更新: LG G8 ThinQ 摄像头评测

Reading Time: 5 min read
99
camera

请注意:2019年9月,我们更新了DXOMARK Mobile测试基准,以涵盖超广角性能,并将其重新命名为DXOMARK Camera基准。我们还扩展了低光测试的内容,并创建了新的“夜间摄影”评分,其中包含了之前的“闪光灯”分数。我们使用新的“广角”和“夜间摄影”测试基准,重新测试了该手机,并相更新了相应分数,但是评测文本内容并未更新仍然保留原始内容。有关更多信息,请参阅有关新的“广角”“夜间摄影”测试基准的文章。

G8 ThinQ是LG最新的高端智能手机,配备高通骁龙855芯片组,6GB主存,6.1英寸3120×1440像素OLED屏幕,高宽比为19.5:9。LG选择了与LG V40 ThinQ相同的三摄像头设计,并更新了固件。该摄像头配备有一个1600万像素超广角镜头,一个1200万像素标准镜头,和一个1200万像素远摄镜头;等效焦距分别为16毫米、25毫米和50毫米。请继续阅读本文,了解LG G8 ThinQ摄像头在本深度测试中的表现。

主要摄像头规格:

  • 三摄像头设置
  • 主摄像头:1200万像素图像传感器,1.4微米像素,25毫米等效焦距,f/1.5镜头,光学影像防抖(OIS
  • 超广角镜头:1600万像素图像传感器,1.0微米像素,16毫米等效焦距,f/1.9镜头
  • 远摄镜头:1200万像素图像传感器,1.0微米像素,50毫米等效焦距,f/2.4镜头,相位检测自动对焦(PDAF),光学影像防抖(OIS)
  • 最高2160p/60fps(默认1080p/30fps)

请注意:根据地区不同,LG G8 ThinQ采用双摄像头或三摄像头配置,而我们测试的设备是三摄像头版本。

关于DxOMark Mobile测试DxOMark工程师在受控的实验室环境和室内和户外的自然场景中,使用摄像头的默认设置拍摄并评鉴超过1500张测试照片和超过2小时的视频,以实现智能手机摄像头评测的评分和分析。本文旨在彰显最重要的测试结果,有关DxOMark Mobile评测基准的更多信息,请点击此处。有关我们如何为智能手机摄像头评分的详情,请参见此处

测试摘要

99
camera
104
photo
89
video

LG G8 ThinQ的整体得分为96分,表现坚实,但还比不上华为P30 Pro、三星Galaxy S10+,以及苹果iPhone XS Max等顶级手机。G8的照片得分为99分,比LG V40 ThinQ高出一分,这主要归功于自动对焦(AF)、噪点和散景的改进;G8的整体视频得分也提高了2分,变成了89分,其防抖和曝光系统的性能都变得更好了。

总的来说,G8 ThinQ具有快速而准确的自动对焦系统,噪点控制得当,并可以很好地处理测标曝光,即使在逆光情况下也是如此;其户外和室内的演色性通常也很好;然而图像中出现了许多伪像,从而拉低了其总体得分。

LG G8 ThinQ通常可以拍出悦目的色彩。

视频录像的色彩和曝光在大多数情况下都很好,影像防抖也可以很好地发挥作用,特别是在抵消低频运动时;在较亮的光线和室内条件下,自动对焦可以快速响应场景的变化;然而,在低光条件下,自动对焦失败的情况会变得更加常见;在边走边拍时,录象中会出现一些明显的伪像,例如抖动效应和帧偏移,帧与帧之间也出现了清晰度差异。

在大多数情况下,测标曝光很好。
散景模式所拍出的结果可能略不一致,其伪像也比在此项目中表现最好的手机更多。

照片评分说明

曝光与对比度

LG G8 ThinQ

87

即使在诸如逆光和低光等棘手的情况下,LG G8 ThinQ也能很好地为主要拍摄对象提供不错的曝光度,直到极低的光照水平下仍然可以产生可用的曝光,如下面的比较样张所示。发生问题时,曝光系统会倾向于让图像稍微曝光不足。

LG G8 ThinQ,5勒克斯
苹果iPhone XS Max,5勒克斯
三星Galaxy S10+,5勒克斯

在逆光场景中,高光背景可能会促使许多摄像头拍出曝光不足的图像,这是在高光位置上拍摄人像时经常发生的问题。不过,LG G8 ThinQ将这个问题处理得非常好,它通常会将前景中的人当作被摄体,并针对他们进行曝光,从而产生了非常平衡的图像,被摄体的特征清晰可见,而背景也没有完全爆光,如下图所示。

LG G8 ThinQ,逆光人像
苹果iPhone XS Max,逆光人像
三星Galaxy S10+,逆光人像

在动态范围方面,G8 ThinQ的表现不错,但比目前市面上最好的智能手机相比略小了些,因此图像的最亮部分和最暗部分都分别出现了较多的溢光和阴影剪切纹理。

LG G8 ThinQ,高对比度场景
苹果iPhone XS Max,高对比度场景
三星Galaxy S10+,高对比度场景

色彩

LG G8 ThinQ

89

89分并非色彩项目的最高分,不过这样的成绩仍然很好。G8 ThinQ在不同光线水平下都有大致不差的色彩响应,但偶尔会看到一些色偏。在下面的图片中,您可以看到LG G8 ThinkQ在这个户外场景中产生了红色/粉红色色偏;相比之下,iPhone XS Max和Galaxy S10+的拍摄结果看起来更加中性。其他图像看起来有点偏蓝,室内也出现了轻微的绿色色偏。

LG G8 ThinQ,户外色彩
苹果iPhone XS Max,户外色彩
三星Galaxy S10+,户外色彩

自动对焦

LG G8 ThinQ

97

尽管LG G8 ThinQ有轻微的快门时滞,在按下快门到实际拍摄之间会经历一段延时,但其自动对焦系统都能快速准确地对焦,即使在对比度通常较低的低光下和室内也是如此。它的对焦速度也比LG V40 ThinQ更快,速度也更一致,但苹果iPhone XS Max在大多数情况下的表现仍然比它好。

自动对焦性能比较

噪点(70)和纹理(69)

虽然G8在大多数情况下的噪点控制都很好,特别是在阴影中,但在高光下拍摄的照片中,素色区域(如天空)可能会出现一些亮度噪点。下图的放大图像显示,LG G8 ThinQ天空中的噪点更加明显;反观苹果iPhone XS Max和三星Galaxy S10+的比较样张,天空的纹理看起来更加平滑。另请注意G8照片中长颈鹿头部的振铃效应。

LG G8 ThinQ,高光下的噪点
LG G8 ThinQ,裁剪图
苹果iPhone XS Max,高光下的噪点
苹果iPhone XS Max,裁剪图
三星Galaxy S10+,高光下的噪点
三星Galaxy S10+,裁剪图

LG G8户外照片的细节一般都勾勒得很到位,与苹果iPhone XS Max和三星Galaxy S10+相差不远,如下图所示:窗框的锐利边缘看起来很好,但是叶子的一些细节却丢失了。

LG G8 ThinQ,户外细节
LG G8 ThinQ,裁剪图
苹果iPhone XS Max,户外细节
苹果iPhone XS Max,裁剪图
三星Galaxy S10+,户外细节
三星Galaxy S10+,裁剪图

在室内,光线和对比度都较低的情况下,LG G8 ThinQ难以复制一些较细腻的细节,例如,下图门上的某些地方的颗粒不见了,反观苹果iPhone XS Max则可以很好地呈现木材的自然纹理。

LG G8 ThinQ,室内细节
LG G8 ThinQ,裁剪图
苹果iPhone XS Max,室内细节
苹果iPhone XS Max,裁剪图
三星Galaxy S10+,室内细节
三星Galaxy S10+,裁剪图

伪像

LG G8 ThinQ

62

主要的伪像问题在于图像角落的锐度或细节损失,其细微细节几乎完全丢失。

LG G8 ThinQ,中央锐度
LG G8 ThinQ,裁剪图
LG G8 ThinQ,角落锐度
LG G8 ThinQ,裁剪图

在一些照片中也可以看到青色色偏,如下面样张中,太阳周围出现了不自然的晕轮。

LG G8 ThinQ,青色色偏
LG G8 ThinQ,裁剪图

变焦

LG G8 ThinQ

49

LG G8 ThinQ的变焦功能可以凭借其专用的远摄摄像头捕捉到不错的细节,包括远距拍摄的被摄体细节。

标准
2倍变焦
5倍变焦

然而其变焦图像的细节比不上在此项目中表现最好的摄像头。下面的样张是在实验室1000勒克斯的高光下,在摄距250厘米(约3-4倍变焦)上拍摄的。正如您所看到的,三星Galaxy S10+在保留精细纹理方面的能力明显优于G8 ThinQ。

LG G8 ThinQ,中距变焦,1000勒克斯
LG G8 ThinQ,裁剪图
三星Galaxy S10+,中距变焦,1000勒克斯
三星Galaxy S10+,裁剪图

当光线条件稍暗时,其差异就变得更明显了。下面的实验室样张是在室内光照条件(100勒克斯)下,在150厘米的摄距上拍摄的:G8的图像输出明显比三星更不清晰,后者可以拍出更多的细节和纹理。

LG G8 ThinQ,短距变焦,100勒克斯
LG G8 ThinQ,裁剪图
三星Galaxy S10+,短距变焦,100勒克斯
三星Galaxy S10+,裁剪图

我们还观察到,使用变焦时,LG G8评估测标曝光的能力会降低,而在逆光情况下,拍摄对象也往往有曝光不足的倾向。

闪光灯

LG G8 ThinQ

81

当G8的闪光灯是唯一光源时,该摄像头会很好地处理测标曝光、演色性和白平衡,但如果有一些额外的照明(大多数的真实拍摄情况),该摄像头就难以拍出正确的结果了:例如,被摄体往往曝光不足,并且有明显的色彩渐晕。

好消息是,其拍摄结果一致而可重复,因此曝光和白平衡都不会在不同的照片之间发生变化。

LG G8 ThinQ,0勒克斯下的闪光灯图像
LG G8 ThinQ,5勒克斯钨丝灯下的闪光灯图像

散景

LG G8 ThinQ

40

LG G8 ThinQ的散景得分为40分,比LG V40 ThinQ高了5分,但其得分仍然比大多数最接近的竞争机型低。其最明显的问题是,它对同一场景的图像应用了不一致的模糊效果:在一些图像中,人像的被摄体后面很快就出现了模糊,而在其他图像中,模糊却在其后方更远的地方才开始出现。

在这里,背景只有一点模糊。
使用相同设置拍摄同一场景时,却拍出了更模糊的背景。

此外,照片中还存在深度估计伪像:例如,摄像头无法将头发当作被摄体的一部分,因此也在头发上应用了模糊效果,这也可能会使脸看起来不自然,产生了“剪切”效果。

LG G8 ThinQ,散景模式
LG G8 ThinQ,裁剪图
三星Galaxy S10+,散景
三星Galaxy S10+,裁剪图

视频评分说明

LG G8 ThinQ的视频分数为89分,足以胜任录像任务,但不算一流的摄像机。与静止图像一样,G8通常可以产生正确的测标曝光与悦目的色彩;此外,在静止时录制的视频影像的防抖效果很好,但是在移动时则会产生颤动的痕迹,虽然这种情况还算可以接受,但还有改进的余地,所以我们建议在静止时录制而不要边走边拍。

LG G8 ThinQ视频,户外边走边拍

然而,最出乎我们意料的也许是,在静止图像中表现得既快速又靠谱的自动对焦系统却成为了视频录像的一大弱点。其自动对焦的跟踪系统发生了很特别的问题,被摄体移动时,可能会时而失焦,时而正确对焦。在某些情况下,该摄像头不会响应拍摄对象的距离变化,从而无法对焦。这些自动对焦问题在低光下最常见,但也可能发生在高光下。

LG G8 ThinQ视频,户外摇拍

在我们的实验室中,LG G8 ThinQ可录制具有良好动态范围的全高清影片;但在户外和日常拍摄场景中,其动态范围却变小了。

在室内和高光下,LG G8 ThinQ可以很好地控制时间和空间噪点,尤其是色度噪点; 但在低光下情况就改观了——影片中出现了更多的亮度噪点。在高光下,LG G8 ThinQ的录像纹理优于苹果iPhone XS Max和三星Galaxy S10+;但在低光条件下,LG的测量结果反而略低于这些竞争机型。

视频锐度比较

结论

LG G8 ThinQ摄像头是一款称职却算不上一流的设备,它可以胜任大多数的拍摄任务,但在任何领域都没有特别杰出的优点或严重的缺点。它可以生成迷人的色彩,甚至可以总是拍出正确的色彩;而且它的静态摄影的自动对焦系统快速而有效。它通常也可以很好地处理曝光,仅会偶尔发生曝光不足的情况,而且在未使用变焦的情况下甚至可以拍出优异的逆光照片。

它的视频输出结果在许多情况下也与照片同样宜人,但必须在固定的摄距上静止不动地录制视频,方能获得最佳录像效果。它的散景表现不一致,其表现有点令人失望,比不上目前在散景方面最出色的手机(华为P30 Pro),不过,如果您只打算拍几张照片,并且不打算放大图像,那么您还是可能拍出令人满意的图像。

照片优点

  • 即使在逆光场景中,也能获得准确的室内测标曝光
  • 悦目的演色性
  • 细节勾勒相当到位
  • 使用闪光灯作为唯一的照明时,可获得不错的白平衡、测标曝光和演色性
  • 室内变焦照片拥有良好的细节

视频优点

  • 有效的低频运动防抖
  • 快速的对焦响应
  • 曝光在大多数情况下都很好
  • 在大多数条件下都可拍出鲜艳悦目的色彩

照片不足

  • 动态范围有限
  • 有些色偏
  • 闪光灯与钨丝灯混合时,出现了色彩渐晕;白平衡的表现也不好
  • 整个画面失去锐度
  • 变焦时出现噪点和振铃效应
  • 散景效果不一致

视频不足

  • 低光下发生明显的自动对焦问题
  • 可观察到抖动效应
  • 低光下,阴影中出现了粗大的空间噪点
  • 步行场景中可观察到帧偏移

LG G8 ThinQ camera review

DxOMark
Mobile
96

The G8 ThinQ is LG’s latest high-end smartphone and comes with the Qualcomm Snapdragon 855 chipset, 6GB RAM and a 6.1-inch, 3120×1440 pixel OLED screen with a 19.5:9 aspect ratio. LG has opted for the same triple-camera design as we’ve already seen in the LG V40 ThinQ, but with updated firmware. This camera comprises 16Mp super-wide, 12Mp standard, and 12Mp telephoto units with focal lengths equivalent to 16mm, 25mm, and 50mm, respectively. Read on to find out how the LG G8 ThinQ’s camera performs in our in-depth tests.

Key camera specifications:

  • Triple-camera setup
  • Primary: 12Mp sensor with 1.4μm pixels and 25mm-equivalent, f/1.5 lens, OIS
  • Ultra-wide: 16Mp sensor with 1.0μm pixels and 16mm-equivalent f/1.9 lens
  • Telephoto: 12Mp sensor with 1.0μm pixels and 50mm-equivalent f/2.4 lens, PDAF, OIS
  • Up to 2160p/60fps video (1080p/30fps at default settings)

Please note: Depending on the region, the LG G8 ThinQ comes with either a dual- or a triple-camera setup. Our test device is the triple-camera version.

About DxOMark Mobile tests: For scoring and analysis in our smartphone camera reviews, DxOMark engineers capture and evaluate over 1500 test images and more than 2 hours of video taken with the camera’s default settings, both in controlled lab environments and in natural indoor and outdoor scenes. This article is designed to highlight the most important results of our testing. For more information about the DxOMark Mobile test protocol, click here. More details on how we score smartphone cameras are available here.

Test summary

96
DxOMark mobile
LG G8 ThinQ
99
photo
LG G8 ThinQ
89
video
LG G8 ThinQ

With an overall score of 96, the LG G8 ThinQ puts in a solid performance without excelling enough to join such pack leaders as the Huawei P30 Pro, the Samsung Galaxy S10+, and the Apple iPhone XS Max at the very top of our table. At 99 points, the G8’s Photo score is up one point from the LG V40 ThinQ’s, largely due to improvements for autofocus (AF), noise, and bokeh. Similarly, the G8’s overall Video score is up two points at 89, thanks to better performance of its stabilization and exposure systems.

Overall, the G8 ThinQ has a fast, accurate AF system and good noise control. It also handles target exposures well even in backlit situations, and its color rendering is usually good outdoors and indoors. Conversely, there are many artifacts visible in images, and this brings down its overall score.

The LG G8 ThinQ can usually be relied upon to deliver pleasant colors.

Video footage shows good color and exposure in most situations. In addition, image stabilization works efficiently, especially when counteracting low-frequency motion, and the autofocus is fast to react to changes in the scene in brighter light and under indoor conditions. AF failures are more common in low light, however, and video footage shows some noticeable artifacts when walking while recording, such as a jello effect, frame shifts, and differences in sharpness between frames.

Target exposure is good on most occasions.
Bokeh mode results can be slightly inconsistent, with more artifacts than the best in class.

Photo scores explained

Exposure and Contrast (87)

Even in tricky situations, such as with backlighting and in low light, the LG G8 ThinQ does a good job of exposing the main subject. As shown by the comparison samples below, it can produce usable exposures down to very low light levels. When it has issues, the exposure system tends towards slight underexposure.

LG G8 ThinQ, 5 lux
Apple iPhone XS Max, 5 lux
Samsung Galaxy S10+, 5 lux

The bright background of backlit scenes can trick many cameras into underexposing, and this is a common problem with portrait shots in bright locations. However, the LG G8 ThinQ copes very well, usually identifying that the person in the foreground is the subject, and thus skews the exposure towards them. As the images below show, it creates a nicely-balanced image in which the subject’s features are visible, yet the background isn’t completely blown-out.

LG G8 ThinQ, backlit portrait
Apple iPhone XS Max, backlit portrait
Samsung Galaxy S10+, backlit portrait

In terms of dynamic range, the G8 ThinQ does well, but in comparison with the best smartphone cameras available at the moment, its dynamic range is a touch more limited, with slightly more highlight clipping in the brightest parts and shadow clipping in the darkest parts of the image.

LG G8 ThinQ, high-contrast scene
Apple iPhone XS Max, high-contrast scene
Samsung Galaxy S10+, high-contrast scene

Color (85)

While 89 isn’t the greatest score for color, it’s still good. But while the G8 ThinQ has the same generally good color response in different levels of light, some color casts are occasionally visible. In the images below, you can see that the LG G8 ThinkQ has created a red/pink cast for this outdoor scene. The results from the iPhone XS Max and Galaxy S10+ look more neutral by comparison. Other images have a hint of a blue cast, while we’ve also seen a slight green cast indoors.

LG G8 ThinQ, outdoor color
Apple iPhone XS Max, outdoor color
Samsung Galaxy S10+, outdoor color

Autofocus (97)

Although it has slight shutter lag, which means there’s a delay between tapping the shutter release and the image being captured, the LG G8 ThinQ’s AF system is fast and accurate even in low light and indoors, where contrast tends to be low. It’s also faster and has more consistent speed than the LG V40 ThinQ. However, the Apple iPhone XS Max still beats it on most occasions.

Autofocus performance comparison

Noise (70) and Texture (69)

While the G8 shows good noise control for the most part, especially in the shadows, some luminance noise is visible in even-toned areas such as the sky in bright light shots. The enlarged sections of the images below show how much more visible the noise is in the sky from the LG G8 ThinQ. The sky looks much smoother in the comparison shots from the Apple iPhone XS Max and the Samsung Galaxy S10+. Notice also the ringing around the giraffe’s head in the G8 shot.

LG G8 ThinQ, noise in bright light
LG G8 ThinQ, crop
Apple iPhone XS Max, noise in bright light
Apple iPhone XS Max, crop
Samsung Galaxy S10+, noise in bright light
Samsung Galaxy S10+, crop

As the following images demonstrate, the level of detail that the LG G8 captures outdoors is generally good and not far from that of the Apple iPhone XS Max and the Samsung Galaxy S10+. The strong edges of the window frames look good, but some of the finer details of the foliage are lost.

LG G8 ThinQ, outdoor detail
LG G8 ThinQ, crop
Apple iPhone XS Max, outdoor detail
Apple iPhone XS Max, crop
Samsung Galaxy S10+, outdoor detail
Samsung Galaxy S10+, crop

Indoors, where the light and contrast is lower, the LG G8 ThinQ struggles to replicate some finer details. For example, the grain on the door in the images below is lost in places. By contrast, the Apple iPhone XS Max does extremely well rendering the natural pattern of the wood.

LG G8 ThinQ, indoor detail
LG G8 ThinQ, crop
Apple iPhone XS Max, indoor detail
Apple iPhone XS Max, crop
Samsung Galaxy S10+, indoor detail
Samsung Galaxy S10+, crop

Artifacts (62)

The main issue here is the loss of acutance, or the perception of detail, towards the corners of the image. Subtle details are almost completely lost if they are in the corner of the image.

LG G8 ThinQ, central acutance
LG G8 ThinQ, crop
LG G8 ThinQ, corner acutance
LG G8 ThinQ, crop

Cyan shift, which in the sample below can be seen as the unnatural halo around the sun, is also visible in some shots.

LG G8 ThinQ, cyan shift
LG G8 ThinQ, crop

Zoom (49)

Thanks to its dedicated tele-camera, LG G8 ThinQ’s zoom manages to capture a good level of detail, including that on distant subjects.

Standard
2x zoom
5x zoom

That said, image detail when zooming is not quite on the same level as on the best in class. The sample shot below was captured in the lab at a bright 1000 lux and at a subject distance of 250cm (approximately 3-4x zoom). As you can see, the Samsung Galaxy S10+ does noticeably better at preserving fine textures than the G8 ThinQ.

LG G8 ThinQ, medium range zoom, 1000 lux
LG G8 ThinQ, crop
Samsung Galaxy S10+, medium range zoom, 1000 lux
Samsung Galaxy S10+, crop

The difference is slightly more visible when the light conditions are a little dimmer. The lab sample below was captured at a 150 cm subject distance under indoor light conditions (100 lux). The G8’s image output is visibly softer than the Samsung’s, with the latter resolving more detail and textures.

LG G8 ThinQ, short range zoom, 100 lux
LG G8 ThinQ, crop
Samsung Galaxy S10+, short range zoom, 100 lux
Samsung Galaxy S10+, crop

We have also observed that when the zoom is used, the LG G8’s ability to assess target exposure diminishes and there’s a tendency for subjects to be underexposed in backlit situations.

Flash (81)

When the flash from the G8 is the only light source, the camera handles the target exposure, color rendering, and white balance well. However, when there is some additional lighting, which is more likely in most real-world shooting situations, the camera struggles to get things right. The subject tends to be underexposed, for instance, and there’s obvious color shading.

In better news, the results are consistent and repeatable, so neither the exposure nor the white balance changes from shot to shot.

LG G8 ThinQ, flash at 0 lux
LG G8 ThinQ, flash at 5 lux tungsten light

Bokeh (40)

Although the LG G8 ThinQ achieves a 5-point bokeh score improvement over the LG V40 ThinQ, a score of 40 is still lower than for most direct rivals. The most noticeable problem is the inconsistent application of blur effects to images of the same scene. In some images, the blur starts quite sharply behind the portrait subject, while in others, the blur begins appearing much farther behind them.

There’s only a little blurring of the background here.
Another shot of the same scene using the same settings results in much more blur.

In addition, there are depth estimation artifacts. For example, the camera can fail to recognize hair as belonging to the subject, so it’s blurred. This can make the face look unnatural, with a “cut-out” appearance.

LG G8 ThinQ, bokeh mode
LG G8 ThinQ, crop
Samsung Galaxy S10+, bokeh
Samsung Galaxy S10+, crop

Video scores explained

With a score of 89 for Video, the LG G8 ThinQ is a competent rather than class-leading video camera. As with its stills, the G8 generally gets the target exposure right and produces pleasant colors. In addition, the stabilization is good with static video, but it falters when there’s movement. It’s acceptable, but there’s room for improvement in this area, and it’s advisable to shoot video while standing still rather than when walking.

LG G8 ThinQ video, outdoor walking

Perhaps the biggest surprise, however, is that the AF system, which is fast and reliable with stills, is a weak area with video. The tracking AF system is a particular problem, and the subject can drift in and out of focus when it moves. In some instances, the camera doesn’t respond to a change in subject distance so it remains out of focus. These AF failures are most common in low light, but they can also occur in bright conditions.

LG G8 ThinQ video, outdoor panning

In our lab, the LG G8 ThinQ captures Full-HD footage with good dynamic range. However, it becomes more limited outdoors and in more everyday shooting scenarios.

Indoors and in bright light, the LG G8 ThinQ keeps both temporal and spatial noise well in check, especially chromatic noise.  However, things change in low light, when higher levels of luminance noise become visible. The LG G8 ThinQ captures footage with good texture that is slightly better than the Apple iPhone XS Max and the Samsung Galaxy S10+ in bright light. In low light the results are reversed, however, and the LG’s measured acutance is somewhat lower than the competition’s.

Video acutance comparison

Conclusion

The LG G8 ThinQ’s camera is a competent rather than a stellar performer. It does most things reasonably well without really excelling or failing dramatically in any area. It produces colors that are attractive, if not always accurate, and its stills AF system is fast and effective. It also usually handles exposures well, underexposing only occasionally and even taking backlight situations in its stride unless the zoom is in use.

Its video output is similarly pleasing in many situations, but the best results require a static shooting position and constant subject distance. The inconsistent bokeh performance is a little disappointing and not up to the standard of the current leader in this area (the Huawei P30 Pro). However, if you take a few shots and don’t intend to magnify the image, chances are that there will be a satisfactory image available.

Photo pros

  • Accurate target exposure indoors even with backlit scenes
  • Pleasant color rendering
  • Details are reproduced fairly well
  • Good white balance, target exposure, and color rendering when flash is the only illumination
  • Good detail in indoor zoom images

 Video pros

  • Effective stabilization of low-frequency motion
  • Fast focus reaction
  • Good exposure in most conditions
  • Vivid and pleasant colors in most conditions

Photo cons

  • Limited dynamic range
  • Some color casts
  • Color shading and poor white balance when flash is mixed with tungsten light
  • Loss of acutance across the frame
  • Noise and ringing when zooming
  • Inconsistent bokeh effect

Video cons

  • Significant AF failures in low light
  • Visible jello effect
  • Coarse spatial noise in the shadows in low light
  • Noticeable frame-shift in walking scenes

 

 


In the Press