-contrast scene

Dynamic range remains good in indoor images; and in our backlit portrait shot, target exposure on the face is accurate and bright details outside remain extremely well-exposed. We observed some slightly low target exposures in some indoor images, however. While the Honor 20 Pro’s indoor exposures look acceptable when viewed in isolation, they appear a little underexposed when compared with some of the competition’s.

Honor 20 Pro, indoor exposure
OnePlus 7 Pro, indoor exposure
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, indoor exposure

The wide-aperture f/1.4 lens on the main camera also ensures very good exposures in low light, with lab shots at 5 lux slightly brighter than some of the competition’s.

Honor 20 Pro, low light (5 lux)
OnePlus 7 Pro, low light (5 lux)
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, low light (5 lux)

Color (86)

Quite a strong score for color, thanks to good measurements in our lab analysis, but some white balance and rendering issues in natural test scene images affected the overall score. White balance can be accurate, such as in the first example below, but a cold or bluish color cast was also evident in several images shot outdoors, and there was a slight pinkish cast also visible in indoor shots. Color shading is also slightly visible in some outdoor images, with a noticeable shift in hues between the center and the edges of the frame.

Honor 20 Pro, white balance outdoors
Honor 20 Pro, white balance indoors
Honor 20 Pro, color shading

We also observed some color rendering issues, with slightly desaturated and inaccurate colors. In the sample below, you can see a slightly blue cast, and the reds have a slightly pink touch to them.

Honor 20 Pro, color rendering
OnePlus 7 Pro, color rendering
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, color rendering

Autofocus (99)

As we’ve come to expect with top-end devices, the Honor 20 Pro’s autofocus system is excellent and stands up against some of the best performers. It was fast, accurate, and repeatable in all lighting conditions, and we didn’t observe any focus failures in either our benchmark lab testing or out on location.

Honor 20 Pro, autofocus performance at 300 lux

Texture (68) & Noise (78)

The Honor 20 Pro’s texture-versus-noise trade-off tips the balance more towards aggressive denoising at the expense of fine detail preservation. As a result, its texture score drops a little behind some of the best devices we’ve tested, with a noticeable loss of fine detail evident in intricate areas of images shot in bright outdoor conditions.

Honor 20 Pro, outdoor detail
Honor 20 Pro, crop
OnePlus 7 Pro, outdoor detail
OnePlus 7 Pro, crop
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, outdoor detail
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, crop

The advantage of this strategy is extremely well-controlled noise in all lighting conditions. In bright light, areas of uniform color such as the sky are free from luminance noise, and although some noise is visible in darker areas of indoor and low-light images, some Honor 20 Pro results are comparable to those of the best performers.

Honor 20 Pro, outdoor noise
Honor 20 Pro, crop
OnePlus 7 Pro, outdoor noise
OnePlus 7 Pro, crop
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, outdoor noise
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, crop

In low light, the Honor 20 Pro still controls noise well, but the lack of fine detail is quite noticeable.

Honor 20 Pro, noise and detail, 20 lux
Honor 20 Pro, crop
Huawei P30 Pro, noise and detail, 20 lux
Huawei P30 Pro, crop
Xiaomi Mi 9, noise and detail, 20 lux
Xiaomi Mi 9, crop

Flash (99)

The Honor 20 Pro implements a very good flash system and secures a joint top score in this category alongside the Huawei P30 Pro and the OnePlus 7 Pro. The results were very pleasant for both flash-only and flash mixed with additional lighting, thanks to good exposures with minimal corner or color shading, as well as to very acceptable levels of detail for flash photos. There are some slight differences in color, with the flash-only shot displaying fairly neutral white balance but also desaturated skin tones. By comparison, the mixed-light shot shows a slightly pink color cast but improved saturation and skin tones.

Honor 20 Pro, flash at 0 lux
Honor 20 Pro, flash at 5 lux

Artifacts (76)

The Honor 20 Pro controls artifacts generally well, but there are a couple of issues that are quite obvious in some images. The most problematic is a loss of sharpness towards the edges of the frame, which can seriously affect the level of detail preservation in the corners. A strong flare effect is also visible when shooting directly into the sun or a light source, causing distracting light streaks across the image and a rainbow color haze effect around the light source. We also saw some minor maze and moiré, color fringing, and distortion, but these problems were either less frequent or less detracting to the overall image quality and thus resulted only in a minor loss of points in our perceptual analysis.

Honor 20 Pro, loss of edge acutance
Honor 20 Pro, crop
Honor 20 Pro, flare
Honor 20 Pro, crop

Zoom (79)

The Honor 20 Pro is a top performer for zoom, with its score of 79 placing the device in second position behind the outstanding periscope-style 5x telephoto lens of the Huawei P30 Pro. The device scored well for close-range zoom shots in all lighting conditions, including in low light, where it maintained detail well and kept noise low. Medium-range zoom shots hold up well both indoors and outdoors, so it’s really only in low light at medium range, as well as with long-range zoom in all lighting conditions, that a serious loss of fine detail starts to become evident.

Honor 20 Pro, 3x zoom
Honor 20 Pro, crop
Xiaomi Mi 9, 3x zoom
Xiaomi Mi 9, crop
Honor 20 Pro, 5x zoom
Honor 20 Pro, crop
Xiaomi Mi 9, 5x zoom
Xiaomi Mi 9, crop

Shooting handheld in low-light conditions (20 lux) with the DxOMark chart positioned at 250cm from the camera, and zooming in to fill the frame, the loss of fine detail is clear. This said, although the Huawei P30 Pro is slightly sharper, the Honor 20 Pro handles the noise and color a little better. The Xiaomi Mi 9 is visibly noisier.

Honor 20 Pro, medium-range zoom, 100 lux
Honor 20 Pro, crop
Huawei P30 Pro, medium-range zoom, 20 lux
Huawei P30 Pro, crop
Xiaomi Mi 9, medium-range zoom, 20 lux
Xiaomi Mi 9, crop

Bokeh (70)

Bokeh simulation in Aperture mode on the Honor 20 Pro is one of the best we’ve tested, with generally good subject isolation, a nice shape to blurred spotlights, as well as a realistic gradient effect. Depth estimation isn’t perfect, with some blur artifacts visible around the edges of the portrait, and the occasional failure in which the subject is totally blurred, but these occur mainly in low light.

Honor 20 Pro, bokeh simulation
Honor 20 Pro, crop
OnePlus 7 Pro, bokeh simulation
OnePlus 7 Pro, crop
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, bokeh simulation
Samsung Galaxy S10 5G, crop
Honor 20 Pro, bokeh simulation
Honor 20 Pro, crop
OnePlus 7 Pro, bokeh simulation
OnePlus 7 Pro, crop
Huawei P30 Pro, bokeh simulation
Huawei P30 Pro, crop

Video scores explained

With an overall score 97 points, the Honor 20 Pro comes very close to the top performers for video, just behind the Samsung Galaxy S10+ 5G with 100 points and the Xiaomi Mi 9 with 99. The overall video score is derived from performance and results across a range of attributes in the same way as the Photo score: Exposure (82), Color (91), Autofocus (92), Texture (70), Noise (71), Artifacts (82), and Stabilization (92).

Video target exposure comparison using TL84 lighting

Honor 20 Pro video footage shows good target exposure in bright light and in typical indoor lighting conditions. In lower light (under 100 lux), target exposure is a little darker than most competitors, but still within acceptable limits. In line with the competition, target exposure drops noticeably at light levels below 10 lux.

We saw some slight stepping during exposure convergence in changing light levels, as well as somewhat limited dynamic range, resulting in highlight clipping in some high-contrast scenes.

Colors are bright and vivid in indoor and outdoor conditions, and are only slightly more subdued when filming in low light. We occasionally noticed a bluish white balance cast when recording outdoors, but otherwise color rendering is accurate.

Honor 20 Pro, video color rendering

There’s little to complain about the autofocus system’s performance in video mode, which is consistently fast and accurate. It triggers quickly, and adjusts to changing subject distances smoothly and swiftly in bright light. It slows down a little in low light, but is no worse than the competition in this respect. We observed no focus breathing nor other instabilities.

Thanks to 4K recording by default, the Honor 20 Pro’s level of detail is very good across all light levels and really drops off significantly only in low-light conditions below 10 lux. Noise is well-controlled in bright light, but becomes more intrusive when filming indoors and in low light. Overall, the 20 Pro does very well for texture, but given its 4K default resolution, there is still room for improvement.

Video texture comparison

 

Video spatial noise comparison

Artifacts are generally very well under control in 20 Pro video footage, but we applied some penalty points for frame rate shifts (which occur predominantly in lower light), for ringing, and for a judder effect that can be noticeable during panning movements. On the plus side, the Honor’s stabilization system does a very good job at keeping things steady. It efficiently stabilizes low-frequency motion generated when walking while recording, as well as high-frequency vibration caused by hand-shake when holding the device still.

Conclusion

The Honor 20 Pro makes it very close to the top of our DxOMark Mobile ranking, thanks to good Photo and Video performances across the board and no significant areas of weakness. Its zoom performance is topped only by the current number one device, the Huawei P30 Pro; and the 20 Pro’s ultra-wide-angle and macro camera, while not currently covered by our test protocol, should provide added value to many mobile photographers. If you’re in the market for a new smartphone with excellent imaging capabilities, the Honor 20 Pro should be very high up on your list of options, especially if you want to save a little bit of cash compared to the more established competition.

Photo pros

  • Noise well under control
  • Fast, accurate, and repeatable autofocus
  • Good dynamic range in most conditions
  • Good detail in close- and medium-range zoom shots
  • Decent detail and little light fall-off in flash shots
  • Good subject isolation and nice shape to bokeh

Video pros

  • Efficient stabilization
  • Good detail in bright light and indoor scenes
  • Fast and accurate autofocus
  • Bright and vivid colors

Photo cons

  • Soft image edges
  • Lack of fine detail, especially in bright light
  • White balance casts can be noticeable in some conditions
  • Occasional unnatural color rendering

Video cons

  • Occasional blue cast in outdoor videos
  • Visible noise in indoor and low-light conditions
  • Loss of detail in low light
  • Limited dynamic range

In the Press